Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of castle100
Author:sodalimonada176
Title:The Beastial Castle
Download:castle100.zip (187fbc5c6bfd9767dddcc4d273723787)
Filesize:2730 Kilobytes
Release date:06.06.2022
Homepage:
Additional Links: Download via Quaketastic
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
castle100HardCptGonzo6662022-06-16
100% not blind
castle100Hard6m30sEsrael6662022-07-10
100 %, blind

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
castle100.bsp675 KB06.06.2022
castle100.txt1 KB06.06.2022
music/track12.ogg2500 KB01.06.2022

castle100.zip

The Beastial Castle

A small classic-style medieval castle map. The author's first release.

Note: custom music is included, but unfortunately it is packaged in the wrong folder relative to the map files and requires manually moving files to the correct place after unzipping. Thus, the custom music won't work if installed via Quake Injector.


Tags: id1, small, castle, classic, medieval, debut, wizard, music

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
3.3/5 with 21 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Michael Guest 14 June 2022, 1:11

Yeah it was ok. The floor texture put me off somewhat. And the monster just round the next corner seemed to be a recurring theme. But it was a fun little blast. I got the key then the ssg. You read my mind with the second secret. Please continue. Just add rounded edges to everything too

Jehannum Registered 14 June 2022, 17:57

Very nice overall, especially for a first map. The combats were decent and not a pushover.

To me though, the ending was anti-climactic and weak compared to the rest of the level. I was getting all excited seeing there was a MH available, and also the SNG and GL toward the end. I was sure it was gonna get ugly. It seemed unfinished at that point.

I enjoyed the music as well, once I restructured the directories so that it worked.

Great job on your first map and I'll be looking forward to your next offering. Thanks for sharing!

Thuby Registered 14 June 2022, 21:34

Looks good, but the wizards by the water was an odd placement since they can see you but you can't see them until you break the surface. And I didn't like that bit at the start where you pass through an invisible trigger and enemies just spawn on you.

crypt Guest 16 June 2022, 1:19

Nice map did it in 3:28.57 Would be cool if there was some variation towards the end

The_Pirate Registered 17 June 2022, 18:45

Not bad at all!

Good use of textures and lighting, and a quite nice gameplay.

The only jarring notes was the grunts in the medieval castle - and the textures in the corridor leading from the silver key. They break the style of the place. But that is minor issues.

As the author states that this is a 'work in progress'... well, it feels like the start, perhaps the first third quarter of a castle/dungeon map. So far, so good. I'm curious to what direction this will lead...

Nice first map! I hope to see more from this mapper soon. And thanks for sharing!

The_Pirate Registered 17 June 2022, 18:48

...meant first third OR quarter of a castle/dungeon map... Sorry!

rchavp Registered 19 June 2022, 19:54

Loved the level design, especially how the areas connect with each other. Compact and fast paced as well.

Since you mentioned is is a WIP I guess you may improve even more, and I hope you do. The core stuff is definitely there.

Just some tips. Make the secret area more difficult to find. The button that opens it up is super obvious. Try to not mix knights and ogres with regular soldiers in a medieval inspired castle, unless you have a context to put them into. Finally, the exit. Just work a but more on it, not just some hole in the wall.

Esrael Registered 10 July 2022, 10:21

It's quite a good vanilla map, nice debut! Using grunts in castles is completely fine, as they can also be found in E1M2, which this map looks inspired by. The only thing missing is a slipgate the grunts would've used to come in, so I can see the criticism in that regard, but I'm completely fine with grunts in the map.

I like the E1M2'esque visuals that adhere to the source material quite faithfully. I'd say my biggest gripe would be the texturing on stuff like bars and grates, but otherwise very id-like. hearing Unreal music was a nice surprise. I also liked how the GL secret had been clued to the player.

My biggest criticism comes from the fact that the map is heavily front-loaded with spongy enemies before the player gets a chance to stock up that much on weapons and ammo. I had to make it past an enemy with practically no ammo left. Once the initial hurdle's over, the map gets a lot easier. Oh, and I agree on the SNG secret being too easy.

All in all, a nice debut map, that I think I'd rate something like 3 or 3+. Looking forward to seeing more from you!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in