Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of jjj2
Author:Greenwood, DragonsForLunch, Eduardo Sánchez Barrios, GW_X9, Mazu, Ish, Juzley, Konig, Magnetbox, Omni, Paul Lawitzki, Quasiotter, Shadesmaster, Wiedo
Title:January Jump Jam 2
Download:jjj2.zip (4855ff56fd1544e2aa19156a92bdb688)
Filesize:189677 Kilobytes
Release date:24.01.2022
Homepage:https://alkalinequake.wordpress.com/
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard thread
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
jjj2/JJJ2_POSTER.jpg539 KB22.01.2022
jjj2/JJJ2_READ_ME.txt3 KB22.01.2022
jjj2/docs/jjj2_dfl.txt1 KB10.01.2022
jjj2/docs/jjj2_eduardo.txt2 KB01.01.2022
jjj2/docs/jjj2_eduardo2.txt2 KB09.01.2022
jjj2/docs/jjj2_greenwood.txt2 KB22.01.2022
jjj2/docs/jjj2_gw_x9.txt3 KB15.01.2022
jjj2/docs/jjj2_hcm.txt3 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/docs/jjj2_ish.txt4 KB16.01.2022
jjj2/docs/jjj2_juzley.txt2 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/docs/jjj2_konig.txt2 KB16.01.2022
jjj2/docs/jjj2_magnetbox.txt13 KB15.01.2022
jjj2/docs/jjj2_omni.txt1 KB22.01.2022
jjj2/docs/jjj2_plaw.txt3 KB26.12.2021
jjj2/docs/jjj2_quasiotter.txt3 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/docs/jjj2_shadesmaster.txt2 KB18.01.2022
jjj2/docs/jjj2_wiedo.txt3 KB18.01.2022
jjj2/gfx/env/abrut1_bk.tga3073 KB15.11.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/abrut1_dn.tga3073 KB15.11.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/abrut1_ft.tga2165 KB15.11.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/abrut1_lf.tga3073 KB15.11.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/abrut1_rt.tga3073 KB15.11.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/abrut1_up.tga3073 KB15.11.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/ish/mak_galaxy2_bk.tga3073 KB02.07.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/ish/mak_galaxy2_dn.tga3073 KB02.07.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/ish/mak_galaxy2_ft.tga3073 KB02.07.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/ish/mak_galaxy2_lf.tga3073 KB02.07.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/ish/mak_galaxy2_rt.tga3073 KB02.07.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/ish/mak_galaxy2_up.tga3073 KB02.07.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/jjj2_juzley_bk.tga1064 KB16.01.2022
jjj2/gfx/env/jjj2_juzley_dn.tga1449 KB16.01.2022
jjj2/gfx/env/jjj2_juzley_ft.tga1461 KB16.01.2022
jjj2/gfx/env/jjj2_juzley_lf.tga1450 KB16.01.2022
jjj2/gfx/env/jjj2_juzley_rt.tga1103 KB16.01.2022
jjj2/gfx/env/jjj2_juzley_up.tga1208 KB16.01.2022
jjj2/gfx/env/mak_blackholesky_bk.tga3073 KB02.07.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/mak_blackholesky_dn.tga3073 KB02.07.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/mak_blackholesky_ft.tga3073 KB02.07.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/mak_blackholesky_lf.tga3073 KB02.07.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/mak_blackholesky_rt.tga3073 KB02.07.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/mak_blackholesky_up.tga3073 KB02.07.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/med-tramonto_bk.tga626 KB13.02.2003
jjj2/gfx/env/med-tramonto_dn.tga765 KB13.02.2003
jjj2/gfx/env/med-tramonto_ft.tga695 KB12.02.2003
jjj2/gfx/env/med-tramonto_lf.tga686 KB13.02.2003
jjj2/gfx/env/med-tramonto_rt.tga705 KB13.02.2003
jjj2/gfx/env/med-tramonto_up.tga635 KB13.02.2003
jjj2/gfx/env/mge4m2_bk.tga769 KB11.10.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/mge4m2_dn.tga769 KB11.10.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/mge4m2_ft.tga769 KB11.10.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/mge4m2_lf.tga769 KB11.10.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/mge4m2_rt.tga769 KB11.10.2021
jjj2/gfx/env/mge4m2_up.tga769 KB11.10.2021
jjj2/maps/jjj2_dfl.bsp8912 KB15.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_dfl.lit2897 KB15.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_eduardo.bsp2290 KB02.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_eduardo.lit810 KB02.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_eduardo2.bsp1208 KB08.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_eduardo2.lit418 KB08.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_greenwood.bsp4857 KB22.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_greenwood.lit2153 KB22.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_gw_x9.bsp15688 KB15.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_gw_x9.lit6666 KB15.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_hcm.bsp5964 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_hcm.lit2788 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_ish.bsp19342 KB14.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_ish.lit505 KB14.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_ish2.bsp55175 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_ish2.lit3648 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_juzley.bsp8304 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_juzley.lit3236 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_konig.bsp17940 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_konig.lit1780 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_magnetbox.bsp2613 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_omni.bsp13785 KB22.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_omni.lit3426 KB22.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_plaw.bsp7468 KB26.12.2021
