Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ad_e1m3
Author:Giftmacher
Title:Forgotten Sepulcher - Beta
Download:ad_e1m3.zip (a77f21a09cba41b4f9653a9fd2487e3b)
Filesize:3499 Kilobytes
Release date:09.04.2016
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard post (2016)
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:ad_v1_80p1final

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
maps/ad_e1m3.bsp7228 KB08.04.2016
maps/ad_e1m3.lit2198 KB08.04.2016
sound/ambience/darkchoir.wav493 KB02.04.2015

ad_e1m3.zip

Forgotten Sepulcher - Beta

Old unfinished 2016 beta version of the Forgotten Sepulcher level in Arcane Dimensions, before it was significantly changed for final release in 2017. It was arguably a completely different map.

This map is archived here mostly for academic / historical interest. Keep in mind it is a non-final test version built for an older version of AD, so there will likely be bugs or broken features.

Note: requires Arcane Dimensions v1.5+ (NOT included) as well as a modern engine / source port with increased limits.


Tags: ad, e1m3, medieval, brick, limits, remix

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
4.2/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








fairweather Registered 24 February 2022, 1:02

It's certainly rough, but what's good here is good. It's so different to the resulting product that it's an extremely insightful take on what could have been. It's interesting to think that Sepulcher is more of a remake of this level than E1M3, it's great community lore to have this around.

h4724 Registered 24 February 2022, 2:35

Not as good as the finished map by any means, but certainly interesting to look at and significant to the history of the game and community. This version is very much an unfinished map even when you don't compare it to the legendary ad_sepulcher. There are bugs, the visuals look unfinished, the gameplay is pretty unbalanced with not much ammo. Ironically given the map we've all come to love, it has far too few secrets for the size in my opinion. This is the version that was put up for initial testing and it shows.

That said, I'd still consider this well worth playing because so much was changed since then. The whole map was majorly reworked, meaning that not only are things very different, but there are entire areas that were completely replaced. It's such a shame in a way that it was changed so drastically before its final release, leaving us with only this unfinished map, and what is arguably a completely different one. It's much easier to see how this was based on E1M3 than Sepulcher; if you squint you can almost map most areas of that map onto this one, while Sepulcher only has a couple of clear references and everything else is just vaguely inspired by it.

In a dream Sock or Giftmacher would have a later version on a harddrive somewhere from after fixes but before the major changes and reworks, which we could then all play as a true precursor to ad_sepulcher. Either way, I'm glad that this one is now archived.

Vasya shkolnik Guest 24 February 2022, 12:57

Is it compatible with AD 1.80?

h4724 Registered 26 February 2022, 1:40

Yes

MikeTaylor Registered 5 July 2022, 17:29

Yes, it's very very different from the completed Forgotten Sepulcher, and it's no criticism to say it's not nearly as good as the real thing. But it's still a fun map in its own right, and I'm really glad its been resurrected.

Johnny Law Registered 5 July 2022, 19:13

Hey, I didn't know this one had its own Quaddicted entry. I just played it recently after seeing a link to it posted in the reviews for the AD 1.80 release.

(And yeah I'll agree with h4724 that it appears to work fine with AD 1.80.)

I liked it a heck of a lot. A surprisingly beefy-feeling adventure for such a reasonable number of monsters, I think it was 100-ish. It's not as detailed and rich as Sepulcher, of course, but its more focused scope (IMO) is a strength in itself.

I'm not surprised that some folks encountered spots that they thought were visibly unfinished, but in my case nothing really jumped out in that way. Happy I got to play this version... one of my favorite recent map plays.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in