Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ctsj2_1.2
Author:Fairweather, Alekswithak, Bal, Dragons for Lunch, Datram57, Eber150, Greenwood, h4724, Mazu, HrnekBezucha, Ionous, iYago, Mittens for Kittens, Pinchy, ptoing, radiatoryang, riktoi, stickflip, Sze, Trashbang, Xeo, zigi
Title:Coppertone Summer Jam 2 v1.2
Download:ctsj2_1.2.zip (2b9b695e05683ddf58117a02ebcf6b51)
Filesize:199708 Kilobytes
Release date:11.08.2022
Homepage:https://www.slipseer.com/index.php?resources/coppertone-summer-jam-2.103/
Additional Links: Slipseer pageFunc_Msgboard thread
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
ctsj2.txt3 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/balebs2_bk.tga3073 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/balebs2_dn.tga3073 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/balebs2_ft.tga3073 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/balebs2_lf.tga3073 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/balebs2_rt.tga3073 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/balebs2_up.tga3073 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/ctsj2_trashbang/devpun.txt2 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/ctsj2_trashbang/devpun_bk.tga701 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/ctsj2_trashbang/devpun_bk_old.tga603 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/ctsj2_trashbang/devpun_dn.tga863 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/ctsj2_trashbang/devpun_ft.tga788 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/ctsj2_trashbang/devpun_ft_old.tga521 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/ctsj2_trashbang/devpun_lf.tga767 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/ctsj2_trashbang/devpun_lf_old.tga622 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/ctsj2_trashbang/devpun_rt.tga679 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/ctsj2_trashbang/devpun_rt_old.tga537 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/ctsj2_trashbang/devpun_up.tga511 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/ctsj2_trashbang/skybox credits.txt1 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/desertsky_bk.tga769 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/desertsky_dn.tga769 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/desertsky_ft.tga769 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/desertsky_lf.tga769 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/desertsky_rt.tga769 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/desertsky_up.tga769 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/dustball_bk.tga581 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/dustball_dn.tga692 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/dustball_ft.tga528 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/dustball_lf.tga592 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/dustball_rt.tga564 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/dustball_up.tga487 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/frozendusk_bk.tga698 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/frozendusk_dn.tga752 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/frozendusk_ft.tga603 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/frozendusk_lf.tga541 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/frozendusk_rt.tga616 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/frozendusk_up.tga291 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/moonhigh_bk.tga1025 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/moonhigh_dn.tga1025 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/moonhigh_ft.tga1025 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/moonhigh_lf.tga1025 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/moonhigh_rt.tga1025 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/moonhigh_up.tga1025 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/purplenebula_bk.tga769 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/purplenebula_dn.tga769 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/purplenebula_ft.tga769 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/purplenebula_lf.tga769 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/purplenebula_rt.tga769 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/purplenebula_up.tga769 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/sky110_bk.tga4097 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/sky110_dn.tga4097 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/sky110_ft.tga4097 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/sky110_lf.tga4097 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/sky110_rt.tga4097 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/sky110_up.tga4097 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/sor_sea/readme.txt2 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/sor_sea/sea_bk.tga624 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/sor_sea/sea_dn.tga521 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/sor_sea/sea_ft.tga514 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/sor_sea/sea_lf.tga520 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/sor_sea/sea_rt.tga538 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/sor_sea/sea_up.tga551 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/sor_sea/sor_sea.shader1 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/verdanis-cool_bk.tga688 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/verdanis-cool_dn.tga771 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/verdanis-cool_ft.tga674 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/verdanis-cool_lf.tga661 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/verdanis-cool_rt.tga683 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/verdanis-cool_up.tga492 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/xeo/predator_bk.tga215 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/xeo/predator_dn.tga89 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/xeo/predator_ft.tga233 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/xeo/predator_lf.tga287 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/xeo/predator_rt.tga287 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/gfx/env/xeo/predator_up.tga453 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_aleks.bsp1837 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_bal.bsp42188 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_bal.lit3884 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_dfl.bsp3401 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_dfl.lit1709 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_dr57.bsp15671 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_dr57.lit3504 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_ebern150.bsp14369 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_ebern150.lit1446 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_fairweather.bsp13822 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_fairweather.lit12678 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_greenwood.bsp3472 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_greenwood.lit1218 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_h4724.bsp1661 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_h4724.lit425 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_hcm.bsp19291 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_hcm.lit6643 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_hrnekbezucha.bsp20181 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_ionous.bsp1277 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_iyago.bsp3906 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_iyago.lit1435 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_lzj124.bsp11086 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_lzj124.lit498 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_mfk.bsp21315 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_mfk.lit2034 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_mfk.pts53 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_pinchy.bsp14334 