Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ad_mfk_dreamdem (v1.1)
Author:Mittens for Kittens
Title:The Dreamer's Demesne
Download:ad_mfk_dreamdem (v1.1).zip (a3ba82833f951e03dd2caf6701435899)
Filesize:11398 Kilobytes
Release date:11.03.2022
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:ad_v1_80p1final

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
README - ad_mfk_dreamdem.txt4 KB09.03.2022
gfx/env/nightsky_bk.tga255 KB28.12.2008
gfx/env/nightsky_dn.tga49 KB28.12.2008
gfx/env/nightsky_ft.tga320 KB28.12.2008
gfx/env/nightsky_lf.tga255 KB28.12.2008
gfx/env/nightsky_rt.tga337 KB28.12.2008
gfx/env/nightsky_up.tga339 KB28.12.2008
maps/ad_mfk_dreamdem.bsp12105 KB10.03.2022
maps/ad_mfk_dreamdem.lit2320 KB10.03.2022
maps/ad_mfk_dreamdem.map6912 KB10.03.2022
music/track91.ogg5006 KB06.03.2022
sound/water_flow1.wav315 KB05.03.2022

ad_mfk_dreamdem (v1.1).zip

The Dreamer's Demesne

Medium-sized blue desert castle, made for Arcane Dimensions v1.81+ (NOT included).

"You awaken to the whistling of a chill wind and the sight of dunes illuminated by moonlight. Through the crackling of nearby torches, you hear a shrill, otherworldly cry in the distance behind you. This is the demesne of the Dreamer, where nightmares beyond measure creep through sleepless, azure halls..."

Probably requires a source port / modern engine with increased limits. Map source is included.


Tags: arcane dimensions, ad, medium, ikblue, wizard, desert, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 32 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Alex Ros Registered 28 March 2022, 10:35

Really cool AD map. Recommended to everyone. Brushwork is great. Secrets are really engaging. Blue knights in blue bricks looks in place! Gameplay is a lilbit unbalanced - sometimes too easy, sometimes too hard. But in general all was cool so 5 out of 5 for sure. I only wish the map could be like 20-30% bigger

The_Pirate Registered 28 March 2022, 18:54

Yet another first? :)

This is quite nice, especially for a first map. Very nicely polished brushwork. Tight, but not too tight.

Only a single bug: the door that shuts behind you at the boss fight near the end, skuts in such a way that you can end up on either side.

All in all: my compliments.

Thanks for the efoort, and thanks for sharing. I'm looking forward to see the next map...

Sardine Guest 30 March 2022, 0:55

Sweet so far! However, the little three-legged walkers are invisible to me. I can hear them, and when I shoot at where I think they are, when I'm right, I see blood-spurts, and they do die.

I'm using Quakespasm 0.94.3, and AD v1.80p1 on Devuan 4.0/amd64, all OS patches have been applied.

Sardine Guest 30 March 2022, 0:57

Oh, and I see there's some conflict in version naming of Arcane Dimensions. My AD came from adv180p1final.zip, downloaded from this site.

SharpEyeJoe Registered 30 March 2022, 15:39

This is awesome on so many levels! Easy 5/5. Thank you!

Jehannum Registered 30 March 2022, 22:22

Ahhh! Another satisfying AD map. I had a lot of fun playing this. It was engaging enough for me to want to make sure I killed all the enemies and found all the secrets. I played this on skill 2 and found it to be just about perfect for me as far as difficulty goes.

Thank you for sharing this with us, and I look forward to your next offering!

GenericJohnDoe Registered 30 March 2022, 23:41

I frigging love the track91.ogg!

GenericJohnDoe Registered 30 March 2022, 23:43

Ah, it was in the readme... "Nine Inch Nails (for the use of their song "Leaving Hope", from the album "Still")"

Mistawright Registered 1 April 2022, 0:08

A very beautiful map accompanied by good music.

RickyT23 Registered 1 April 2022, 13:40

This was a lot of fun! Love the theme.

MittensForKittens Registered 2 April 2022, 22:04

Just dropping in to thank everyone for the kind words and constructive commentary! As I literally learned how to map through the process of developing The Dreamer's Demesne, I'm excited to hear that it turned out as cohesively as it did. Looking forward to providing the community with more fun in the future!

Mateyy Registered 5 April 2022, 10:17

Vert cool map and very beautiful atmosphere!

rchavp Registered 14 April 2022, 17:54

That music. Simple awesome. Even better than that, the map!

Fun to play and good design.

Mopey bloke Registered 3 June 2022, 23:57

I love the map, but why can I not get that super nail gun?

Mopey bloke Registered 14 June 2022, 15:07

This map's aesthetic is a complete win. It looks like a place I'd gladly live in, and the accompanying music piece.

Gameplay is good, but constantly hampered by how tight the spaces are. The last fight in particular has enemy too big to properly move in the environment. The courtyard fight is perhaps the most enjoyable even if you dislike arena fights because there is space. Exploring while fighting smaller groups of enemies is generally good too.

I've played this map in Mark V, Quakespasm, and QSS, and could only get the Super Nailgun in the map to properly spawn in QSS. So it is the recommended engine, but playable in others.

Stefimero Registered 15 June 2022, 13:01

This was a really great fun to play map, just my personal feeling that it look for me a little tight regarding the places were you progress through

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in