Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ad_e3m2
Author:mfx
Title:The Faults Within
Download:ad_e3m2.zip (e6f637798209639f4abab759f8150662)
Filesize:2308 Kilobytes
Release date:20.05.2016
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Misc. Files
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:ad_v1_42final

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ad_e3m2.txt3 KB20.05.2016
maps/ad_e3m2.bsp2783 KB20.05.2016
maps/ad_e3m2.lit951 KB20.05.2016
maps/ad_e3m2.map1247 KB20.05.2016
sound/ambience/thunder_01.wav298 KB10.10.2004
sound/ambience/thunder_02.wav482 KB10.10.2004

ad_e3m2.zip - The Faults Within

Remix of id's e3m2 (The Vaults of Zin).

Note: This map requires Arcane Dimensions, updated with v1.4patch2.


Tags: runic, lava, arcanedimensions, remix, small

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.8/5 with 15 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 31 May 2016, 22:59

I thoroughly enjoyed this.

I read on func_msgboard that Sock has rejected this level from something, but I don't know from what. Anyone know? (And can anyone explain why the rejection?!)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 31 May 2016, 23:00

(By the way, I couldn't find a single one of the secrets.)

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 4 31 May 2016, 23:35

It was rejected from inclusion in the AD update that's being worked on (check out Sock's youtube channel for some previews: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCaBPQwWBwMQUFgR7j2x8--Q).

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 3 2 June 2016, 19:25

Fun map, a great remake done in the flavor of AD. Fog changes, skull wizards, and elaborate triggers help bring that notion home.

I only found one secret and I am fairly certain it was of the "Here have a secret on the house!" variety! I even noclipped afterwards and still came up empty...pretty secret secrets!

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 2 June 2016, 20:05

Oh you puny weaklings. :)

Here is a secret guide if you're still scratching your heads.

Hipnotic Rogue Registered, rated this a 3 2 June 2016, 22:22

I really enjoyed this map too though I can see why it's not to be included in the upcoming AD 1.5. While fun, it's lacking that extra 'wow' factor that seems to be a prerequisite for AD maps.

I'm really glad it got a separate release though. The more maps with all the bells and whistles of AD, the better in my opinion.

PS: Found 2 secrets!

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 3 June 2016, 0:29

Hmm, I wish I had said "puny earthlings" instead...

I actually thought this was comparable to some of the remix maps in the full AD release. Visually, it looks polished and has just enough added detail to feel like a more modern interpretation of the original id map. Gameplay and progression are different enough to make the experience feel fresh, and the AD monsters were well-used (the skull-casting wizards looked a little out of place, but they worked well gameplay-wise). I was a little surprised that there were no breakables in the map, but of course an AD map doesn't have to use all AD features.

For me the secrets mostly hit the right balance between too hard and too easy -- just challenging enough to be satisfying, but without being overly frustrating. I found two on my first playthrough, and spotted a third I could not yet figure out how to get to. It took me a few tries to find the lot, but they all felt pretty fair in retrospect.

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 4 1 July 2016, 14:55

i enjoyed the AD spin on this classic. the reworked gameplay kept me guessing. i found 4/5 secrets.

cox Registered, rated this a 4 23 August 2016, 0:59

I really enjoyed it - maybe because i needed some speed map for goodnight, or maybe because of shotgun particles - yeah - i couldn't stop staring at them - really fun stuff :) As for secrets - I found ONE - maybe later - or maybe not judging by the comments above :)

And - blue ogre - my favorite :) After all - big 4, good visuals, great particles, nice feeling. Thank YOU! that's what I needed.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in