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_pinchy.lit1237 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_radiatoryang.bsp19911 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_radiatoryang.lit15484 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_riktoi.bsp3757 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_riktoi.lit209 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_stickflip.bsp30543 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_stickflip.lit4180 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_sze.bsp12135 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_sze.lit1714 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_trashbang.bsp11903 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_trashbang.lit2115 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_xeo.bsp3463 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_xeo.lit653 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_zigi.bsp2940 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/ctsj2_zigi.lit1269 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/start.bsp4631 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/maps/start.lit2517 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/music/track108.ogg5954 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/music/track21.ogg6026 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/music/track22.mp35105 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/music/track57.wav31130 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/music/track69.ogg3696 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/music/track70.ogg2543 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/pak0.pak4455 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs.dat532 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/balranger01.mdl70 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/balranger02.mdl65 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/balranger03.mdl68 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/balranger04.mdl68 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/balranger05.mdl65 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/beachplayer.mdl198 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/ctsj2_chairs1.mdl407 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/ctsj2_chairs2.mdl407 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/ctsj2_chairs3.mdl378 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/ctsj2_chairs4.mdl378 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/ctsj2_chairs5.mdl378 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/dr57/misc_cursedbook.mdl41 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/dr57/misc_plinth1.mdl15 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/dr57/misc_stool.mdl84 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/dr57/statue_dfury.mdl89 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/dr57/statue_dknight.mdl77 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/dr57/statue_dsergeant.mdl87 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/end3.mdl399 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/progs/waterglass.mdl59 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/quake.rc2 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/ambience/water_flow1.wav315 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/bal/beach.wav285 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/bal/drink.wav49 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/bal/waterfall.wav70 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/bal/waterocean1.wav302 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/ctsj2_trashbang/rustymove1.wav18 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/ctsj2_trashbang/rustymove2.wav47 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/ctsj2_trashbang/rustymove3.wav61 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/ctsj2_trashbang/sound credits.txt1 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/dr57/ThiefGold/locked.WAV40 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/dr57/ThiefGold/unlocked.WAV84 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/dr57/break/glass_impact.wav70 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/dr57/break/metal_impact.wav128 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/dr57/elevator-ping.wav263 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/dr57/rope-slide.wav35 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/iyago/glass_i1.wav13 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/iyago/glass_impact.wav70 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/start/beach.wav285 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/start/calypso.wav460 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/start/waterocean1.wav302 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/xeo/inferno_spawn_music.wav442 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/zigi/amb16test.wav180 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/zigi/butn2.wav25 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/zigi/chkidle1.wav36 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/zigi/comp_hum2.wav282 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/zigi/comp_hum3.wav454 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/zigi/dr1_end.wav44 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/zigi/dr1_strt.wav26 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/zigi/keytry.wav34 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/zigi/keyuse.wav54 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/zigi/pc_up.wav93 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/zigi/pkup.wav30 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/zigi/pt1_end.wav18 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/sound/zigi/pt1_strt.wav20 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/src/ctsj2_dr57.map4149 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/src/ctsj2_ebern150.map1913 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/src/ctsj2_fairweather.map10680 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/src/ctsj2_h4724.map872 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/src/ctsj2_hcm.map14747 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/src/ctsj2_hrnekbezucha.map725 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/src/ctsj2_ionous.map1373 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/src/ctsj2_iyago.map3126 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/src/ctsj2_lzj124.map973 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/src/ctsj2_mfk.map2555 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/src/ctsj2_pinchy.map1383 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/src/ctsj2_radiatoryang.map5622 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/src/ctsj2_riktoi.map1128 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/src/ctsj2_trashbang.map1850 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/textures/#bkp_water01a.tga13 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/copper_v1_20.txt88 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_aleks_readme.txt2 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_bal.txt2 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_fairweather.txt3 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_greenwood.txt2 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_h4724.txt6 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_hcm.txt9 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_iyago.txt3 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_lzj124_readme.txt2 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_mfk.txt4 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_pinchy.txt3 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_radiatoryang.txt3 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_riktoi_readme.log1 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_start.txt2 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_stickflip.txt2 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_trashbang.txt3 KB11.08.2022
ctsj2/txt/ctsj2_zigi.txt3 KB11.08.2022

