#1 2017-10-15 23:41:41

Winkyjuice

Can't get my maps from trenchbroom to load please help

Okay so I just got into quake map editing because i'm very sick right now and there's not much else i can do and i've always wanted to learn level design. So I downloaded darkplaces, qbsp, trenchbroom, and ne_qspcompilinggui and whenever i try to compile my level i get this error in darkplaces "couldn't exec autoexec.cfg / couldn't spawn server maps/test.bsp" I really need your guys's help if you could please help me i'd be so appreciative i have crohns disease and tendinitis in my shoulders bad so i'm in a lot of pain and i'd really like to get to some fun quake level editing :)

#2 2017-10-16 10:50:15

Icantthinkofanickname

Re: Can't get my maps from trenchbroom to load please help

Hi Winkyjuice

I'm really sorry to hear about your health problems.

I have no experience with necros's compiling gui and I'm not sure what the "couldn't exec autoexec.cfg" error is about. Can you run other maps normally? 

As for the "couldn't spawn server [mapname]" message, to the best of my knowledge it means that the engine couldn't find [mapname].bsp inside id1/maps in your Quake directory.

When you compile your source file (in this case, "test.map"), a bsp file is generated ("test.bsp"). You need to make sure that the bsp file is located in id1/maps. What might have happened here is that your source file is in a directory called, for example, "testmaps", and that the compiler generated the bsp file within that same directory. In that case you need to move or copy the bsp file over to id1/maps.