Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of 1000cuts1a
Author:sock
Title:One Thousand Cuts
Download:1000cuts1a.zip (8e03d6c9202136c89d99707ab97a1020)
Filesize:10396 Kilobytes
Release date:15.08.2014
Homepage:http://www.simonoc.com/
Additional Links: Author's writeup
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
1000cuts1a_readme.txt4 KB15.08.2014
pak0.pak36291 KB15.08.2014
pak1.pak381 KB15.08.2014

1000cuts1a.zip - One Thousand Cuts

Expanded standalone version of sock's map from Func Map Jam 2: a medium-sized, IKblue-themed, partially ruined temple with two individual routes for replayablility. It comes with a set of medieval-style item boxes.

Tags: ikblue, castle, nonlinear, super secret, skybox, fs

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 24 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Tronyn Guest 17 August 2014, 23:49

Wow, is this an expanded version? I don't remember the ruined area in the foreground. Going to check out the fascinating-looking writeup right now!

sock Registered 18 August 2014, 15:58

@Tronyn, yes this is a different version. The map has a new skill area, an extra 3rd SK door choice, rebalanced HP/Items and the original idea of the level loop fully implemented.

The following article discusses the changes: http://www.simonoc.com/pages/design/sp/1000cuts.htm

Phil Guest 18 August 2014, 19:33

Still boring to play, the improved layout doesn´t add to the map at all, its sad..

ijed Guest 22 August 2014, 14:59

So where's your map Phil?

AssemblyLineHuman Guest 23 August 2014, 12:24

Why does Phil need to have made map, to have a legitimate opinion on this level?

Allister Registered, rated this a 4 29 August 2014, 5:32

Interesting objective. Pretty environment.

vkni Registered, rated this a 5 5 October 2014, 22:07

Thank you very much for the map - it is beautiful. But the walkthrough is quite sophisticated. Moreover, you have to start from the same location with the same monsters. This is quite boring.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 23 October 2014, 2:35

Unlike some of the other commenters, I found this more fascinating than boring, although replaying the same first-bit-of-the-level repeatedly was certainly not the highlight.

I found it disappointing that in the end I exited the level with only three of the four runes. I feel like I missed one of the three branches of the main map, and was prematurely sent to the end-game map.

What did all the loose bricks do? There was a message about something happening deep underground but I never found it.

All in all, I have to describe this level in the words of Andrew Rilstone, in his review of the 2003 movie Hulk: "The whole thing doesn't quite work, but it's the sort of failure one would like to see rather more of." It's amazing, and delightful, that nearly 20 years in people are not merely doing marvellous things with Quake, but new things.

Off to read Simon's long commentary on the level now. Simon, do you have similar pages for other levels? I couldn't find them.

sock Registered 23 October 2014, 14:01

I am not sure why everyone is complaining because the player only needs to play the first part (two rooms) of the level twice and there are plenty of secrets to find in this area. I also setup alternative ways to fight in the first large room (upper area, SK platform) and various ways to get weapons (SSG/GL) early.

The player can ONLY open two out of the three SK doors and one will always be locked. This is by design, the map is about route choices having consequences. The idea is the player picks the weapons they like (there is a grate above two of the SK doors to help with the choice) and the weapons are then made available for the final fight.

"What did all the loose bricks do? - It is a mega style secret (special cave area) which is my sarcastic joke about the 'its under the lift' trope of Quake level design.

"do you have similar pages for other levels? http://www.simonoc.com/pages/design.htm - Down the right hand side of the page is a list of all my Q1 SP maps with extra map waffle and more screenshots.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 23 October 2014, 22:11

I can't believe I missed all those links on the RHS! Thanks, and sorry.

I wasn't so much complaining about only having gone through two of the three doors, as wondering whether I'd completed the map in the right way -- since, as I said, I only had three of the four runes.

Sorry to be dense about the mega-secret, but ... where is it?

sock Registered 25 October 2014, 12:40

To find the mega secret, move three loose bricks under any of the lifts and then search one of the healing pools. Eventually you will find the 'source' of the healing pools and a chance to complete the map in a hard+ mode.

vkni Registered, rated this a 5 28 October 2014, 19:33

Simon, I am sorry, I am quite a casual player. Perhaps your map is dedicated to thorough exploration. I found just quite a few secrets. And enjoyed it. ;-)

Thanks again for the map, I replay it from time to time. It just makes me wondering about internals of the building and I can't withstand the wish to explore the map with noclip. ;-)

Is there a chance to see a map based on The Florentine Library?

konstructor Guest 11 November 2014, 21:13

Hi guys.. do you think these recent mappacks could be playable with my PII 400mhz 128ram ? I ask because I strongly like to play them upon it !

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 8 December 2014, 2:57

Great map. I've previously played Tronyn's ikblue map from Map Jam 2 (the other one I played was mfx's ikwhite one), which was good, but this one had more of the classic feel of the original IKSPQ series (which is still well worth playing, btw). I also didn't mind revisiting the first area at all, as I found new secrets each time and the area is big enough that the fights can play out a little differently each time. Anyway it doesn't take too long for an experienced Quake player to get through it.

The very-ending fight before the final teleporter was a little disappointingly easy even on hard, but I guess taking out a shambler and a vore used to be harder than it is in 2014.

I did not find the super secret, maybe it was in one of the pools behind the silver key I didn't go through? I'll definitely be playing this again sometime, anyway.

I'm only 3 maps in and I gotta say, Jam 2 is pretty dope.

FifthElephant Registered, rated this a 5 25 February 2015, 2:06

Managed to play this one again. Loved it even more than the original. Yeah you have to play through the same beginning bit several times but it's still fun. It seems the enemies were different in certain situations. Not sure if this was my imagination or not (sure I had 2 vores at the end on one fight and then another time it was 1 vore and 1 sham)....

Cool stuff :)

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 4 25 August 2016, 12:27

Have to say this was a really unique map. The sealed off routes does promote some replay value and the architecture is just mind boggling!

I think the choices could have been presented a bit better instead of going onto the floor above and looking down via a grate. Maybe a window instead?

ubiquitous Registered, rated this a 5 24 September 2016, 16:10

A wonderful map full of clever tricks and creative reuse of areas. Excellent use of the ikblue texture set, and I really enjoyed the progression mechanic built around the runes.

Like Mike, I was a little disappointed to finish with only 3 runes (at first, I thought I had broken the map). To be clear, I am okay with forcing the player to make a choice and leaving some branches of the map unexplored. But the map asks you to start collecting runes (of which there are four) in order to open a door with four runes on it, so I had mentally prepared myself for collecting the fourth rune.

But that's a minor quibble; the map is fantastic.

bfg666 Registered 21 November 2016, 13:49

Just saw the new tag, "fs". What the hell is that even supposed to mean?! Tags are normally made to be understandable, otherwise they're kinda pointless...

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in