ctsj2_1.2.zip

Coppertone Summer Jam 2 v1.2

Big map jam pack with 22 levels ranging from small to large, with veteran and beginner designers. Maps were made in 2 1/2 weeks, with hot sunny theming encouraged but not required.

This is version 1.2, which fixes major bugs in the progs and maps.

Includes custom start map with built-in difficulty select. Uses Copper v1.19 (already included) and co-op supported. QuakeC source is also included, as well as some MAP source.

Note: requires a modern engine / source port with increased limits.


Tags: small, large, jam, base, castle, medieval, runic, metal, lava, copper, source, limits, quake3, makkon, puzzle, unique, craft, woods, joke, secrets, exploration, egypt

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
4.6/5 with 32 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Sardine Guest 13 August 2022, 20:09

I'm still playing CTSJ2, but Bal's map, "Dehydration Station" was absolutely delightful in the way it fit CTSJ2's theme!

ComfyByTheFire Registered 14 August 2022, 2:24

This jam was fantastic, as expected, and every map shines (including the sunny start map). While I had a ton of fun with all of them, I did want to comment on two in particular. Fairweather's map is one of the best Quake maps I've ever played: it has stunning oldschool architecture and lighting that highlight the best elements of the runic theme, a wonderfully oppressive atmosphere and inventive quad mechanic that guides you and keeps you moving forward, and a sort of combat-puzzle encounter design that I've always wanted to see in more Quake maps. Fans of Sunlust will have a ton of fun with it. Don't forget the hidden final fight! It's the hardest one, and is very satisfying to complete.

Mazu's map was an evolution of (what I consider) one of the greatest strengths of Mazu maps, in that he does exploration like nobody else, except this time you're taking the supplies you find back to crafting/market areas in order to have enough supplies to progress through the map, like a step up from his key market in Chamber of Forbidden Runes. Mechanics like this really add to replayability, since you can approach the level in whatever way you'd like. If only there was a way to see what supplies you had, though! The secrets are plentiful, and are a ton of fun to find, following a difficulty curve from easy to very hard, so there's something for people of all skill levels. I always liken Mazu secrets to munching on a plate of cookies, they're just really satisfying, plentiful, and almost always have tells that let you recognize them if you pay attention. This map is probably the largest I've ever played, and is basically another game in itself. The best part is, it's only the beta version, so I'm really looking forward to playing the final release.

zbidou72 Registered 14 August 2022, 5:26

Superb release. "Weeping shades of indigo" was my favourite of the pack, kind of a mix between an ancient sith temple and that place with the snake women in "Arx fatalis", sinister, mysterious and scary.

The_Pirate Registered 16 August 2022, 17:25

Yet again... an absolutely wonderful map pack!

The maps vary, as in all communal projects, from excellent to... not quite. But each and every one shows good mapping, good details, great ideas and quite a bit of thinking-out-of-the-box.

The one single map that made this rise to a five-star rating (not to belittle any of the others) is Mazu's "McGyver" map. I have a secret suspicion that this map may not entirely have been concieved within the time limit...

