Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ad_tonslrsp2
Author:Tonhao
Title:Smells Like Rust
Download:ad_tonslrsp2.zip (a6718133c933516f5bb05ae30db64959)
Filesize:2010 Kilobytes
Release date:20.04.2022
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:ad_v1_80p1final

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ad_tonslr.bsp3675 KB20.04.2022
ad_tonslr.lit1283 KB20.04.2022
smells like rust read-me.txt2 KB20.04.2022

ad_tonslrsp2.zip

Smells Like Rust

"A big base map with intense fights... you are a treasure hunter who seeks riches in abandoned places. You heard about a factory that did brutal tests on people and decide to go there to see if there's anything left."

Requires Arcane Dimensions v1.81 or later (NOT included).

Note: probably requires a modern engine / source port with increased limits.


Tags: big, base, temple, lava, cave, large, ad, arcanedimensions

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.1/5 with 29 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
SharpEyeJoe Registered 22 April 2022, 9:59

Beautiful. It just works. Great job!

zaratzara Registered 22 April 2022, 20:02

Great map with a good use of backtracking, full of intense tech/military roster shootouts in tight spaces… Great foreboding & adrenaline rushes!

vodkins Registered 23 April 2022, 8:56

I think map is broken. At least using Quakespasm engine. I've encountered at least 2 locked doors at very beginning with no clue how to open them. Or maybe i am stupid and this map is a quest...

The_Pirate Registered 23 April 2022, 10:48

Nice and competent made map.

The textures have been utilized to great effect to make this map appear to be more complex than it really is. Veru 'clean' theme, absolutely well done.

I only have two things tat bug me: - The lack of mood-setting ambient sounds at the very beginning - The 'rush-hour' murder blah-blah at the very end. I'm not a favourite of that. But, well, some people like it...

Very nice, mr. T. Solid piece of craftmanship. Thank you for sharing! :)

The_Pirate Registered 23 April 2022, 10:51

P.S. Sorry for the spwelling pisstakes! My wireless keyboard is gfx n7ab# gtt2?,,mµ

Alex Ros Registered 23 April 2022, 11:54

Absolutely brilliant SiFi map. Really nice layout. Engaging battles. Especially I appreciated AD extra base mobs, all those rocketeers, fume throwers, etc. Map goes for 10 out of 5

Johnny Law Registered 23 April 2022, 21:00

Interesting! A good followup to the author's first release; definitely some stronger skillz on display here in construction, lighting, progression, and encounter design.

I like the way the player's journey thru the map has a few distinct stages, with some nice teases that are paid off later. Strong visual design too.

I'm not a super fan of using poison enemies for lots of ambushes, especially backspawning kinds of stuff, but eh I'll live. :-)

My main critique would be that a large part of the map is a same-y looking maze, all on one vertical level. And then you get dragged back through it multiple times by the progression. Some really visually distinct areas and more instances of height variation in there would probably have helped a lot; as it stands it is kind of a drag on the experience (for me).

But! A ton of other good stuff going on in here. Overall a great release for anyone who likes the AD sci-fi stuff.

Mateyy Registered 24 April 2022, 15:52

Was really fun playing this! Really liked how each level of the map had a bit different enemies, that always makes for a nice narrative.

First I thought that the textures made the maze a bit confusing, but then I had no problem finding anything. Secrets were nice and useful!

A matter of taste maybe, but the bigger weapons using rockets or cells come a bit too late in the map. Could have used a grenade or rocket launcher a bit earlier on for the fun of variety.

rchavp Registered 25 April 2022, 2:34

Fantastic shooting and keeping you always on the edge. Might have enjoyed having a grenade launcher sooner, but just my own perk. Map is fabulous!

growl Guest 26 April 2022, 6:57

Outdid all of my expectations.

I'm usually biased toward my favorite mappers, so I was definitely suspicious of the quality - but this is a great, quality map.

I tend to err on the side of multi-level packs with smaller enemy counts per level instead of large levels with huge monster counts - but this made it fun, kept the action going, and didn't slow down the action with B.S. encounters.

I hate secret hunting (especially with maps that have more than 5) - but these secrets were easy to miss but not hard to find, and provided useful power-ups for each secret found (how it's supposed to be done).

Lots of stuff to mow down, very fun map. The final fight is pretty tough but it gives you ample health kits so if you try a little it's not too hard. My only criticism (if you will) is the dialogue is a little cheesy, and there's no custom music. Also not a big of fan of the Zerstörer enemies or whoever made them, but since it's just grunt variants and the robots it's not too bad.

Other than that, 5/5

ksyko Registered 28 April 2022, 19:10

good

Jehannum Registered 1 May 2022, 22:10

Nice map and really fun to play and explore.

The only nit I have to pick is that in my personal opinion, skill 2 could have been quite a bit harder.

Other than that, thank you very much for sharing with us.

iYago Registered 6 May 2022, 20:40

Nice map, really fun to blast through enemies on each floor. Here's a few nit picks:

Some items like ammo and health are in the way where you need to go, making the player forcing to pick them up in situations where you don't need it.

Most corridors of the second floor looks pretty similar which got me lost a few times trying to find where to go, also it would be cooler if all the Seekers woke up when grabbing the Widowmaker instead of one by one when aproching the them.

Overall pretty nice map and looking forward for more.

tankjr Guest 14 June 2022, 19:25

@vodkins

had the same problem - deleted ad folder and reinstalled via quakeinjector did the trick for me

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in