Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of ion03
Author:Ionous
Title:Fhtagn-Nagh
Download:ion03.zip (231242e3017e6cb32edfbc6aea3291ff)
Filesize:33489 Kilobytes
Release date:13.12.2022
Homepage:
Additional Links: Slipseer page
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:copper_v1_20

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
gfx/env/rlyeh_bk.tga524 KB18.02.2003
gfx/env/rlyeh_dn.tga769 KB18.02.2003
gfx/env/rlyeh_ft.tga539 KB18.02.2003
gfx/env/rlyeh_lf.tga517 KB18.02.2003
gfx/env/rlyeh_rt.tga523 KB18.02.2003
gfx/env/rlyeh_up.tga255 KB18.02.2003
ion03.txt9 KB06.12.2022
maps/ion03.bsp16119 KB17.11.2022
maps/ion03.lit16496 KB17.11.2022
music/track206.mp324414 KB05.12.2022
source/ion03.map5374 KB17.11.2022

ion03.zip

Fhtagn-Nagh

Large tower temple map "built entirely on the 64-unit grid. A brushwork experiment taken to strange extremes."

Requires Copper v1.20+ (NOT included). Custom music by Pantheist; map source is included.

"I originally started this map for the 194 speedmapping event, BigMcGee, an attempt to make a map entirely on the 64 unit grid. Being me, this turned into an attempt to make curved structures on the 64 unit grid, which required vast upscales of size. With architecture that dwarfed the player, it lent itself to the feel of R'lyeh, the fabled city of Lovecraft lore. The custom textures Sock built, inspired by The Castle of Koohoo, fit nicely.

[...] I had planned all sorts of lore to explain the foreign language bits (secret hints), but am rather burnt out. There are many issues with this map, ways it could be improved...but I've got too much other stuff on my plate. Between trying to finish my Wrath responsibilities and Tremor, I can't spend any more time on this. Sorry it's not better..."


Note: requires a modern engine / source port with increased limits and BSP support. "This map should work without issue in Ironwail and VKQuake. Quakespasm will work fine, though playing with gl_farclip set to over 20k is needed to avoid long-distance greyflash."


Tags: large, temple, tower, ruins, koohoo, copper, bsp2, source, limits

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
4/5 with 26 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








The_Pirate Registered 23 December 2022, 12:56

This is marvellous!

Clearly an 'Old Hand' at work. The author complains about "...many issues..." which i -so far - can't find. I'll take his 'issues' over some other peoples 'mapping' at any time...

Considering this to be a runaway experiment, this map is really great. The only problem i had: it is absolutely necessary to upgrade Copper to ver. 1.20 - that is fixed with a short visit to http://www.lunaran.com/copper/download/

This is great.

Ionous, thanks for your experiment, thanks for sharing!

Ninja Registered 23 December 2022, 15:03

Played on skill 3, i think im doing somthing wrong, finished map, but only says killed 430/815.I found 13 of 21 secrets, but where the hell are the other 400 so not killed ?

Vasya shkolnik Guest 23 December 2022, 15:29

Nice map! Only 434|815 kills, 6|21 secrets. I found 3 goled key doors, but no goled keys. Could soeone record a foull-walkthrough demo?

The_Pirate Registered 24 December 2022, 10:09

@Ninja : Find secrets - open the golden doors.

This is true greatness.

Dancing Zombie Guest 28 December 2022, 1:33

Anyone know the install/command to get this running? Tried all the usual locations and commands in different combinations (placing the map directory in various places), can't find the map. It's a peeve of mine when people take such time and care to create a map and then forget or don't put the install/run details. Have copper 1.20, yes...

Thanks in advance.

Random Quaker Guest 28 December 2022, 15:08

Ionous is a solid mapper and I love long Quake maps, so I had high expectations with this one.

I think it's a super cool map. It took me about 45mn to simply finish + one hour to more or less 100%.

The map is very atmospheric, not too big (while still being huge), secrets are pretty well hidden, but there are hints so not too cryptic either, which is good.

Combat-wise, fun at first but can become a bit repetitive/grindy after a while, albeit it is expected in long Quake maps like this.

All in all, an awesome, well-designed map - 4.5/5! :)

Jehannum Registered 31 December 2022, 21:07

This was an epic gibfest to be sure! Played on skill 2 and ended up with 17/21 and 764/815, so I need to go back and do some cleanup ;)

Totally enjoyable, although I got off the track a couple of times, but that's the fun of playing a huge, non-linear map like this one.

I certainly enjoyed the music. Very atmospheric and perfect for this map.

Thank you for the hard work and for sharing with us!

dumptruck_ds Registered 1 January 2023, 9:32

What a fantastic map - no big surprise from Ionous. I need to play it again as I'd like to get to the other tower and find at least 50% secrets!

The Poughkeepsie Pelcher Registered 3 January 2023, 18:45

An overscaled mess of a map that somehow manages the rare distinction of making Quake's combat feel about as interesting as a data entry job at a drywall manufacturing company, or perhaps something that approaches the thrills of putting out the garbage when you live on the top floor of a high-rise flat.

I never want to see another fucking scrag again for as long as I live.

Alex Ros Registered 4 January 2023, 20:18

When they say "eldritch" or "lovecraftian" I imagine environments like that. Unwelcome. Hostile. And gargantuan in proportions, when you feel small & even smaller. Well it's not the best Ionous map (Magna, Aspera & Roba are my personal favourites), but it's definetly a must-play. Secrets make it unique - actually unique Ionous style when the most interesting parts of a map are hidden in secret. Also I'd say it could benefit if mr. Noel Lacaillade could use this 64u version as 1 stage and next add nice detailing & some other "farts & whistles" - it's a lilbit unfinished visually THANKS and kudos to Ionous

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in