Exploring. New ideas. A new way of doing quake... that includes all the old ones. Bloody marvellous. It took me bloody 2½ days to finish this map, and im still a handful of monsters and 14 secrets down...

All of you: really well done. Mazu: exceptional! Thanks for your time and efforts, and thanks for sharing, everyone.

ARCHIVUM Guest 22 August 2022, 17:18

On the office building level some hissing starts when using QSS. I wanted to enjoy it but that kinda ruins it.

Vasya shkolnik Guest 4 September 2022, 17:47

Map of Mazu is really great, true adventure! Anyway, I wanna ask the question: what's the trouble with the fog on 1yago's map? Different rooms has diffetrent fog, but why it changes so discrete?

Andrew Registered 16 September 2022, 14:50

The text file says that this pack uses the modification "copper 1.20". But it has not appeared on the developer's website yet. Is this a modification of version 1.20 just for this mappack?

Andrew Registered 16 September 2022, 15:04

I opened the file "pak0.pak" and saw that several sounds and menu images for this mappack were added to it. If I want to use version 1.20 with fixed bugs, do I only need to replace the "progs.dat" file in the existing version 1.19?

Michael Guest 26 September 2022, 2:00

How do I use the grappling hook in the Minecraft themed level please?

Michael Guest 30 September 2022, 1:28

Disregard that, ahem

Gioyo3aa Registered 1 October 2022, 14:58

I haven't played the other maps yet, but Mazu's is definitely a must-play. He took exploration to a whole new level and I'm blown away by the result.

Oh, by the way: when Mazu warns you that "Hard" might be too hard, you listen.

MikeTaylor Registered 5 January 2023, 1:17

I guess I am doing a dumb here, but I can't figure out how to open the door into the base in Rifts to Abhorrence (ctsj2_hrnekbezucha). What am I missing? And oddly-textured button?

MikeTaylor Registered 5 January 2023, 14:19

Pac (ctsj2_riktoi) is clever — I won't say how, because I don't want to spoil the surprise. But is it actually fun? Not really, not for me. Sorry. I'll award a generous two stars because the moment of realisation is nice.

MikeTaylor Registered 5 January 2023, 14:23

I like Sun King's Passage (ctsj2_mfk) much more: a pleasant palace with sufficiently interesting combat and an easy-to-grasp structure. Nothing especially unusual, but fun. A award a rather mean three stars. (This is nearly stars better than Pac, but I rounded that one up from about 1.6 and this one down from about 3.4)

MikeTaylor Registered 5 January 2023, 16:43

Lethe's temple is a nice experience of well-judged combats in a bland but beautiful temple with mostly pleasant and clear progression. It falls down a little right at the end, in a few ways: * The silver-key door isn't marked, and I spent a while looking for it — partly my fault as I took a break at a crucial moment and lost my context. * The ending is anticlimactic, which nothing behind the final door. * The only secret can only be found at the very end, and it doesn't contain anything.

But I like this a lot, nevertheless. Four stars in the context of a jam.

MikeTaylor Registered 5 January 2023, 16:44

TIL that Quaddicted's Markdown renderer doesn't support bullet lists. Oh well.

Spirit Registered 5 January 2023, 17:02

It should!

With

  • stars
  • and

  • with

  • lines

but the parser might require a leading and/or trailing empty line, like many. I hope soon we will have a different commenting setup.

MikeTaylor Registered 6 January 2023, 11:32

Ah, I'd not come across that convention — I'm used to GitHub-flavoured Markdown. Thanks for the tip!

  • This is
  • A test of
  • A leading blank line before the whole list
  • But no blanks between entries.

And this is what comes after the list.

MikeTaylor Registered 6 January 2023, 11:34

Meanwhile, I really enjoyed Greenwood's Seti in Stone, a egyptian/alien temple with enjoyable progression and a good blend of tactical and hectic combats. Pleasant to look at, too. A very solid four stars.

