Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of castle_attack
Author:Paul Keefner
Title:Castle Attack
Download:castle_attack.zip (d94db5fe3bfab79d1d189653b1ecc8f0)
Filesize:23724 Kilobytes
Release date:26.05.2022
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Castle Attack 1.png483 KB22.04.2022
Castle Attack 2.png459 KB09.05.2022
castle_attack.txt2 KB26.05.2022
gfx/env/overcast_bk.tga4715 KB21.08.2007
gfx/env/overcast_dn.tga2142 KB21.08.2007
gfx/env/overcast_ft.tga5833 KB21.08.2007
gfx/env/overcast_lf.tga6394 KB21.08.2007
gfx/env/overcast_rt.tga4874 KB21.08.2007
gfx/env/overcast_up.tga4217 KB21.08.2007
maps/castle_attack.bsp4497 KB13.06.2022
maps/castle_attack.map2155 KB13.06.2022
music/track76.mp35414 KB26.05.2022
music/track76.ogg5199 KB25.05.2022

castle_attack.zip

Castle Attack

Medium-sized medieval castle map. Map source and custom skybox is included. Custom music is included too, but the map hasn't been configured to use it.

"This is my 3rd single player map. [...] I have a long way to go but still having fun with it."


Tags: medieval, medium, castle, source, water

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
2.9/5 with 21 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








The_Pirate Registered 3 July 2022, 14:06

Hm.

This is difficult to rate.

On one hand, this mapper is able to plan a pretty good castle and has the brushwork abilities to create it and populate it with a fair assortment of monsters. It is a quite interesting play-through,

On the other hand, the map needs a lot more detail, and the texturing is abysmal. There is some decoration and background noise, but it could be better. Lighting....

And what's the idea of bothering with a soundtrack, if the map can't load it?

Alright. Planning, brushwork and monster placement good. Please work on the rest, and i'm sure the next release will be absolutely amazing!

Thanks for sharing, i look forward to see the next map!

radiatoryang Registered 4 July 2022, 1:13

I think the author had trouble getting custom music working. I've emailed them with some advice for future releases.

But I think this map is a notable improvement on their previous levels, a lot more variation and more ambitious... and the castle facade is better brushwork than before, some good scale work is happening here. Keep going, Keefner!

Cpt.Gonzo Registered 4 July 2022, 20:43

Some wide Areas were a little bit boring. It got better when i got inside. Looking forward for future releases. Thank you.

Spirit Registered 4 July 2022, 20:59

I tried to help with the music packaging but the complete mess with engine support confused us greatly. Sorry! (Crazy how in 2022 one cannot simply specify an Opus file with an arbitrary trackname.)

RickyT23 Registered 5 July 2022, 1:26

I had a fun romp through this map, clearly ambitious. Some of the texture choices are pretty strange, but the scale is large, and there are some nice details in there. Keep mapping!

Jehannum Registered 6 July 2022, 1:15

It's great to see this author progress. There were some interesting and fun elements in this map.

As previously stated, the texturing could stand improvement, and certain areas that wandered around and led to nothing left me scratching my head.

Overall though, it was a fun and enjoyable level to play and I'm looking forward to what will come next.

Thank you for sharing with us!

ostx Registered 6 July 2022, 22:55

I agree with the other commentators. I did find a fix for the music.

Place the music file into your id1/music directory for example. Open console and type "music track76" This will play the correct track.

MikeTaylor Registered 9 August 2022, 13:59

What a strange level! There are lots of nice ideas in here, but strung together so randomly that none of it makes a lick of sense. Big sections are very skippable -- by accident, I mean, as I did -- and there is no way to backtrack. Teleporters are used in place of proper navigation. Boring monsters abound -- you gave to laboriously kill a lot of Death Knights with the single shotgun before you find any other weapon. And the architecture is block, block and bland, and poorly lit. And yet and yet and yet ... somehow it's fun despite all these problems. I can't explain it, but it's true.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in