Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of hrim_sp1
Author:Hrimfaxi
Title:Frying obstacles
Download:hrim_sp1.zip (d6272d3e1de8eb6461e910c6e49b5257)
Filesize:3722 Kilobytes
Release date:11.04.2003
Homepage:http://www.hrimfaxi.dk
Additional Links: Underworldfan's
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
Hrim_sp1.txt8 KB10.04.2003
pak0.pak8541 KB11.04.2003

hrim_sp1.zip - Frying obstacles

Large Metal fortress with a dragon boss fight and a few other custom progs.

Tags: large, metal, runic, monsters, dragon

Editor's Rating: Excellent
User Rating: 3.1/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
JohnNy_cz 3 January 2012, 23:11
Really didn't like this map, too claustrophobic and at one point I didn't even know how to finish it, which happens REALLY rarely to me. Might be some random bug tho.
hkBattousai, rated this a 1 6 May 2012, 11:09
A very irritating map. That "shoot to form the bridge" part was too ridiculous. Reservoir dogs mode is disabled. Secrets are impossible to find. This map made me feel real bad.
Qmaster Registered, rated this a 3 6 March 2013, 0:14
Secrets were insanely hard...alternate ending was a good idea though. The overall map was rather poorly constructed. Definitely a first release.
MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 13 June 2014, 16:48

These comments seem very harsh to me. There's a lot to like about this map, although it's true that it's very difficult. even on medium. The final fight with the dragon just felt like a test of endurance and luck.

I had to cheat twice to finish: both times in the lava-pit hall. First time when the bridge came up out of the lava, but wasn't where it appeared to be. I got bored of trying to jump on the invisible area and flew across instead. Then immediately after then, I just couldn't figure out how to get across at all, so I flew again. khBattousai (above) says something about "shoot to form the bridge" -- how is that supposed to work?

Qmaster, what is the alternate ending?

I was only able to find one secret -- the one where you drop down onto a narrow ledge at the far right end of the chamber with the E1M2-like walkway over a canal of lava. Where are the others? How can I fall down to the red armour below the final fighting area without being summarily killed?

Hrimfaxi Registered 14 June 2014, 18:17

Thanks Mike! This was my first release beside a turtlemap and it has some problems today. I think the raising platform that isen't where it should be. Is because it has been given an angel when I build the map.(don't know why!) This behaviour only shows in newer engines after Fitz .85 I think it was.

You can see the secrets of the map here:

www.hrimfaxi.dk/sec/sec/secretshr1.htm

dBAudio Registered, rated this a 4 12 August 2014, 11:33

it was cramped , but the architecture was nice. i figured out the shoot buttons for bridge part after about 25 shells. tough on skill 1. lots of saving & loading. still enjoyable to me.

the secrets i missed are the sarcophagus and the four skulls. thanks for posting your secret list. i'm going back in to try the alternate ending!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in