Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of retrojam6
Author:Bloodshot, Bloughsburgh, Breezeep, Danzadan, DOOMer, dumptruck, FifthElephant, ionous, Khreathor, Lane Powell, MukOr, Naitelveni, NewHouse, onetruepurple, PuLSaR, skacky, Shadesmaster
Title:Retro Jam 6 - Egyptian theme
Download:retrojam6.zip (451b9f6e1430fd06a69af00ede30d7db)
Filesize:52615 Kilobytes
Release date:01.01.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
retrojam6/a0.sav109 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/a1.sav105 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/a2.sav105 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/desert_bk.tga685 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/desert_dn.tga762 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/desert_ft.tga617 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/desert_lf.tga640 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/desert_rt.tga635 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/desert_up.tga334 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/grimmnight_bk.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/grimmnight_dn.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/grimmnight_ft.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/grimmnight_lf.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/grimmnight_rt.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/grimmnight_up.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/l_swampn_bk.tga3073 KB12.01.2015
retrojam6/gfx/env/l_swampn_dn.tga3073 KB05.02.2015
retrojam6/gfx/env/l_swampn_ft.tga3073 KB12.01.2015
retrojam6/gfx/env/l_swampn_lf.tga3073 KB12.01.2015
retrojam6/gfx/env/l_swampn_rt.tga3073 KB12.01.2015
retrojam6/gfx/env/l_swampn_up.tga3073 KB05.02.2015
retrojam6/gfx/env/moonhigh_bk.tga1025 KB19.03.2014
retrojam6/gfx/env/moonhigh_dn.tga1025 KB19.03.2014
retrojam6/gfx/env/moonhigh_ft.tga1025 KB19.03.2014
retrojam6/gfx/env/moonhigh_lf.tga1025 KB19.03.2014
retrojam6/gfx/env/moonhigh_rt.tga1025 KB19.03.2014
retrojam6/gfx/env/moonhigh_up.tga1025 KB28.10.2015
retrojam6/gfx/env/mysticbk.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/mysticdn.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/mysticft.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/mysticlf.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/mysticrt.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/mysticup.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/stormydays_90bk.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/stormydays_90dn.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/stormydays_90ft.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/stormydays_90lf.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/stormydays_90rt.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/stormydays_90up.tga3073 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/gfx/env/stormydays_bk.tga3073 KB01.09.2015
retrojam6/gfx/env/stormydays_dn.tga3073 KB01.09.2015
retrojam6/gfx/env/stormydays_ft.tga3073 KB01.09.2015
retrojam6/gfx/env/stormydays_lf.tga3073 KB01.09.2015
retrojam6/gfx/env/stormydays_rt.tga3073 KB01.09.2015
retrojam6/gfx/env/stormydays_up.tga3073 KB01.09.2015
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_bloodshot.bsp5200 KB30.12.2016
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_bloodshot.lit2756 KB30.12.2016
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_bloodshot.vis10461 KB30.12.2016
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_breezeep.bsp1898 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_breezeep.lit679 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_danzadan.bsp2407 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_danzadan.lit799 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_doomer.bsp1252 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_dumptruck_ds_revised.bsp2260 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_dumptruck_ds_revised.lit1001 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_fifth.bsp2855 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_fifth.lit1465 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_ionous.bsp1072 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_khreathor.bsp4811 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_khreathor.lit1392 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_lp.bsp1793 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_mjb.bsp5283 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_mjb.lit2724 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_mukor.bsp6311 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_mukor.lit1937 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_nait.bsp2860 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_newhouse.bsp3028 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_newhouse.lit2996 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_oasis.bsp1348 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_otp.bsp1559 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_otp.lit546 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_pulsar.bsp1748 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_pulsar.lit579 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_skacky.bsp6030 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/retrojam6_skacky.lit1719 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_breezeep.map967 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_custom.wad1728 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_danzadan.jmf3896 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_danzadan.map1486 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_doomer.map542 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_dumptruck_ds_revised.map834 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_fifth.map840 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_ionous.jmf1950 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_ionous.map756 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_khreathor.jmf5149 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_khreathor.map2016 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_lp.map472 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_mjb.map1910 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_mukor.map2455 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_newhouse.map1059 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_oasis.map314 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_otp.map506 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_pulsar.map1235 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/maps/sources/retrojam6_skacky.map3471 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/pak0.pak266 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/readme/ReadMe_nait.txt1 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/readme/readme_newhouse.txt2 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/readme/retrojam6_doomer.txt2 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/readme/retrojam6_dumptruck_ds_readme.txt3 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/readme/retrojam6_lp.txt1 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/readme/retrojam6_mjb.txt7 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/readme/retrojam6_mukor.txt1 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/readme/retrojam6_skacky.txt2 KB01.01.2017
retrojam6/retrojam6_readme.txt4 KB01.01.2017

