Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of 100b2
Author:Aardappel, -=Blitz=-, CZG, FredTheFishSlayer, Hanz, Necros, Rcktrob, Scragbait
Title:100 Brush Competition #2
Download:100b2.zip (160cd1708855587b3aedda75c7915fbc)
Filesize:4300 Kilobytes
Release date:20.05.2001
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sources/Spring.map43 KB05.05.2001
sources/titanic.map66 KB28.03.2001
sources/ftfs100b.map76 KB26.04.2001
sources/czgtoxic.map133 KB03.04.2001
sources/aard100.map251 KB26.04.2001
sources/BZ100B.map56 KB21.04.2001
sources/czg_moon.map86 KB30.03.2001
sources/r100br.map69 KB27.04.2001
sources/school.map78 KB30.03.2001
sources/n3_100b.map54 KB23.04.2001
maps/TITANIC.bsp1179 KB27.03.2001
maps/BZ100B.bsp374 KB21.04.2001
maps/R100BR.bsp451 KB27.04.2001
maps/czgtoxic.bsp1471 KB03.04.2001
maps/aard100.bsp1787 KB26.04.2001
maps/ftfs100b.bsp923 KB26.04.2001
maps/spring.bsp516 KB05.05.2001
maps/start.bsp808 KB20.05.2001
maps/czg_moon.bsp1585 KB30.03.2001
maps/n3_100b.bsp505 KB23.04.2001
maps/school.bsp1082 KB30.03.2001
readme.txt34 KB21.05.2001
progs_readme.txt1 KB20.05.2001
texts/czg_moon.txt1 KB30.03.2001
texts/bz100b.txt2 KB20.04.2001
texts/school.txt1 KB30.03.2001
texts/r100br.txt5 KB27.04.2001
texts/czgtoxic.txt1 KB03.04.2001
texts/FtFs100b.txt2 KB26.04.2001
texts/n3_100b.txt4 KB23.04.2001
texts/Spring.txt2 KB05.05.2001
texts/titanic.txt1 KB27.03.2001
texts/aard100.txt4 KB26.04.2001
progs.dat405 KB25.04.2001
autoexec.cfg1 KB20.05.2001

100b2.zip - 100 Brush Competition #2

Results for the second 100 brush mapping competition. Contains 10 Quake Single Player maps, all made using 100 brushes or less. Includes a start map to access them all from.
  1. Biotoxin by CZG
  2. The Secret Castle by Aardappel
  3. CZG's Moonshot by CZG
  4. Cenotaph Of Seqqarra by Rcktrob
  5. Tower of 100 pieces by FredTheFishSlayer
  6. oH gOd by Necros
  7. Spring Cleaning by Scragbait
  8. Raj Maul by -=Blitz=-
  9. School Assassin by Hanz
  10. Titanic by Hanz


Tags: 100b, contest

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 7 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
affine Guest 30 September 2012, 18:38
Really good stuff :D czg's map featured in the screenshot is top notch. The others are fun, even though they are much more evident of speedy mapping skills.
Icantthinkofanickname Registered 6 August 2015, 15:51

It's amazing what some mappers can do with only 100 brushes (or even fewer!), and I would say the top three are all nice, fun maps regardless of brush count, -- and really astounding when one takes into account that they were each made with a maximum of 100 brushes. And even having said that, Biotoxin is simply in a league of its own.

My personal ranking would be:

  1. Biotoxin: one of my all-time personal favourite maps. 5/5

  2. Czg's Moonshot: just loads of fun. I rated it 3/5 as a standalone release (though I'm thinking I should maybe re-rate), but as a 100 brush contest entry, at least 4.5/5

  3. The Secret Castle: charmingly unique and impressive large for such a tiny brushcount. A bit of a slog overall, but ultimately wortwhile. 4/5

  4. Cenotaph Of Seqqarra: Not as memorable as any of the top three, but still a solid, coherent, fun challenge. A little hectic for my taste, but since it's also quite short, it does not become exhausting. Pity about the fullbright pixels on the textures. 3.5/5

  5. Spring Cleaning: Felt like a simplified version of Fall Cleaning. A little simplistic overall, especially compared to the top four maps, but still fun. I was amazed to read in the readme that this map uses under two thirds of the alloted brushcount ... so that's fewer than 66 brushes! 3/5

  6. Tower of 100 pieces: Playable, but kind of ugly. 2.5/5

  7. School Assassin: Hmm, I'm tempted to give this a lower rating because the concept is just in such poor taste, given certain real life events ... but I have to admit (guiltily) that it was kind of fun, and the school building is blocky but sort of convincing ... ish. 2/5

  8. Raj Maul: Not bad-looking, but tiny and unfairly hard. It is completable, but not with 100% kills (zombies, but no way to kill them). 1.5/5

  9. Titanic: A creative concept, but ugly, speedmap-like execution and annoying/offensive attempts at humour. At least it has an exit. 1/5

  10. oH gOd: I must be missing something, but this feels like a joke map to me. It's ugly, unfairly hard and has no exit. I really don't get why it got such a high rating from the judges. 1/5

The included start map is a great bonus. It looks good, and I like the way it is laid out (even going as far as to include an appropriate entrance for Titanic!). It's a pity that not all the maps link back to it, though.

The included readme is also interesting. It's nice to be able to read the judges' assessment of each map. There's no accounting for taste, but still -- I'm surprised to see that in their "personal rankings", two of the three judges gave Biotoxin a lower ranking than #1!

MikeTaylor Registered 26 November 2015, 14:37

The Secret Castle by Aardappel is pretty astonishing: a legitimately big map in 100 brushes. OK, it's a bit crude to look at, but it's a blast to play. It would be impressive even without the titular secret castle, but with that in as well it's amazing. A great achievement, and not one that I've seen replicated in any other 100-brush map that I can recall.

MikeTaylor Registered 26 November 2015, 14:38

Cenotaph Of Seqqarra by Rcktrob is another superb piece of work: much smaller, but beautifully decorated and with very enjoyable gameplay. An excellent pair of maps to get things under way.

FredBezies Registered, rated this a 4 4 September 2016, 20:40

Amazed there is only 100 brushes in each map !

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in