Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of cimmeriannight
Author:Sonnenblume
Title:Cimmerian Night
Download:cimmeriannight.zip (f84b1f1550fd3007a1d89f50893c0bae)
Filesize:45441 Kilobytes
Release date:01.09.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
cimmerian/cimmerian_readme.txt2 KB01.09.2021
cimmerian/maps/cn1.bsp2464 KB24.08.2021
cimmerian/maps/cn1.lit419 KB24.08.2021
cimmerian/maps/cn1.map691 KB24.08.2021
cimmerian/maps/cn2.bsp2576 KB30.08.2021
cimmerian/maps/cn2.map1326 KB30.08.2021
cimmerian/maps/cn3.bsp3383 KB01.09.2021
cimmerian/maps/cn3.map2852 KB01.09.2021
cimmerian/music/track156.ogg11132 KB03.03.2021
cimmerian/music/track157.ogg15542 KB03.03.2021
cimmerian/music/track158.ogg14667 KB03.03.2021

cimmeriannight.zip

Cimmerian Night

Three-map mini-episode with a small base level, a medium-sized nonlinear wizard-style map, and a large homage to E4M4- The Palace of Hate. It comes with custom music tracks. The map sources are incuded.

Note: The third map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: episode, small, medium, large, base, wizard, medieval, e4m4, music, limits, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
4.2/5 with 24 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








erc Registered 5 September 2021, 18:54

An enjoyable set of three maps that gets larger and better along the way (for me it was 3 mins, 7 mins and 17 mins, respectively). The third map, That Which You Do Not Acknowledge, which is more or less an expanded remix of Palace of Hate, is highly enjoyable to traverse and explore (especially if you are a fan of the original) and is the moodiest of all. Custom music by David Barnatt is most fitting too.

Jehannum Registered 15 September 2021, 19:04

Very nice mini-episode. I didn't find a thing not to like in any of them. Perhaps a bit too much ammo and health for skill 2.

The last map was just great though, and along with the music really did capture the tension of the Palace. No shortage of Fiends there, and to hear them in the distance pacing and growling added to the mood. Exiting with the 4 runes to the entrance to the original end map was a nice touch that I really enjoyed. And yes, I played that one again.

Thanks for a load of fun!

The_Pirate Registered 29 September 2021, 14:55

One and a half years since Sonneblume's last map, and the time has been spent well.

Old-style or classical maps, especially the last shows this mappers progress. Very nice!

The beam-in of the monsters are mostly hidden (that's a plus for me), the brushwork is nice, and the music selection supports the maps very well.

The monster placement could improve a bit; they are quite suitable for the areas, but very often you can see them from far away and pick them off at your leisure.

All in all: well done and thanks for the effort S. - i wonder what you will come up with next time? I look forward to see it!

MikeTaylor Registered 6 January 2022, 15:38

Very enjoyable in a very old-school way.

ComfyByTheFire Registered 16 April 2022, 1:26

Gosh, this one was so fun. Tons of room to maneuver around the monsters, and the soundtrack sets the tone perfectly. Very cathartic.

Johnny Law Registered 16 April 2022, 2:14

Yeah, I always appreciate custom music & it's a good match here. Kind of on the upbeat/go-get-em side of things but still ominous and not too intrusive.

I didn't click with the first map much, it was fine, but pretty boxy and it feels like it railroads the player along.

(Actually it's a good choice to package this as a three-map sequence, because having a relatively simple intro map is not a bad thing.)

Second map really turned that around! Some nice use of more complicated shapes and paths. Even almost (but not quite) a few too many paths opening up at once, in some spots; works out fine for a small map though. The second map really looks like "lessons learned" compared to the first. It was a lot of fun.

The third one is obviously an homage to the Palace of Hate -- even without checking the readme :-) -- but it branches out and starts doing its own thing as it goes along. Very strong finish!

whatisquake Registered 22 April 2022, 4:49

Very enjoyable mini-episode. I might have liked a bigger fight after the last gold key. Shout to ComfyByTheFire for bringing this to my attention.

Mazu Registered 9 July 2022, 10:23

Very fun run and gun short episode with cool map layouts and progression. I had played final map of this earlier in co-op and it was a blast too! Great episode for co-op.

First map had a sneaky circle jump that allows you to skip like 20 monsters and the whole silver key path.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in