retrojam6.zip - Retro Jam 6 - Egyptian theme

Sixth "retro" map jam - featuring 17 small to medium-sized Egyptian-themed levels by various authors. It comes with custom visuals for the items, several skyboxes, and the map sources are included.

Tags: egyptian, egypt, source, medium, small, pyramid, temple, tomb, skybox, water, sand

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.7/5 with 13 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
Bloughsburgh Guest, rated this a 5 4 January 2017, 19:08

Anyway to change "MJB" under list of authors to Bloughsburgh?

I think I am going to just put my entire username in bsps from now on.

bfg666 Registered 4 January 2017, 20:09

Yeah, it can be confusing for people who don't know that MJB=you (on the other hand, MJB is much faster to type).

LP is referred to only as LP - this is Lane Powell, right?

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 4 January 2017, 22:04

Yeah, my map is called retrojam6_lp, but my readme says Lane Powell. If lp could be changed to Lane Powell that would be great!

ArrrCee Registered 9 January 2017, 1:13

Retro Jam 6: Part 1 on The Quake Grave

Starting off with the first 6 maps in this pack (in alphabetical order by author name) this has so far been a VERY strong pack of maps!

Bloodshot - I love the look of this map. It's not as retro feeling as the others, but the Egyptian is strong with this one. The hazy beginning, to the booby trap, to the colored lighting and overall flow of the level-- there is a lot to like here. Nice job!

Breezeep - I really liked the flow of combat in this one. From room to room, you're getting a slightly different fight each time. The room with all the fiends and the Shambler is pretty challenging and intimidating at first but felt good to make it through it. Nice work!

Danzadan - I love the blue motif with this one. Quake is so brown all the time, not that I mind the brown as I'm used to it in Quake, but the blue is a very welcomed change. Some of the areas feel very cramped, which is reminiscent of older maps, but some times it feels a little too cramped when there are like 15 enemies running around. Huge fight at the end is nuts! Good work on this one!

DOOMer - This map is in contest with dumptrucks for feeling the most retro. I really liked this one because of how much it felt like an old, short 1997 era Quake map. Nice job capturing that!

Dumptruck - As stated above, this map and Doomer's so far are the 2 in contest for most retro feeling. While Doomer's has smaller rooms and is overall the shorter map, dumptrucks adds in a bit more with a few crazy rooms and fights. Especially the Black pyramid room that I think is pretty stand out. Watch to see the rest! As a note, this map also doesn't launch correctly through Quake Injector unless you edit the map name in your directory.

FifthElephant - Fifth rarely makes a bad map and he's not going to start now. Here is a very strong, short and sweet map that does a great job bridging the gap and crossing between a contemporary map and a retro one. Great job!

Stay tuned for Part 2!

drdefault Registered, rated this a 4 10 January 2017, 23:49

Sorry for interrupting your review Arrcee... here are my thoughts.

TLDR: Superb work in all, a very entertaining and polished pack. khreathor was the most poetic, otp the most enjoyable and vibrant, and shout-outs to pulsar, skacky, fifth for visual creativity among a very high level of visuals overall. Also mukor, mjb and newhouse for experimental gameplay.

Random general observations: some of the levels clearly prioritised visuals over combat. Certain combat cliches became boring as I went through the pack, particularly gibbing zombies. A number of authors used individually modelled blocks/bricks/tiles protruding from walls and floors - personally I feel this rarely adds any meaning to a design.

retrojam6_bloodshot: excellent architecture with a good feeling for scale, simplicity and monumentality. Layout is linear which results in great readability. Nice chunky decorative brushwork, some fun traps. Good use of coloured lights and fog. Varied and pacy, although generally simple and open, combats.

retrojam6_breezeep: elegant design, very strong waves gameplay. Purist, retro feel executed with polish and high-ceilinged majesty. Combats were fun although there weren't many fresh ideas. Middle fight in room with alcoves opening is most interesting, as I was forced to dangerously use grenades against fiends and shamblers.

