Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of gor1
Author:Potsy aka (Jim Hughes)
Title:Gods of Rapture
Download:gor1.zip (bf941e88e33a91655534017a3ad02e69)
Filesize:858 Kilobytes
Release date:08.09.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'serc's QualityTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
GOR1F.BSP1873 KB08.09.1997
GOR1.TXT2 KB08.09.1997

gor1.zip

Gods of Rapture

Medium to large Wizard map. OK.

Tags: medium, wizard

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.5/5 with 12 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Drew, rated this a 3 8 August 2012, 21:55
Slightly above average. Larger than the monster count might initially suggest. Worth a play for some generally well thought out situations. Is quite easy for a while, but then ramps up a bit near the end. Architecture is nothing amazing but the flow itself is pretty nice.
JMP Registered, rated this a 4 26 January 2018, 17:41

The lighting is generally poor and the textures are undetailed and repetitive: it's mostly a handful of green rock textures along with the incongruous use of blue metal inside some of the buildings. Progression is linear and combat is a grind with a few id-style ambushes thrown in. Nothing here is overtly bad, and it's respectable for a first-time 1997 map, but I found it fairly bland and doubt I'll play it again. Sorry!

ubiquitous Registered, rated this a 4 1 October 2018, 18:47

I quite enjoyed this map. It has the definite feel of an original I'd map, with some interesting twists and turns in the first half. I felt the end was a bit weaker though, and one definitely gets the sense that the author was running out of ideas. Better than many maps of the era.

Greenwood Registered, rated this a 4 3 March 2020, 7:23

Definitely above average, especially for 1997. Not as impressive as his All Black Within, but very entertaining.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 16 April 2021, 2:32

My earlier comment was unfair. After playing many more 1990s maps, and learning how basic and difficult to use 90s map editors were, I realize that this is actually very good for its time. It's not quite at the level of Mr. Hughes's later map, All Black Within, but it's definitely one of the better maps of 1997 and quite good for a debut effort.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in