Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of 5rivers
Author:JPL
Title:The Five Rivers Land
Download:5rivers.zip (945f1df492331aa10e60b9404edcf611)
Filesize:10680 Kilobytes
Release date:30.07.2007
Homepage:http://lambert.jeanphilippe.free.fr
Additional Links: Tronyn's Top 10: Elder WorldUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:quoth



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
5rivers_e1NormalAAS6662014-11-28
5river map1 skill1
completeNormalAAS6662014-11-28
5river map2 + endbattle skill1

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
maps/5rivers.txt7 KB30.07.2007
maps/5rivers_e1.lit1942 KB29.07.2007
maps/5rivers_e1.bsp4085 KB29.07.2007
maps/5rivers_e3.bsp1780 KB30.07.2007
maps/5rivers_e2.lit2062 KB29.07.2007
maps/5rivers_e3.lit1004 KB30.07.2007
maps/5rivers_e2.bsp3924 KB29.07.2007
sound/ambient/jpl/thunderclap.wav391 KB01.07.2004
sound/ambient/jpl/evil_defeat.wav265 KB08.07.2007
sound/ambient/jpl/evil_voice.wav479 KB10.12.2006
sound/ambient/jpl/stone_fall2.wav237 KB01.07.2004
sound/ambient/jpl/stone_fall3.wav169 KB01.07.2004
sound/ambient/jpl/growls_loop1.wav1373 KB01.03.2007
sound/ambient/jpl/lava_rubble_loop.wav375 KB10.12.2006
sound/ambient/jpl/telesound_loop.wav443 KB10.12.2006
sound/ambient/jpl/sight.wav1486 KB16.03.2007
sound/ambient/jpl/evil_laugh.wav372 KB19.06.2007
sound/ambient/jpl/cultists_loop.wav339 KB13.03.2007
sound/ambient/jpl/help_me.wav231 KB08.02.2007
gfx/env/hellsky4up.tga770 KB01.05.2007
gfx/env/hellsky4bk.tga769 KB30.06.2004
gfx/env/hellsky4dn.tga770 KB01.05.2007
gfx/env/hellsky4rt.tga769 KB30.06.2004
gfx/env/hellsky4lf.tga769 KB30.06.2004
gfx/env/hellsky4ft.tga769 KB30.06.2004

5rivers.zip - The Five Rivers Land

Mini campaign in DOOM 3 hell-style with three small to medium sized, dark and scrary maps, D3 textures (needless to say) and some ambient sounds.

Tags: doom, hell, quoth, doom3, dark, scary, unique

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 24 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Spirit, rated this a 3 9 November 2008, 13:20
I find these rather boring. The monster placement feels too artificial.
Qauker 5 March 2010, 5:37
Wasn't boring for me, I found it good and a rare theme for Quake.
necros, rated this a 4 7 April 2010, 21:31
i enjoyed this. the first and second map follow the doom3 hell map somewhat closely, but after that it explores new territory. it plays a lot like the doom3 hell map too, and is completely linear. in fact, you don't revisit any areas at all.
you have to respect a mapper who builds all those areas and doesn't try to squeeze extra gameplay out of them by having them return there. obviously, returning to previous areas can be a good gameplay mechanic, but i rarely see a map that avoids it completely.
MegaQuaker, rated this a 5 23 April 2010, 4:22
Underrated. Probably the best Doom 3 map save Ruined Nation. Also Spirit's comment makes no sense, considering he rated this excellent.
Spirit, rated this a 3 23 April 2010, 18:05
The description sounds like negke wrote it. Ratings are meant to be objective. Descriptions and ratings are not "mine". negke did most, several others contributed in early days.

So you cannot compare anyone's personal opinion with whatever rating someone gave this map. I would probably have given this pack a Nice rating. There are way too many bad aspects in my eyes to justify an Excellent rating. Personally they are just about Average to me.
MegaQuaker, rated this a 5 23 April 2010, 22:44
Sorry, was confused, though you handled all the "Crap, Poor, Average, Nice, Excellent" ratings.
Cocerello, rated this a 4 24 July 2012, 15:23
Played on normal and nightmare.