retrojam6_danzadan: mostly square, symmetrical rooms broken up with catwalks and columns. The main wall and trim textures are a bit ugly perhaps, and the visual style was too ornamented for my taste. Combats were crowded, chaotic and fun.

retrojam6_doomer: very retro in both square-corridor, symmetrical construction and tropes like grenade-zombie, shambler-column, catwalk-lava, hellknight gallery. Lacking in drama and flow, too much health and some questionable button and door business - either pointless backtracking or pointlessly obvious button placements. Some sense of majesty though in the big square rooms and constructions.

retrojam6dumptruckds_revised: Tense, quiet beginning was atmospheric. Very game-y/arcade-y. Visuals and progression clear and appealing. Nice variety of slopes, heights and catwalks. Inclusion of safety net teleporter in void was a nice touch. Final combat was either too hard or (if played optimally by hiding) too easy. Favourite part was the Lovecraftian tumble down a dark, twisted shaft.

retrojam6_fifth: gorgeous texturing and brush-work, Serious Sam or Gunman Chronicles or Unreal Tournament-esque. Spaces feel intentional, with a good balance of large-scale shape and cute details - all this contributes to a great sense of (fantastical) place. The architecture has weight and believability. Combats were decent, helped by the sophisticated yet open layouts.

retrojam6_ionous: blocky, retro feel relieved by some pretty trims, a faceted-block motif and an intricate layout. Combat and progression were workmanlike, however the verticality and interlocked spaces allowed for some interesting tactical variation. Enemy placements and use of teleporting were maybe a bit plain and predictable.

retrojam6_khreathor: top notch lighting expressing a sunlight-dungeon opposition. Seemingly plain yet smoothly-finished, grand and monumental architectural style, quite poetic in places but very readable too. Confident use of repetition and scale. Texturing initially seems plain but reveals itself as very polished and intentional. Great use of visual framing. Layout is uncomplicated and symmetrical, based on medium-large rooms. Understated but with a smooth, powerful ebb and flow of drama, both in design and gameplay.

retrojam6_lp: very fast-paced, which made for exciting combats but a hurried progression. Visuals had a distinctive style, abstract, square and intricate, but I didn't like the texturing (this could be the fault of the texture set). Visuals all in all maybe on the noisy side which was kind of the feel of the whole map - lots of ideas in a small space/time.

retrojam6_mjb: ambitious, sprawling exploration of a water physics gimmick. I admire the creativity and directness of the design but it didn't hold my attention (probably because the level is so big). Some very pretty-looking areas benefiting from bright, colourful texturing.

retrojam6_mukor: extremely elaborate in every way apart from the basic room layouts which are merely neat. Big respect to the amount of work that went into this level. Tons of fancy brushwork and gameplay gimmicks. Monster placements are fun but overshadowed by the visuals. There's an overabundance of text but this is partially justified by the funny line "Sebek beckons for gibs...". Overall this level was too rich for me, both in ideas and visual detail.

retrojam6_nait: very bold, clean, direct approach in architecture, room shapes and monster placements. Gameplay could have done with more gradual build-up at the start. Attractive architectural shapes and quite elegant use of textures, plus nice lighting in some places. Lovely outdoor area. Some nice verticality (used for jumping and a cool shambler fight) although a couple of rooms seemed simplistic compared to others. Very retro, game-y approach.

retrojam6_newhouse: A pretty enjoyable abstract puzzle level. Understated and stylish dim underground stone architecture. Some striking abstract design (with distinctly non-Quake vibes in some places with golden textures and purple lighting, nice) and flips of context. The mostly quite square and open spaces have an austere atmosphere. Nice use of vores as a puzzle element at one stage. All in all refreshing.

retrojam6_otp: out of a lot of great beginnings in this map pack, this has perhaps the most flair. Theme of pyramid shapes used simply and very strongly. The rhythm of exploration and monster discovery/combat is very good. The use of tight and interesting spaces to influence fights is great too, for example there's a well-tuned vore encounter. A level unashamedly about fun and flow, very well polished, with varied spaces.

retrojam6_pulsar: good use of fog and lighting to keep detailed textures from dominating the excellent brushwork. Grim, dank atmosphere and excellent feel of weighty vaulted stone architecture. The verticality contributes to this. Monster placement feels a bit secondary to the visuals but does have pace and simple forward flow.

