Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of apsp3
Author:Andrew 'than' Palmer
Title:Subterranean Library
Download:apsp3.zip (12bb52e65a951dfda84d970ec8bca391)
Filesize:4606 Kilobytes
Release date:30.10.2012
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:quoth

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
apsp3/apsp3.map6592 KB31.10.2012
apsp3/apsp3.rmf27584 KB31.10.2012
apsp3/apsp3.txt10 KB31.10.2012
apsp3/maps/apsp3.bsp6660 KB31.10.2012
apsp3/sound/ambience/blood.wav236 KB17.03.2012

apsp3.zip - Subterranean Library

Large ruined subterranean library with tight corridors, bloodfalls and eerie atmosphere. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires Quoth and an engine port with increased limits.


Tags: large, medieval, knave, library, blood, cave, quoth, ruins, source, secrets, runes, underground, interconnectivity

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 4.9/5 with 25 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
user631070 Guest 3 November 2012, 16:11
Wow, what a gorgeous map.
Qmaster Registered, rated this a 5 3 November 2012, 16:43
Ha! I'm the Secret Captain!! Seriously a must-play. Great lighting! Great layout! Great design! Fun use of runes and good gameplay overall.
The secrets were well crafted. They were also well hidden...or not ;)
onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 4 November 2012, 16:40
I love that this screeenshot contains the smartest secret in the enitre map ;)
onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 4 November 2012, 16:40
entire* FFS.
erc Registered, rated this a 5 7 November 2012, 21:24
A strong contender for this year's best. Superb map.
Spirit Registered, rated this a 4 8 November 2012, 18:37
Honey was released this year, there is no competition.
erc Registered, rated this a 5 9 November 2012, 17:47
I thought the two might go head-to-head. :)
corm Guest 11 May 2013, 18:49

the was so great. wonderful atmos. better than honey for me

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 14 August 2013, 4:05

Just started playing Quake over the weekend after years. Got halfway through E2 and stopped to find a better modern engine, found this site... had no idea there was such a rich history of community mapmaking, and still active. This is the first map I downloaded and played through. Infrikkincredible! What a way to get back into a game. I may never have to play another FPS again. (Well, maybe Borderlands 2.)

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 17 August 2013, 3:46

Re: the Honey comparison... I wouldn't say there is no competition. Honey was overall much easier than this one imo, mostly due to monster placement—too many places where the terrain gives the player ridiculous advantage, sniping's too easy, etc. In terms of layout and design, Subterranean Library and Sheer Hellish Miasma could go head to head, but Constantly No Respect didn't stand out as much imo. All three were great fun, of course!

Icantthinkofanickname Registered, rated this a 5 15 December 2013, 21:41

Have to agree with Lane Powell above – this is credible competition for Honey; at least for Constantly No Respect. Beautiful, complex, interconnected and fun map with great use of special effects and set pieces, good monster selection and placement (even those annoying green blobby things worked well here) and so many secrets (with amusing messages). Some are very easy to find, but still feel really clever. It was a little jarring when the map referred to the first bookshelf secret I found as the second, and when I was once told to “find the ruin first” when I already had it -- but these are hardly significant problems.

Overall, this is a bit like a medieval/fantasy counterpart to Plumbers Carry Shotguns: subterranean, complex, interconnected, beautiful, detailed … and very easy to get lost in. But since that adds to the realism (in apsp2 and here), I am willing to brave the frustration. Besides, if you do find yourself wandering around wondering where to go next in this map, you might very well stumble upon one of the many, many secrets.

boink182 Guest 20 December 2013, 2:22

i have mixed feelings on this... when it is working, it kicks major ass! however, it is easy to miss a beat and end up wandering around now and then looking for the next area. despite this, it is well worth playing and oozes professionalism.

AAS Registered, rated this a 5 4 April 2014, 11:30

This is the one of the most valuable customs maps I ever played! Everything is perfect: level design, item placement, gameplay, balanced difficulty, feel of mystery and a lot of secrets!

Thank you Andrew 'than' Palmer.

Karl_Delacroix Registered, rated this a 5 9 October 2014, 12:10

I'd be hard pressed to find a fault in this map. Also loved the big amount of secrets, only found 9/20 though.

onetruepurple Registered, rated this a 5 22 October 2014, 10:14

...I forgot how to get the secret...

PuLSaR Registered, rated this a 5 17 June 2015, 20:53

Loved this one. I'm a big fan of knave maps (that ended up in my own knave map for Arcanum) and this one is really awesome. The layout, the atmosphere, the balance, the visuals. Great job, Than.

Mecheye Registered, rated this a 5 11 July 2015, 5:33

Well made! I love the use of vents and windows to look at other parts of the map. That design choice is underused.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in