In all three maps,the ambience is the best part of these maps, sometimes a bit too dark, i had to wait till night to play this :D (my window doesnt have blind or shutter). The textures are good, but sometimes seemed greyish, maybe making them darker and putting more lighting would be better. The layout is very simple and the architectural look varies, some places are good to see and the other are just plain corridors.

Difficulty is mostly lower than ID maps, except for the final map and some places in the second. Theres more than enough ammo, maybe too much, and a fair amount of health ans armor.Monster placement varies, theres some dull placement and other well placed.

Worth mentioning that theres some places that you get attacked by a lot of monsters just after teleport; a chaotic fight indeed. In the final map, the difficulty varies a lot, thers some piece of cake moments, but when the two final waves appear , survive is more to luck than to ability. i would make the waves shorter but faster.

Overall, this map deserves a 4 in my opinion.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 27 November 2014, 14:23

I don't like to be constantly complaining, but ...

What genius first had the idea that making the player constantly run out of ammo would be a fun challenge? And what was he smoking?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 1 27 November 2014, 17:32

Do you like ... * Running out of ammo? * Monsters teleporting in behind you? * Constant stupid traps? * Zombies spawning in around you every time you pick up any ammo or health? * An endless stream of hell-knights? * An even more endless stream of vorelings -- twice? * An even more endless stream of regular-ass knights all warping in one by one in the exact same spot as you stand mindlessly emptying your DBS into them?

Then you're going to love Five Rivers Land.

If you don't like those things ... not so much.

AAS Registered, rated this a 5 28 November 2014, 7:22

@MikeTaylor Try to change the way you play this map. Instead standard rushing use more slow and accurate approach.

I uploaded demos on skill 1. Obviously, I remembered layout of map1, but map2 and endbattle were completely erased from my memory and I played them like first time.

Dymitry Guest 17 January 2016, 6:05

While the gameplay is certainly poor by JPL standards, almost all the faults (especially extreme linearity and horribly contrived monster teleporting) are typical of any Doom 3 level.

Nabernizer Registered, rated this a 2 6 June 2016, 10:08

Please tell me other people realized this is literally just the hell segment from DOOM 3. The layout is almost exactly the same.

Doc_Holliday Registered 8 July 2016, 10:23

The demo's are busted :(

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 8 July 2016, 11:36

Doc_Holliday, in what way do you mean they're busted?

Note that they were recorded using protocol 666 (FitzQuake protocol), which is supported by FitzQuake, Quakespasm and DirectQ (if I'm not mistaken). If you're using an engine that does not support protocol 666, or if your engine is set to something different (most likely protocol 15), you won't be able to play back the demos.

I guess some engines might do things differently, but if you're using one of the ones listed above, you can check which protocol is being used via the in-game console: pull down the console with the key to the left of the "1" key (the "~" key on most international keyboards), and type "sv protocol" (without the quotes). You will then see something like ""sv protocol" is "15"". If your engine supports it, you can change this value by typing "sv_protocol 666" (without the quotes).

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 8 July 2016, 11:40

Whoops -- for every instance above where I typed "sv protocol" it should be "sv_protocol" (an underscore; not a space).

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 4 15 September 2016, 14:30

I had fun with these maps, although I do feel like while I was rarely left wanting for ammo, health often became an issue. Also, Death Lords.

I really hate death lords in quoth. :(

Still, I can't really fault the map for including them, after all it's just personal taste. The only other complaint I would have is what some of the other users mentioned, which is the excessive at times use of enemy spawners. They can be fun in moderation, but forcing the player to dump ammo in one spot with no end in sight is hardly fun or exciting gameplay.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 4 31 December 2016, 16:31

Funny how Doom 3 is actually more enjoyable in Quake than in Doom 3... xD

Great atmosphere going on here, albeit a tad too dark. Some more torches or a flashlight wouldn't have hurt one bit. The maps, while being extremely linear, are well crafted and quite fun to play. Plus, secrets are nice and generally immediately useful. Chained monster teleports get a little annoying after a while, but nothing too detracting from the experience.

Contrary to what Cocerello said, this mini-episode is significantly harder than id1, on skill 2 at least (most probably due to Quoth monsters), especially the final arena that took me a bunch of quicksaves/quickloads to complete. To make things worse, I had zero armor left for the whole duration of the last waves. Thankfully, there's no shortage of nail/rocket ammo, which allowed me to snipe those damn gaunts and gugs from afar.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in