retrojam6_skacky: fancy brushwork expressing a convincing dark pulp fantasy vision of an eldritch fortress. Very nice-looking if a bit ornamental for my taste (although the decoration is kept in service to a consistent aesthetic). Good vore and shambler encounters. Visionary and polished.

retrojam6_oasis: good sense of an author creating a space rather than just a game level. Fresh colours and bold fantasy/surreal architecture with some meaningful touches like a green, mossy stone ramp up out of a cavern. Perhaps a bit unpolished in places. Tight, spiral, ascending layout works well.

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 5 11 January 2017, 13:15

drdefault,

Thanks for your detailed feedback for all of the maps! I wish more users would do this as there is no way to know what people thought of the inner workings of the maps!

I agree that my map (mjb) was too large...too ambitious. Scaling it down by a few rooms would have gave me more time to polish what I considered the good bits.

Cheers.

ArrrCee Registered 16 January 2017, 3:30

Retro Part 6 - Part 2 on The Quake Grave

So far so good, not a bad map in the pack so far! I think these next 6 are just as strong as the previous 6!

Ionous - Has a great retro feel and I'm really impressed with how much you did with so little! The fact that this whole level is built on a couple floors within a square is awesome. The only thing I might say is the aesthetic is a little bland, but this is Egypt we're talking about.

Khreathor - Loved how big this one feels, and really plays well into the Egyptian theme of the whole pack. Excellent pacing, I love how it's decorated and there are some really cool situations within this one too. This map is just my speed. Nice job Khreathor!

Lane Powell - This map has been the only sole underground map so far. There have bee underground sections, but this one is entirely underground and snowy/frosty! The map feels like you're raiding a small, tight tomb and with that tightness comes the retro feeling as well. It may be a little too tight at times for my liking, but overall, this was a lot of fun and felt like it was made 20 years ago but with a slight modern approach!

MJB, Bloughsburgh - This might be the most ambitious of the pack that I've played so far! Lots of experimentation with the water mazes in the walls, expertly decorated where every room feels a bit different and the map really feels huge! You can tell you really put a lot of time into this one! The only real drawback I could think of was the last room with the water maze before the end...that room was a little frustrating for me to figure out. It's probably on me, but it felt like there was a lot going on in there. Regardless, great work on this!

Mukor - My initial impression on this one was Wow! It just looks awesome! Some kind of space Egypt thing going on. You can tell you put a lot of work into this one, not just because it looks pretty, but also with all of the crazy stuff going on! Weird console messages, sacrificial pools, skulls and sarcophagi all over the place... all the while, this level feels like it fits right in with Quake! There were a few confusing bits with the navigation for me, but not enough to really knock it for that. Nice!

Naitelveni - Quite a choice to start the map off with a Vore! This map definitely feels like a huge retro style map. It has a lot of crazy enemy sections, where in my opinion, it feels just a little too congested at times. Regardless of that, I like the feel of this one. It feels more lonely and deserted at times, which is an interesting vibe compared to the other maps. Nice job!

Stay tuned for Part 3!

bfg666 Registered 16 January 2017, 5:23

Arf! "Retro Part 6 - Part 2"... ;p

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 18 January 2017, 17:48

This is an amazingly hefty jam, with seventeen maps. Of these, five seem to by debututants: Bloodshot, Danzadan, Dumptruck, Mukor, and Shadesmaster (who created Firey Oasis); and several more maps are from second- and third-timers. Among the maps of this jam is maybe the best debut map I have ever seen. Truly we are living in the Golden Age of Quake.

Tombs of Tehuti (retrojam6_bloodshot) is built on a large scale and rather lovely to look at. Unfortunately, the gameplay doesn't match up to the architecture, with those big rooms feeling underpopulated. Also there is a bit of an over-reliance on ambush. Still, it's a very promising debut, and bodes well for the future. Three stars.

Within the Sands of Time (retrojam6_breezeep) also scores higher for architecture than it does for gameplay. Progression feels arbitrary -- partly due to the over-use of teleporters -- and there is an awful lot of horde combat. I generally like hordes, but these encounters take place in halls full of pillars and brackets and other things to get stuck on, so it's terribly hard to avoid getting fiend-smashed by accident. Also, I think the secrets must be very difficult, because I didn't find a single one of them. For these reasons, despite the positives, I'm only awarding three stars.

