Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of alk10
Author:Shaun [Kona] Ross
Title:Permutations of the Rotten
Download:alk10.zip (af3af3607c3c02642395d5a8071b4edc)
Filesize:3287 Kilobytes
Release date:10.08.2001
Homepage:http://www.electricescape.com/etherealhell/
Additional Links: RetroQuakeTEAMShamblerTen Four
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:nehahra

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
alk10/alk10.html20 KB09.08.2001
alk10/alk10.jpg63 KB18.06.2001
alk10/alk10.txt4 KB09.08.2001
alk10/pak0.pak6926 KB05.08.2001

alk10.zip - Permutations of the Rotten

"A new Nehahra episode by a non-Nehahra member, with a new story and setting. I believe the original idea of Quake was to be a dark world of rotting metal, wood and brick medieval, full of horrible monsters. The addition of base maps didn't help this theme at all. This is the way I imagined Nehahra to be, medieval fortresses combined with wastelands and industrial regions. So, inspired by Zerstorer, I set out to create a mini-episode that is dark and scary. Industrial mixed with medieval and metal, using ID's textures."

Four about medium sized tough maps in a strange and unique Metal-ish theme. Nice.


Tags: metal, neharah, medium, episode, nehahra

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4/5 with 6 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Qmaster Registered, rated this a 3 25 February 2013, 1:46
Nice theme but sloppily executed. Does not work with Darkplaces. There were some fun areas though, especially at the end. The goofy jumping and dodging monsters were more annoying than fun though.
dBAudio Registered, rated this a 4 6 September 2014, 2:37

the requiem engine worked great. very dark maps.

i thought the theme was good and the maps were quite enjoyable. i thought they had a fast pace. more than enough ammo on skill 1. tough, fun end for me. i found only one secret in all the maps.

MikeTaylor Registered 21 September 2016, 14:42

Does anyone know how to run this under Quakespasm? I tried quake -game nehahra -game alk10 +map alk10a but the map was not found.

Icantthinkofanickname Registered 21 September 2016, 22:12

MikeTaylor: You can't, unfortunately. Nehahra is not playable under Quakespasm (and hence neither are maps that require it). Your OS is Linux, right? In that case you have a few options, such as DarkPlaces or reQuiem. See this thread: https://www.quaddicted.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=328

Of course it's a bit fussy to have to switch to a different engine (QS is my go-to engine too), but it's either that or pass on Nehahra and maps that require it.

MikeTaylor Registered 22 September 2016, 12:19

Thanks, Icant. I use both a Ubuntu Linux box and a MacBook, but Quakespasm does nearly everything perfectly on both. I guess I will not mess about with a different engine just for a single map-pack. (It's not like there's any shortage of other good stuff!)

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in