Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of e1m1rt23
Author:RickyT23
Title:The Slipgate Massacre
Download:e1m1rt23.zip (c82907307ad4baf52ea5df02bf29ac9e)
Filesize:5401 Kilobytes
Release date:26.12.2021
Homepage:https://www.rickyt23.com
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
e1m1rt23.txt3 KB26.12.2021
id1/gfx/env/dmcwbk.tga193 KB23.12.2021
id1/gfx/env/dmcwdn.tga193 KB23.12.2021
id1/gfx/env/dmcwft.tga193 KB23.12.2021
id1/gfx/env/dmcwlf.tga193 KB23.12.2021
id1/gfx/env/dmcwrt.tga193 KB23.12.2021
id1/gfx/env/dmcwup.tga193 KB23.12.2021
id1/maps/e1m1rt23.bsp6848 KB26.12.2021
id1/maps/e1m1rt23.lit4169 KB26.12.2021

e1m1rt23.zip

The Slipgate Massacre

Remix/remake of the original E1M1 - The Slipgate Complex, but larger and more spacious, with many new and expanded areas.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: large, base, remix, remake, e1m1, limits

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
3.9/5 with 45 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








c0j Registered 1 January 2022, 15:55

is tested this before didn't i,

i really like this map a very extended e1m1, with a suprising ending i didn't knew i would have to go back to spawn to exit.

Ninja Registered 1 January 2022, 19:45

This is a piece of art, 5 star def, loads of enemies, but only problem i found was back tracking all the time, or i was doing somthing wrong lol, played on skill 3, enemy dont muck around either.

Chaser Registered 1 January 2022, 20:52

What a giant piece of a map... would have never thought, that e1m1 can be remixed into pure colosus. I had great fun, secrets were awesome.

Wildervore Guest 2 January 2022, 0:27

What a way to start the year! The word "remix" does not do this justice. This is a love letter to e1m1, a masterclass in how to map quake. The quad grunt cellar secret is a new classic. I had to rabbit run the last few shamblers at the end of the return, could've done with a nail pack or two there but otherwise flawless. Stunning. Now imagine if ALL the vanilla quake levels got this treatment!!!

fairweather Registered 2 January 2022, 1:44

Amazing build quality in service of a glorified hallway with enemies spammed along it. Encounters don't have much flow at all, the amount of times I had to turn my camera could be counted on one hand. I just wish it all had more thought put into it.

Custom Longplay Registered 2 January 2022, 11:50

I had a lot of fun with this map. You can spend a lot of time rebuilding or expanding a map and the monster count is huge. 4 stars for the idea...

I have already uploaded a video on 27.12.2021 on my channel.

The Slipgate Massacre

MasterMedi Registered 4 January 2022, 3:26

Yo, first review here. Ended with 380/380 Kills and 13/15 secrets on Nightmare (Skill 3) in 32:12.

Overall I had amazing fun with it, the map in its core it's an E1M1 remak,e however it's ramped up by 100 which makes it more fun, exploration is highly rewarded and if you know E1M1 secrets you can kinda figure it out where some of the are.

A solid 4.5/5 minor nitpicks with regarding geometry but that's about it.

Very good shit brother

The_Pirate Registered 5 January 2022, 18:33

I can't really call this a 'remix' - the changes are really too extensive. The hand of an experienced mapper clearly shows.

Well done. New map in classic style. Quite nice balance between fights and secret-hunting. Solid brushwork.

Do i like this or the original best? Hard to say. But this one does have a lot better texture alignment... :)

RickyT23, thanks for your effort!

....I gotta find those last two secrets. There goes the night again...

whatisquake Registered 7 January 2022, 4:10

Good idea executed well - it was fun to feel like I kinda knew where to go but not exactly. I wish there was a little more monster variety. The ladders were clever.

Vasya shkolnik Guest 7 January 2022, 13:36

Last part of map is very hard, sometimes I used to use the last bullet in last weapon

Cpt.Gonzo Registered 9 January 2022, 18:33

Enjoyed the map very much. The Backtracking part was not so much my cup of tea and i ran out of ammo with spare health lying arround everywhere. That was a little bit anoying. Finished with 270 of 380 kills. That felt strange.

Thank you very much.

Johnny Law Registered 13 January 2022, 1:18

I'm a sucker for remixes, and this was a nice surprise. A (mostly successful) stab at making a familiar introductory level feel more like an epic finale.

On skill 2 there were some very nice opportunities to fight big groups of mixed enemies, with a few fun target-priority puzzles in the mix. A couple of nasty shambler placements too! Like some of the above commenters, I did run out of ammo eventually, in my case right before the last 2 shammies so I just had to run past them.

I probably only found about 6 of the secrets.

The middle section of the map was IMO a bit too much scaled-up, and a bit too dark. I think the general idea of making this part of the trip feel like a fight through a mysterious vast space was good, but wasn't quite nailed.

The journey back to start was interesting. There were at least a couple of times where I went down a path which seemed like surely it must be a kind-of-hidden side path or even a secret, but it turned out to be part of the necessary route. Unless I really missed something! Odd, but cool.

Gioyo3aa Registered 29 January 2022, 9:07

c0j: please avoid spoilers next time.

It's been a long while since RickyT23's last map, and I'm very glad to have a new stand-alone release from the author of "The Hand That Feeds You", "Three Towers And A Sick Base" and "Quarantine" (to name but a few). This remix is a great take on the classic map, moderately hard although light on health packs and ammunition for the "second part" of the map.

I've only found 10 secrets so far, it'll be a pleasure to revisit the map later to find the rest.

rchavp Registered 29 January 2022, 23:00

Super fun and clever gameplay. Love it!!

anon Guest 6 February 2022, 13:09

Great work. e1m1 done, e1m2 and all others to go!

zaratzara Guest 8 February 2022, 23:28

Brilliant map, a great tribute to E1M1 which captures the feel of Quake while making use of greater scale. It eschews the propensity for hyper-detailed geometry which seems to have become de rigueur in the idea of 'expanded' Quake since Arcane Dimensions.

I have a curious streak which led me to savescummy explore every nook and cranny as they appeared: my advice to readers is to try and dampen that impulse and do the straightforward thing first, save your exploratory instinct for subsequent playthroughs. There is a narrative structure to the level which is undermined by excessive curiosity in the first instance ;P

I faced a strange issue when playing this with Kex & QSS: all vertical geometry movement (lifts etc) moved in the wrong direction. I was able to avoid this running vkQuake.

MikeTaylor Registered 24 May 2022, 18:56

why tho?

I am big fan of RickyT23 (see my reviews of his other maps), and this one is perfectly OK (though with a lot of empty or underpopulated space). But why does it need to exist? Doesn't the world have enough E1M1 remixes yet? Remix something else!

Alex Ros Registered 19 June 2022, 0:04

To be honest if u would not say it's a remix I would not even notice it has some similarities with e1m1. It feels more like a tribute. The map itself is soo big and self-contained that it's not remix anymore. 10 out of 5

JMP Registered 5 July 2022, 19:19

I really enjoyed this. Since E1M1 is so short and linear, I was skeptical that it could be remixed as an enormous map, but this does it well. While the layout is straightforward, the secrets add some non-linearity, and there are changes in tempo and atmosphere that keep the gameplay interesting. In particular, I like the falling platform and the combat that occurs while player rides it down, which is a departure from the more run-and-gun combat earlier in the map. The lighting in the map's lower levels makes them really atmospheric, and what happens when the player reaches the slipgate is a clever plot twist.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in