Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of alk05
Author:Shaun [Kona] Ross
Title:The Savage Sanguine
Download:alk05.zip (54af11e4fdf0fab4d9be6ec0af4c4e80)
Filesize:1378 Kilobytes
Release date:10.02.2000
Homepage:http://www.electricescape.com/etherealhell/
Additional Links: RetroquakeTEAMShamblerTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Alk05.bat1 KB07.02.2000
alk05/alk05.txt6 KB10.02.2000
alk05/pak0.pak3259 KB10.02.2000

alk05.zip - The Savage Sanguine

Fourth in the Mel Soaring series, this map has you invading the mid-size base known as Sanguine. The level design looks great, a rusty old Strogg base, but is a bit confusing for having extra doors that lead to rooms you've already been in. The gameplay is solid as most other user-created maps. You start with both shotguns and a nailgun. There is a new enemy, Snakeman, who attacks you with two uzis which make a slightly faster nailgun. The final area may be a little tough for making you fight four Snakemen then two Shamblers in an area with only a pillar for cover. The pillar doesn't even help you since the Shamblers come from both sides of the room...

Tags: base, orange, monsters, medium

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4/5 with 9 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 21 August 2012, 21:55
It's a nice map with a good non-linearity that makes you remember a DM map, gameplay is good also, but some monsters placement feels too artificial, with maybe too many hell knights. Difficulty is mostly lower than ID maps, instead that final area is hard indeed, but if you know where to stay, is easy.
NightFright Registered, rated this a 4 20 February 2014, 18:26

Nice base map with rusty metal look. Maybe the knights don't completely fit in (usually it's about grunts and enforcers), but I guess it would have been too easy. Good stuff and well worth 20-30 minutes of your time.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 4 16 September 2016, 13:59

This map made me wish that Base had better melee monsters than the... dog, i guess. Despite the thematic issues, this was a fun map. A lot of back and forth collecting keys and pushing buttons to unlock new areas, but I never felt particularly bored and an effort was made to repopulate previously-travelled areas to keep the map fresh.

After a few tries, I finally cracked the final fight. I came into it relatively well stocked in ammo, although I only had four rockets. I used those to help dispatch the Fiends, as their tendency to bunch up favours the splash damage, and used the LG to deal with the Snakemen. By taking them out quickly I was left with enough health to tank one of the shamblers and clear the pillar as cover against the second. Still, even with my mostly-stacked loadout the final combat was quite difficult and took a few reloads... I can only imagine it exists in its final form because the mapper would probably be finishing in a similarly efficient manner.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 21 September 2016, 10:52

An undiscovered gem, with satisfying progression and good, solid combats that you're always well equipped for. I thouroughly enjoyed this. It doesn't quite have that sprinkle-of-stardust that sets five-star maps apart, but I rate it a very solid for stars, even sixteen years after its release.

(The description says this is "Fourth in the Mel Soaring series". I'd have liked to see the first three, but the README explains that they are Q2 and Half Life maps.)

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 21 September 2016, 10:54

Whatever happened to alk06? alk07 is in the Quaddicted database (along with alk08, alk10, alk11, alk12, alk13 and alk15) but it seems to be absent (along with alk09 and alk14). Maybe they're also Q2 maps?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 21 September 2016, 11:14

To answer my own question ... the README for alk07 says:

Mel Soaring series: Apr 00 - Mel Soaring 5: Ancient Rigby (Q2SP, Alk06) Feb 00 - Mel Soaring 4: The Savage Sanguine (Q1SP, Alk05) Dec 99 - Mel Soaring 3: Tomb of the Makron God (Q2SP, Alk04) Oct 99 - Mel Soaring 2: Star Rancor (HLSP, Alk03) Sep 99 - Mel Soaring 1: Hear Me Roar (Q2SP, Alk02)

So alk06 is indeed a Quake II map -- and no doubt the same is also true of alk09 and alk14.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in