Wesir Complex (retrojam6_danzadan) is another rather lovely place to explore, but another where the combats can feel a little arbitrary in places -- especially towards the end, where there are a lot of teleporting ambushes. There's plenty of armour, ammo and health, though, so it's not the difficulty of the ambushes that's the problem, so much as the style of play. To me, it breaks immersion if suddenly monsters are there that a moment before were not. So it's another three-star map for me.

Egyptian nameless (retrojam6_doomer) is smaller than the three earlier maps. Once again it looks lovely, but it suffers from extremely linear gameplay with no revisiting of earlier areas at all. That said, some of the combats are fun -- especially the one right at the start, before you've got your bearings. All in all, its three stars again from me. (And to be fair, the linearity might well be a deliberate bow in the direction of "retro".)

Carmack's Karnak (retrojam6_dumptruck_ds_revised) is a lot of fun: the initial threat is played well, and the very clearly defined pair of side-quests are both enjoyable. Some of my favourite Quake levels feel very realistic; others, like this one, skew the other way, with no pretence that a place like this could ever exist -- it's just a set of challenges. I needed several tries to get through the final battle (on Hard), which is probably judged about right. All in all, I think a slightly generous four stars.

Realm of Shubba-Ho-Tep (retrojam6_fifth) is yet another map that falls into the category of "nice architecture, shame about the gameplay". Which is particularly odd in this case, as what there is of the gameplay is really nice, it's just that the map is big enough to support about three times as many monsters. It would have been relatively easy to fix. Still, since the architecture in this map rises above the merely lovely into the realm of the actually stunning, I am going with four stars.

Sand Grain Universe (retrojam6_ionous) is small but perfectly formed, with a sequence of interesting and well-judged combats around and above a central area. Everything is very cleanly designed, and there are a couple of nicely engineered surprises along the way. Possibly my favourite so far, and well worth four stars.

The Legacy of Giants (retrojam6_khreathor) loses big by having a large part of the map be symmetrical, so that we have to do the exact same sequence of actions twice. That means the joy of exploration is completely lost for the second of the two, which for me takes away a lot of what I love about Quake. That said, I liked both of the two secrets I found (megahealth and red armour), and the gold-key door was a nice surprise (though the ensuing combat is very anticlimactic if you use the grenade launcher!) All in all, it just scrapes three stars.

The Tomb of Bryn Jones (retrojam6_lp) is a strange one, laid out more like a puzzle-box than like a real place. I very much like the first secret, which is visible early on but only actually accessible (as far as I can tell) rather later -- but the second and last secret is basically impossible to miss. Ammunition is very over-plentiful, and there is an over-reliance on spawning monsters. All in all, a bit of a hodge-podge, but an enjoyable one. I would score this a low three stars.

Inverted Tears of Naunet (retrojam6_mjb) is the first stone-cold classic in this pack: you could quibble that it doesn't quite meet the "retro" criterous, but that's just because it's so darned awesome and innovative. The use of water in this map is just the kind of creative departure I love to see. In isolation, it would be a mere gimmick, but instead it's combined with numerous other surprises, some excellent combats, and delicious exploration to yield a map that is easily worth the full five stars. MJB's secrets guide (in the text-file) is really nice: it was only with its aid that I was able to find the last "X", though I got all the other secrets on my own. My only disapointment is that, even after finding all secrets and killing all monsters, I ended up with only 152/176 kills. I assume this is the wretched fish bug.

Sacrifice Unto Sebek (retrojam6_mukor) is delightful from beginning to end, with truly beautiful architecture including many, many slightly displaced rocks that contribute magnificently to the sense of decay. Lots of good combats, nicely distinct areas so you always know where you are. This map uses teleporters rather a lot, but I am prepared to forgive it because they almost all take you to somewhere higher within the same room as you're already in -- so you don't end up feeling, as you often do with teleporter-heavy maps, that it's just a bunch of separate little areas stitched together. All in all, one of the two best debut maps I've ever seen, and a clear five stars.

