Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of alk08
Author:Shaun [Kona] Ross
Title:Charmhood
Download:alk08.zip (b59eb1f73d0e5f269b76d031d3c61031)
Filesize:566 Kilobytes
Release date:06.08.2005
Homepage:http://www.electricescape.com/etherealhell/
Additional Links: Ethereal HellRetroquakeTen Four
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ALK08DM.bsp546 KB24.11.2000
alk08.txt4 KB15.01.2001
ALK08SP.bsp784 KB23.12.2000

alk08.zip - Charmhood

It is clearly a deathmatch map with one version for DM and one for SP. The map consists of one large room connected to three seperate rooms, which means alot of the fighting is going to take place in that one large room. While I have not tested the DM, I believe this map is lacking trick jumps and/or traps. The SP version is about gathering Runes to get attacked by spawned monsters. Four total rooms means four Runes. After finishing waves of monsters, the paths to new rooms open. When everything is completed, a wall reveals the teleporter exit.

Tags: metal, dm, small

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 13 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Qmaster, rated this a 5 16 March 2011, 17:13
5/5 for design! 4/5 for gameplay, it wasn't as frantic as I'd hoped. 5/5 overall, very cool theme!
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 5 21 August 2012, 21:17
The SP map is a very good adaptation. It's an interesting idea. I agree with the last comment, but i would add originality to the list with a 4,5/5. Good replayability of each room too.
Aen Registered, rated this a 5 5 May 2013, 14:49

5/5 for gameplay!

NightFright Registered, rated this a 5 20 February 2014, 18:35

The concept of this map is quite interesting. At first, you are completely alone so you have time to gear up. After that, the slaughter starts, and even the SP map plays a bit like DM. There are ammo caches scattered around the place you should remember and save for critical moments. When two or three Shamblers teleport in and you have wasted all your nails, you might be screwed. Don't collect the next rune before you have dealt with remaining monsters or you will multiply your trouble. Anyway, enjoyable combat.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 15 October 2015, 11:14

For someone who doesn't much like deathmatch, I found this surprisingly enjoyable, a crowd-pleasant and undemanding blast-fest that is very satisfying as you watch the bodies gradually pile up. I think that it could have done with more monsters: Hard was too easy, and there was way more ammunition than I could use. But a lot of fun nevertheless. Four stars.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 4 16 September 2016, 14:23

It must have taken a lot of work to set the map up for so many layers of arena gameplay, but I think it's really paid off here. The way the map is built around activating the waves in player-controlled stages means that you can always stay on top of the action, which makes the map far more fun than frustrating. Unfortunately, this also serves to slow the map down significantly at points, and so it's difficult for the level to build up any sort of tension for the player.

I don't think it's the best arena combat i've ever played in a Quake map, but it's certainly the most, and it's certainly quite fun regardless of how easy and repetitive it may be.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 21 September 2016, 13:12

Replayed this, and thoroughly enjoyed it once more. This is what Qonquer should have been like (see func_mapjam5).

Next time I play this, I might try running around grabbing all the runes as soon as they become available and seeing whether I can survive the chaos.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in