MikeTaylor Registered 6 January 2023, 15:48

A quarter of the way through A Blaze in the Northern Sky (ctsj2_stickflip) I was worried that I was going to get lost, as all the areas look much the same, constructed from the same grey rock walls. But I needn't have worried. The map is so carefully constructed that the right path is always apparent despite the visual homogeneity.

The choice of which silver-key door to take first adds a nice element of replayability, and combat balance is pretty good. Early in the first sub-quest (the silver door on the right) I just ran out of ammo, and had to run past an ogre ledge to reach resupplies. That was a satisfying moment.

Apart from the unexciting (but effective) visuals, I have two other quibbles. First, the lack of secrets; and second, the lack of points where we re-emerge above an area visited earlier. This kind of verticality always helps to establish the geometry of the space the player is exploring, as well giving the inherently satisfying feeling of looking down on a familiar area from an unfamiliar perspective.

Despite these imperfections, I rate this map a solid four stars.

MikeTaylor Registered 9 January 2023, 15:16

The Satisfyer 2 : Holiday in Finland (ctsj2_zigi) is not really my cup of tea: I like to play Quake slowly and thoughtfully on the whole, with occasional frantic interludes; a map that is frantic from start to finish might be brilliant, but just won't work for me.

So I won't award a score for this one at all.

I will say this, though: I turned on notarget and lawnmowered may through the hordes of unresponding enemies in a way that required absolutely no skill at all ... and I really enjoyed it. It's not what the the map was intended for, but I guess if it's fun then that's success.

MikeTaylor Registered 9 January 2023, 16:59

I like Inner Sea Ruins (ctsj_pinchy) for its self-contained quality. I found it difficult early on, with ammo running out. But while sometimes that can be frustrating, I felt it was well judged in this map, so I was able to rescue myself by causing enough infighting to rush inside and grab some more ammo. My only real criticism is that the ending is anticlimactic: having taken out the monsters that appear on the top of the temple when you pick up the gold key, I was surprised to find nothing more than a few regular knights up there waiting for me when I took the teleporter. I think a shambler surprise would have been warranted. Anyway, this is nice. Four stars.

MikeTaylor Registered 10 January 2023, 17:18

Rotten Rivet (ctsj2_sze) is nice, linear progression through a slimy base with an aesthetic somewhere between Insomnia and Rubicon (without being as atmospheric as either). It could be argued that the repeating pattern of enter-a-room, pick-off-the-enemies, press-the-button is unimaginative, but in fact I found it pleasantly soothing. And the different layouts of those rooms meant that each stage was a distinct challenge. Very nice. Four stars.

MikeTaylor Registered 26 January 2023, 14:25

Well, I reluctantly gave up on Scvmfvck II: Fvcked Harder (ctsj2_fairweather).

It started out feeling like it was going to by my favourite map of this jam, with its lovely architecture and novel qud-based progression mechanic, and I did really enjoy the first 100 or so kills.

But then I came to the room where after you grab the quad you're dropped into a tiny circular room surrounded by insta-death lava, and get spammed by dozens of ogres, death knights and vores with no room to manoeuvre. I died over and over and over. Could I have beaten it? Maaaybe, but I wasn't having fun trying. So I god-moded through and moved on to the next section.

Where I was almost immediately confronted by a choice of two teleporters, both of which took me to equally impossible constrained combats. At that point I had to ask myself why I was putting myself through this. I considered god-moding those two sections, too, but really, what would be the point?

Worse, I realised that having been stuck in this map for so long had meant I wasn't playing any of the other CTJS2 maps, which was silly. In fact I wasn't playing any Quake, because I had somehow got it into my head that I needed to beat this one first.

I know, I know. It's my own fault. But I concluded that the best thing to do was put myself out of my own misery, and declare this map a WONTCOMPLETE. Which is a real shame, as it felt like it was going to be a five-star map.

Adrian Guest 28 January 2023, 0:41

Tried two maps running in Quake Remastered and both crashed.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in