Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of alk07
Author:Shaun [Kona] Ross
Title:Egyptian Myth
Download:alk07.zip (34378eda70f39efdcd561def58d328fc)
Filesize:1039 Kilobytes
Release date:17.06.2000
Homepage:http://www.electricescape.com/etherealhell/
Additional Links: erc's QualityEthereal HellRetroquakeTEAMShamblerTen FourUnderworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
alk07/alk07.txt7 KB17.06.2000
alk07/pak0.pak2432 KB17.06.2000

alk07.zip - Egyptian Myth

An excellent large Egyptian temple themed map that will keep you in the action almost the whole time. The level's new textures and geometry compliment each other quite nicely. The gameplay is very tight and recomended for intermediate Quake players. Every room has at least two enemies and often times after defeating them, a new set of enemies will spawn in the same room and assault you much by suprise. Most of the level contains Hell Knights followed by Knights, a few Shamblers & Vores, and the new Snakeman, who attacks you with two uzis (much like a nailgun). There is even a High Hell Knight for a boss, but he is mostly as tough as a Vore.

Tags: egyptian, temple, monsters

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 9 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 21 August 2012, 22:36
A nice looking map and similar to other Kona works. The architecture is a bit repetitive, but a fun one. The ambushes are a bit extreme sometimes, where the monsters spawn in manners that you cannot find cover, and with 2 vores for example its a bit frustrating. Difficulty is so-so but the tightness of the rooms makes up for it :D
NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 20 February 2014, 18:30

Something was a bit wrong with my monster counter - I had 121/119 kills in the end. But hey, I slaughtered them in an Egyptian temple that could have been part of "Dissolution of Eternity". Difficulty is challenging, and most of the time you have to rely on your shotgun to conserve ammo for the really nasty encounters, and there are quite some of them. After you have killed a few monsters, more will spawn either right at the spot or somewhere nearby. Two thumbs up from me!

Vukmir Registered 11 October 2015, 22:25

Really beautiful architecture, DoE style map with some more of that mythical, brighter, SoA type atmosphere. Adventure is dominating way over horror. I liked it very much, mostly becouse of the architecture, it was really nice, detailed, not pattern like, pointless mazes nor real life functional structures forced into irrelevant gameplay. This is my favourite type of map. Also i can mention some critics: I think the ammo is too much. I leaved every second or third ammo on the ground. Also, i think there is too much teleportation, These monsters could be already there, or attack from a "secret room". The unique snake-man monster with the SMGs don't really fit in the ancient map, much more into base maps or quake 2 maps. Also you could come up with harder monster situations, becouse going through the map was more like a job, than an adventure or survival. Aside from theese it was a nice experience, thank you very much!

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 14 October 2015, 18:33

I agree with most of what has been written here. The map is a feast for the eyes, and the gameplay is consistently fun. The downside would be that, because all the areas look the same, it's too easy to get lost, and lose track of where you need to go to next. That's particular true as you have considerable latitude in what order to take various parts of the complex. A bit of variation between areas would have helped. Anyway, four stars: lots of fun.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 5 16 September 2016, 13:38

To me, the visuals of this map are second to the gameplay. Sure, they're great, but the real meat of this map is in the intricate layout and wealth of encounters, which all take advantage of the map's areas in multiple, inventive ways.

You never feel safe in this map, because as soon as you clear one area, chances are the area before it has been repopulated with meaner, badder enemies that are out for your blood, or waiting patiently for you to stumble upon them, lulled by a false sense of security.

To me, it's always exciting to see a map take advantage of its play spaces in such creative ways. Mixing enemies with various attack types forces the player to use the space differently for each encounter, breathing new life into otherwise simple rooms each time you revisit them.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 21 September 2016, 11:36

Replayed this, and got 125 out of 123 kills(?). Very satisfying, and for some reason I found the geography less confusing than the first time I played it. Although it would still benefit the map if different sections were decorated somewhat differently, to help you recognise which already-cleared room you've appeared back in. Very solid work, though, and well worth the four stars I awarded it last year.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in