Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of cotdq1sp
Author:Rastrelly
Title:Cathedral of the Doubt
Download:cotdq1sp.zip (6420ab09be868b6bdbc94676b130f2f4)
Filesize:1521 Kilobytes
Release date:12.07.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
cotdq1.txt2 KB12.07.2021
cotdq1sp.bsp3606 KB12.07.2021
cotdq1sp.map1271 KB12.07.2021

cotdq1sp.zip

Cathedral of the Doubt

Medium-sized cathedral with some base elements. The map source is included.

Tags: medium, wizard, base, church, cathedral, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 2.7/5 with 7 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
erc Registered, rated this a 2 4 September 2021, 21:19

It does half a decent job at visualizing the titular cathedral at the very least, yet it looks, plays and ultimately feels like a so-so map uploaded to \idgames2 back in 1997. Needs a lot of tuning in brushwork, texturing, lightning, enemy placement and pacing. Still, not too bad for what I guess a first map.

Jehannum Registered, rated this a 3 7 September 2021, 1:39

Yes, it's a little rough around the edges, but I still really enjoyed it.

One thing to consider is that skill levels are appreciated by many Quakers, myself included. This map did have quite a few decent facets, and IMO, the skill was a fairly easy 2.

Thanks for sharing!

The_Pirate Registered, rated this a 2 8 September 2021, 21:26

This map has some good details, and for a fair bit of the way reasonable monster and secrets placement.

But... poor lighting, more texture misalignments than i can count and, in the last half way too big monsters in way too big numbers. All in all i get the impression that the author should have spent some more time on this map before release.

I can accept that the author has used a lot of different textures; it is tempting in a first map to throw everything in.

For the next map, which i look forward to see - please stick to one texture theme; get the textures properly aligned; take your time to light the map properly. And keep the monster numbers and sizes appropriate for the difficulty level, please.

Ras, i have high expectations for your next map! :)

Thanks for your effort!

Shadesmaster Registered 18 September 2021, 2:42

Gameplay video HERE!!!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YepyHLUTPHY

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in