Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of devotion
Author:Gillian Vos
Title:Devotion
Download:devotion.zip (5b00da8ccc0235fc6044dd23fbfdc636)
Filesize:2880 Kilobytes
Release date:19.10.2022
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Quake_Devotion_Readme.txt2 KB19.10.2022
devotion.bsp6344 KB19.10.2022
devotion.lit1781 KB19.10.2022
devotion.map3813 KB19.10.2022

devotion.zip

Devotion

Medium sized medieval monastery in a classic-ish style for vanilla Quake. The author's first release. Map source is included.

"Explore the monastery, cursed by the eldritch creatures. Find the keys and defeat the evil beings that haunt this ground."

Note: may require a modern engine / source port with increased limits.


Tags: medium, medieval, castle, church, monastery, id1, classic, vanilla, source, limits, graveyard, debut

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
3/5 with 10 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Greenwood Registered 3 November 2022, 6:12

A neat little debut! I did find a soft-lock issue though. Warning: a mini spoiler...

If the second Shambler at the end fails to exit his closet, because he doesn't see you, then the closet door closes pretty quickly & the exit never reveals, since both of their deaths complete a sequence. This issue is easily fixable if you put a wait of -1 on the ending monster closet doors.

All-in-all, a pleasant experience. Nice use of moveable geometry. I played it with A.D., for a little visual flourish, and it complimented it well. Found 2 out of 3 secrets (third one is an Easter egg).

Sodalimonada176 Registered 3 November 2022, 17:08

Pretty nice debut map! liked the architecture and detail in it but the combat seems a bit weak, overall it's a good map.

The_Pirate Registered 4 November 2022, 18:34

Very nice for a first!

A couple of missing/misaligned textures, but in general, very competent mapping!

...Impressive amount of script_movers for a first...

Well, i certainly hope to see more stuff from tis mapper. Thanks for the efforts, and thanks for sharing!

Solomoriah Registered 5 November 2022, 20:26

I ran into Greenwald's issue myself. Seemed a bit easy, honestly. I kind of wish the moving wall blocks were either a trap or some kind of access to a secret. Or both... both is good.

dumptruck_ds Registered 6 November 2022, 16:18

There's an issue with this map that will crash KexQuake (remaster). I've made a fix here. Not tested 100% but it does load and seems to run as expected. https://www.quaketastic.com/files/misc/devotionfixedfor_remaster.zip

CoilSnake69 Registered 8 November 2022, 7:50

Not working with kexQuake. Dumptruck_ds's link is dead. No devotion for me I guess.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in