There's an untitled map (retrojam6_nait). Why is there an untitled map? It's patently ridiculous for someone to invest the enormous time and effort to build a map, and not take an additional ten seconds to give it a name. Name your maps, people. That mini-rant aside, I liked this. It had a good sense of scale, and though the early stages of progression were rather arbitrary, I rather enjoyed the stay-alive-until-the-gold-key-is-accessible challenge. It's just a shame there is no way to go back after you get the grenade launcher and mop up the surviving zombies -- I assume that's why I finished with only 91 of the 103 kills. I also found three of the six secrets, but I was a bit disappointed that they were all in the same area. All in all, I rate this three stars.

Slave To The Power Of Death (retrojam6_newhouse) is rather a disappointment. Despite the intriguingly alien quality of some of the design, I didn't really enjoy myself much because the gameplay consists of a sequence of brutal and arbitrary set-pieces. (The lowlight was being trapped underwater with a bunch of spawns, and with my air running out. As Jayne asked: "When does that get fun?"). So despite some nice ideas, I have to go with an admittedly slightly harsh two stars

Firey Oasis (retrojam6_oasis) is unfortunately the runt of the litter. It's small, arbitrary, not really Egyptian themed, and it offers only two secrets, both of which are only realistically possible to discover after all the monsters have been killed -- which renders their weapons, ammo and armour moot. Ignoring the secret double-shotgun, then, as it plays no part in the game, the whole thing is limited only to the single shotgun and the nail-gun. It's not abject -- there is some gameplay to be had -- but I'm afraid it comes rather low down even within the range covered by two stars. Still, it's a debut: better things to come from Shadesmaster!

The Bringers of Blight (retrojam6_otp) is enjoyable enough, but feels very artificial. The final commbat with all those fiends is very easy if you found the secret grenade launcher (I did); but I imagine just about impossible otherwise. Still, I can't deny that was a satisfying finale. three stars.

Pharbaetus (retrojam6_pulsar) is short but sweet, a nicely constructed run through several contrasting areas. It's very professionally executed, but perhaps a little low on ambition. three stars.

Vulval Obliteration (retrojam6_skacky) finishes the pack in style as we would expect from Skacky. It's a nice example of how a map can benefit having a sort of symmetrical section, but with the two halves turning into rather different adventures. The only real downside is that it's easy to accidentally get to the SNG and gold key too early -- they are right next to the megahealth secret. But the whole thing is put together very well indeed. four stars.

All in all, a fine jam with every map worth playing and most of them very well worth the time. One absolute classic (Bloughsbrough's Inverted Tears of Naunet), on of the best debuts I ever recall seeing (Mukor's Sacrifice Unto Sebek) and lots and lots of beautiful architecture. I think this is most beautiful I have ever seen Quake.

Oh, and needless to say: five stars for the pack as a whole!

NewHouse Guest, rated this a 5 19 January 2017, 11:14

I am sorry that didn't take this jam seriously when it comes to fun. There is so flaws mostly, because I wanted to make everything as frustrating as possible, only players who would like punisment and un-fair situations will like this map, what I have tested.

In the future I have to figure out how to combine these feelings. Jam 8 was rush really, jam 7 about timing, this one was about being clever. Start of the map would have been fun, if player would have known purpose of shootable button. When ever stabdalone comes, I will take these as a constructive feedback. Yet this map was intented to be more puzzle map than normal map, hopefully I didn't dissapoint you too badly (since I really worked hard on this one too).

-NewHouse

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 19 January 2017, 12:41

Hi, NewHouse. Now I feel really bad for being so mean about your map :-( But you'll remember I was much more positive about your Jam7 contribution!) But I suppose if you intended the map to be frustrating, then you ... succeeded? :-)

Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 5 19 January 2017, 12:59

Arrrcee,

Thanks for playing and creating a Quake Grave episode for the jam! I'll go into more detail on the video page!

MikeTaylor,

Appreciate the comments on my map! My regret for the design was that it became too large...still I am happy with what I have. Nice job on getting the majority of the secrets without the ReadMe! The fish bug does stink but that's retro for you! Anyway, I do believe there are 24 rotfish in the map on HARD which would mean you got 100% at 152! :)

Cheers

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 5 19 January 2017, 14:35

For what it's worth, Bloughsberg, I think there is no such thing as a too-big Quake level -- provided only that it's laid out an decorated in a such a way that you always know where you are. (See Telefragged for a superb example of this.) Your map fits that description, which is part of why I judged it the highlight of the set. Also: great work on the secrets! I wish other mappers would follow your example, and include descriptions in the README.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in