Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of azuremoon_final
Author:GrazzasOnlyFan
Title:Azure Moon
Download:azuremoon_final.zip (23c2110359015d90543788d98576b7f2)
Filesize:7742 Kilobytes
Release date:28.06.2022
Homepage:https://twitter.com/gsdigitalbrain
Additional Links: Download via Archive.org
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
id1/Maps/azuremoon-readme.txt3 KB02.07.2022
id1/Maps/azuremoon.bsp11608 KB02.07.2022
id1/Maps/azuremoon.lit5306 KB02.07.2022
id1/Maps/azuremoon.map6422 KB02.07.2022
id1/gfx/env/captivation-blue_bk.tga281 KB29.01.2003
id1/gfx/env/captivation-blue_dn.tga128 KB29.01.2003
id1/gfx/env/captivation-blue_ft.tga272 KB29.01.2003
id1/gfx/env/captivation-blue_lf.tga307 KB29.01.2003
id1/gfx/env/captivation-blue_rt.tga281 KB29.01.2003
id1/gfx/env/captivation-blue_up.tga151 KB29.01.2003

azuremoon_final.zip

Azure Moon

A large base-themed map inspired by Half-Life 1 / Black Mesa with a ton of blue and green lighting, hence the name. The author's first release.

"My first Quake map and definitely not the last - I kept enemy numbers low (for such a big map) because I didn't want it to be super hard or anything, and I kind of just wanted a map that put into action everything I'd learned in Trenchbroom. Enjoy!"

Notes: Difficulty settings are not implemented. Map source is included. Probably requires a modern engine / source port with increased limits.


Tags: large, base, halflife, hl1, blackmesa, blue, source, limits, debut, exploration

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
3.9/5 with 33 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Alex Ros Registered 8 July 2022, 1:10

That's a good map. Relyed not on encounters but on atmosphere & pacing. Not a constant ongoing battle, but a slow escalation. As long as I adore Black Mesa and HL franchise in whole - loved that map. 5 stars

Greenwood Registered 8 July 2022, 13:32

SOFTLOCK ISSUE: Make sure you absolutely jump onto the silver key or you will fall down via a trapdoor/teleporter combo & never see it again. I learned this the hard way & had to do an "impulse 9" in order to finish the level.

Pretty darn ambitious for a first map. Neat visuals, a rather grandiose scale, and some nice moveable bits. Could've just used a tad more playtesting to work out some kinks. Hope to see more from this mapper!

Ninja Registered 8 July 2022, 17:45

This is the best 1st map by any author ive ever played.Thought i was playing halflife with diffrent enemy.But fun to play,5 stars def.Enemy spaced apart easy to kill, no mass battles, no tight boxed rooms either, with is a major plus, played on skill 3,great map.

Jehannum Registered 8 July 2022, 18:13

Very enjoyable level. Decidedly thoughtfully designed and competent, especially for a first.

I'm definitely looking forward to this author's next map! Thank you for sharing this with us.

The_Pirate Registered 8 July 2022, 18:21

This is excellent for a first map.

This mapper demonstrates an ability to plan and design a large map, to create the brushwork and to do a reasonable lightng.

Here and there i find a lack of detail, but i find it acceptable for a map this size. I would also like a few more mood-setting sounds and lights, but again, it's acceptable for the map size.

The underpopulation of monsters help setting the mood, and gives it a welcome feeling of a 'exploring' map...which triggers the previously mentioned feeling of too few details! (Murder map == less detail, explorer map == more detail) Some monsters are a bit easy to pick off; they are visible from far away.

All in all a good map... No, a very good map! As i said, excellent for a first map! I hope to see a lot more from the hand of this mapper!

Thanks for sharing, and please carry on!

Esrael Registered 8 July 2022, 19:12

A really good looking first map! It's definitely more for people who like to explore and admire the scenery. It's rather lightly populated with enemies, but since the scenery was good, I didn't mind the relative emptiness that much.

ludicrous Registered 10 July 2022, 13:54

This map is really fun.

Not too difficult for me, secrets 8/9, some thinking about how to grab the keys ...

...everything is okay with this.

I would never be able to create such a first map.

( I would never be able to create a first map at all. )

5/5. Of cause. Thanx.

Cpt.Gonzo Registered 10 July 2022, 18:35

Can´t believe that this is a first realease. Great Map. Thank you very much. Had a lot of fun.

Ewigkind Registered 16 July 2022, 7:30

Great Map, in certain for a first map. Good to play, not to hard (I play anything on skill 3). I found 6/9 secrets on my first run, without the need to think around 3 corners. The puzzles are fun to solve, too. The Progress don't let you search all over the Map again, which is fine to me. In overall i liked the Base Design. Looking forward for more.

whatisquake Registered 3 October 2022, 6:14

Super ambitious for a first release. Nice.

zaratzara Registered 3 November 2022, 21:21

Really nailed the industrial complex feeling. Puzzling was also reminiscent of HL1. I loved the restrained use of colour and the vanishing points — horizons and building tops didn't look like awkward cut-offs and everything downwards-stretching faded into fog.

Minor but significant complaint: the block-out key textures stretched and rotated look incredibly silly.

MikeTaylor Registered 26 November 2022, 1:31

Hmm ... Not bad, but as the README more or less confesses, it's badly underpopulated, which makes it not just too easy but lacking a sense of density. I think double the monster count (and adjusting health and ammo accordingly) would lift this at least another star.

Another quibble: the quest is to finish four differently-coloured areas that each activates one of four pillars around the exit teleport. But the game has to be played linearly. I think it would be more fun if you could take the four sub-areas in any order, and the challenge would work out differently depending on the order you chose because you get a different weapon at the start of each.

But there's lots of good stuff here, and it's obvious the author has it in him to make something much better.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in