Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of cotdq1sp
Author:Rastrelly
Title:Cathedral of the Doubt
Download:cotdq1sp.zip (6420ab09be868b6bdbc94676b130f2f4)
Filesize:1521 Kilobytes
Release date:12.07.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
cotdq1.txt2 KB12.07.2021
cotdq1sp.bsp3606 KB12.07.2021
cotdq1sp.map1271 KB12.07.2021

cotdq1sp.zip

Cathedral of the Doubt

Medium-sized cathedral with some base elements. The map source is included.

Tags: medium, wizard, base, church, cathedral, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 2.9/5 with 10 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
erc Registered 4 September 2021, 21:19

It does half a decent job at visualizing the titular cathedral at the very least, yet it looks, plays and ultimately feels like a so-so map uploaded to \idgames2 back in 1997. Needs a lot of tuning in brushwork, texturing, lightning, enemy placement and pacing. Still, not too bad for what I guess a first map.

Jehannum Registered 7 September 2021, 1:39

Yes, it's a little rough around the edges, but I still really enjoyed it.

One thing to consider is that skill levels are appreciated by many Quakers, myself included. This map did have quite a few decent facets, and IMO, the skill was a fairly easy 2.

Thanks for sharing!

The_Pirate Registered 8 September 2021, 21:26

This map has some good details, and for a fair bit of the way reasonable monster and secrets placement.

But... poor lighting, more texture misalignments than i can count and, in the last half way too big monsters in way too big numbers. All in all i get the impression that the author should have spent some more time on this map before release.

I can accept that the author has used a lot of different textures; it is tempting in a first map to throw everything in.

For the next map, which i look forward to see - please stick to one texture theme; get the textures properly aligned; take your time to light the map properly. And keep the monster numbers and sizes appropriate for the difficulty level, please.

Ras, i have high expectations for your next map! :)

Thanks for your effort!

Shadesmaster Registered 18 September 2021, 2:42

Gameplay video HERE!!!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YepyHLUTPHY

MikeTaylor Registered 4 January 2022, 17:31

Finished on 96 of 98 kills but only 1 of 4 secrets -- the red armour. I really enjoyed this one, possibly more than its technical elements really warranted. Yes, it's a bit brightly coloured, cramped and arbitrary, but for some reason I found the combats to be the right kind of challenging -- as for example when I was low on shells and nails to preferred to use rockets to kill the death knights in the alcoves, but the obvious way of facing them would mean lots of splash damage. A very encouraging debut.

Johnny Law Registered 7 April 2022, 20:28

Yeah several fun little encounter setups with this one, and a mostly-linear but somewhat-branchy-loopy flow that is enjoyable to run through.

Obviously there are construction issues as mentioned above, but y'know in the case of the lighting I think the harsh shadows actually helped some of the combat setups... like the dknights hallway that MikeTaylor mentioned, or some instances of scrags playing peekaboo in a shadowy ceiling.The possibility of momentarily losing track of an enemy helped juice up the small encounters.

Shows good instincts in a first map, and I appreciated it as a nostalgic low-stress snack. :-)

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in