Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of add
Author:Dustin "Tronyn" Geeraert
Title:A Desert Dusk
Download:add.zip (21ac7245139b693138336d2fa5f3c4ce)
Filesize:3329 Kilobytes
Release date:07.05.2003
Homepage:http://tronyn.planetquake.gamespy.com
Additional Links: erc's QualityEthereal HellRetroquakeTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Pak0.PAK6952 KB07.05.2003
add.txt1 KB07.05.2003

add.zip - A Desert Dusk

Large desert themed SP level that also supports coop and deathmatch.
Design and gameplay are top-notch, the style is very original. Uses some SOA entities.


Tags: desert, monsters, temple, soa

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.3/5 with 16 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Unknown 20 May 2012, 13:33
The map was very great enough...
Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 3 11 January 2014, 12:33

Nice-looking (if a little plain at times), solid, thematically consistent and somewhat exhausting map. Not exactly my cup of tea, as I prefer less punishing combat, but well done for what it is. Scrags, vores and centroids make for very tough combat, but once you get used to fighting the latter (as an uncommon Quake enemy, they take some getting used to, especially in such large numbers) it becomes a bit more manageable. There is at least one moment where being cautious and/or lucky makes a huge difference to the difficulty of the battle at hand.

Aesthetically, though, centroids are the perfect choice for these surroundings.

Not a map I would recommend to newcomers or out-of-practice players.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 4 15 September 2016, 14:58

Fun level, with an intricate but understandable layout that leads you seamlessly to the next area as you play. Heavy focus on a small selection of enemies, with the centroids taking centre stage. Not particularly inspiring visually or with its combat, but it doesn't really leave anything to be desired, either.

Perhaps more enemy variety would have helped the map, but what was used fits the theme well for the most part which is a plus.

Also, for the final fight, I ended up using an exploit to beat it, with the stairs providing excellent cover that saves you from most of the damage and prevents the enemy from moving closer to you.

bfg666 Registered, rated this a 3 16 October 2016, 21:53

Centroidfest. Meh. Not exactly my cup of tea.

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 3 28 November 2016, 11:45

Too many centroids and vores for my liking...but more so on the centroid level. The Egyptian garrison theme is unique and original but the gameplay itself is very poor with ammo imbalance and enemies for the sake of enemies.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in