Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of 100b3
Author:distrans, necros, RPG, Stargazer
Title:100 Brush Competition #3
Download:100b3.zip (060583ff49164b4d3acef3672ef3f0fe)
Filesize:2404 Kilobytes
Release date:09.06.2002
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's Quality
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
dis_cr8z.map128 KB27.04.2002
smallbg.gif1 KB11.05.2002
ne_100b3.map50 KB02.05.2002
firedice.jpg7 KB09.06.2002
worthlesssolidbrickofshit.jpg7 KB09.06.2002
s4wk.jpg12 KB09.06.2002
bigbg.gif1 KB11.04.2002
rpg100b1.map166 KB30.04.2002
100b3_quaddictedrepack.txt1 KB28.04.2009
darkbg2.gif1 KB11.04.2002
rpg100b1.bsp1182 KB30.04.2002
dis_cr8z.txt5 KB27.04.2002
rpg100b1.txt7 KB30.04.2002
bottom.gif1 KB11.04.2002
title.gif9 KB11.04.2002
firedice.txt3 KB25.04.2002
firedice.bsp541 KB25.04.2002
results.html8 KB09.06.2002
dismemberedcrates.jpg9 KB09.06.2002
ne_100b3.bsp2298 KB02.05.2002
firedice.map92 KB25.04.2002
smallfern.gif2 KB30.12.2001
dis_cr8z.bsp1691 KB27.04.2002

100b3.zip - 100 Brush Competition #3

Results for the third 100 brush mapping competition organized by Grindspire. Contains 4 Quake Single Player maps, all made using 100 brushes or less.
  • Dismembered Crate by distrans
  • S4wk by RPG
  • Fired Ice by Stargazer
  • 100b3 by necros

This file was repackaged by Spirit. You can find the original .zip in the trash


Tags: 100b, contest, abstract, weird, swamp, tech, medieval

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 10 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Spirit Registered, rated this a 5 22 June 2014, 13:16

I really liked "Fired Ice", had a nice oldschool feeling and moving parts and lightglobes and stuff.

"Dismembered Crate" is very well made but I don't like the texture set and it was a bit boring/standard in terms of gameplay.

necros' 100b3 is sadistic, is it even possible to kill all monsters (on normal skill)? I had to cheat at the gold key area.

S4wk r4wks! Great atmosphere.

For me: S4wk, Fired Ice, 100b3 (because it is so abstract and weird), DC. They are all very nice.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 6 August 2015, 17:25

Wow, I'm surprised you liked necros's map so much. Or at all. It's just ... bad. I have to agree with the assessment in the included document (results.html).

The other three are good, though -- even if they're not in the same league as the top three maps from the second 100 brush competition (Czg in particular has set an incredibly high standard of what can be done with 100 brushes). To me, these three are sort of on par with Cenotaph Of Seqqarra, which came fourth in the second 100 Brush competition. Maybe Dismembered Crate is a notch above (and perhaps S4wk technically too, given that it uses such oddly shaped brushes).

Personally, I would rate them as follows (keeping in mind the high standard set by top three in the previous competition; I am still in awe what distrans, RPG and Stargazer managed to do with so few brushes):

--Warning: (minor) spoilers--

  1. Dismembered Crate: I really enjoyed this, and unlike Spirit, didn't find it boring at all. The complete change of scenery partway through made it feel large and involved. The (unmarked) secret was a nice bonus. To me it was the clear winner. 3.5/5

  2. Fired Ice: I agree with Spirit that this is nice. It's a bit plain-looking, with all its large mono-textured slabs, but I thought the design was very creative. The use of slime was certainly surprising, and created a retro-surreal atmosphere. S4wk is probably technically better, but I enjoyed Fired Ice more. 3/5

  3. S4wk: I can see why S4wk was officially ranked second, as it is technically impressive what was done with all the oddly-angled brushes, but I found it to be a less interesting experience than Fired Ice. Still fun, though. I can see how the forced humour of the on-screen messages would annoy some, but I found them reasonably amusing. 3/5

  4. 100b3: I think this might actually be better.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in