jjj2/maps/jjj2_plaw.lit1876 KB26.12.2021
jjj2/maps/jjj2_quasiotter.bsp1053 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_quasiotter.lit462 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_shades.bsp1572 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_shades.lit422 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/maps/jjj2_wiedo.bsp372 KB13.01.2022
jjj2/maps/start.bsp3419 KB22.01.2022
jjj2/maps/start.lit625 KB22.01.2022
jjj2/music/track03.mp33257 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track105.mp3499 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track106.mp32430 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track111.mp35043 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track115.mp32032 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track14.mp36145 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track158.mp33941 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track17.mp37158 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track222.mp35639 KB22.01.2022
jjj2/music/track235.mp34909 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track64.mp34190 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track69.mp31620 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track70.mp33263 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track82.mp31413 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track88.mp39846 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track91.mp311719 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/music/track94.mp32557 KB21.01.2022
jjj2/pak0.pak26096 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/pak1.pak1008 KB22.01.2022
jjj2/progs/alkaline_logo_spin.mdl72 KB02.09.2021
jjj2/progs/c4key.bsp121 KB04.01.2022
jjj2/progs/ish/powercore.mdl60 KB05.12.2021
jjj2/progs/jjj2_juzley/17mfromitz.mdl7 KB13.01.2022
jjj2/progs/misc_braztall.mdl284 KB06.01.2022
jjj2/progs/misc_cables.mdl424 KB19.09.2017
jjj2/progs/misc_deadplayer.mdl550 KB06.05.2017
jjj2/progs/misc_flame_big.mdl240 KB14.11.2017
jjj2/progs/misc_flame_med.mdl172 KB12.05.2018
jjj2/progs/misc_gen3.mdl462 KB19.09.2017
jjj2/progs/misc_hangman.mdl95 KB06.08.2019
jjj2/progs/misc_heating.mdl239 KB19.09.2017
jjj2/progs/misc_pallet.mdl498 KB19.09.2017
jjj2/progs/misc_player_legs.mdl76 KB25.03.2016
jjj2/progs/misc_seaweed.mdl16 KB09.01.2016
jjj2/progs/misc_seaweed2.mdl94 KB04.10.2016
jjj2/progs/splashes.spr5 KB02.01.2022
jjj2/sound/ambient/arcohum1.wav20 KB29.01.2021
jjj2/sound/ambient/arhum1.wav21 KB29.01.2021
jjj2/sound/ambient/drone.wav31 KB12.02.2021
jjj2/sound/ambient/dronehum2.wav180 KB18.05.2021
jjj2/sound/ambient/dronesewer1.wav338 KB18.01.2020
jjj2/sound/ambient/hum02.wav37 KB12.02.2021
jjj2/sound/ambient/machine_loop2.wav70 KB25.05.2021
jjj2/sound/ambient/motor1.wav52 KB12.02.2021
jjj2/sound/ish/cb.wav4307 KB09.01.2022
jjj2/sound/ish/p0c-pkup.wav262 KB03.01.2022
jjj2/sound/ish/timer-12.wav1207 KB05.01.2022
jjj2/sound/ish/timer-18.wav1723 KB06.01.2022
jjj2/sound/ish/timer-24.wav2133 KB06.01.2022
jjj2/sound/ish/timer-30.wav2624 KB06.01.2022
jjj2/sound/jjj2_juzley/fromitz.wav151 KB13.01.2022
jjj2/sound/jjj2_juzley/rumbleoff.wav104 KB14.01.2022
jjj2/sound/mgntbx/pulse4.wav24 KB30.12.2021
jjj2/sound/mgntbx/pulse5.wav25 KB30.12.2021
jjj2/sound/mgntbx/reactor1.wav23 KB30.12.2021
jjj2/sound/mgntbx/reactor2.wav23 KB30.12.2021
jjj2/src/jjj22_dfl.map13613 KB15.01.2022
jjj2/src/jjj2_eduardo.map592 KB02.01.2022
jjj2/src/jjj2_gw_x9.map10077 KB15.01.2022
jjj2/src/jjj2_hcm.map5186 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/src/jjj2_ish1.map533 KB14.01.2022
jjj2/src/jjj2_ish2.map3583 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/src/jjj2_konig.map3814 KB16.01.2022
jjj2/src/jjj2_konig2.map6897 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/src/jjj2_magnetbox.map1616 KB15.01.2022
jjj2/src/jjj2_omni.map4338 KB22.01.2022
jjj2/src/jjj2_plaw.map4617 KB26.12.2021
jjj2/src/jjj2_quasiotter.map687 KB17.01.2022
jjj2/src/jjj2_wiedo.map196 KB13.01.2022

jjj2.zip

January Jump Jam 2

JJJ2 is a map jam pack made of 15 acrobatic maps, built with base-themed Alkaline mod kit (included in download) which adds a "jump boots" powerup for mid-air jumps.

Some of the maps are quite difficult. Expect floating platforms, bottomless pits, and void maps.

Includes start map, built-in difficulty select, YouTube-safe custom soundtrack, and map source.

Note: This mod requires a source port with increased limits.

See also: Alkaline 1.1, January Jump Jam 2020.


Tags: base, alkaline, source, limits, jump, skybox, exploration, textures, jump boots, hard, puzzles

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 20 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
No One Guest 21 February 2022, 0:09

Can this be played with Copper Quake?

fairweather Registered 21 February 2022, 11:42

No, mods in Quake are exclusive and cannot be stacked. This is already using the Alkaline mod for jump boots.

Alex Ros Registered 21 February 2022, 16:56

One of the best jams available ever since. I don't know why but I am in the mood for longer maps and this particular jam offers A LOT of such. DragonsForLunch 30 mins / Greenwood 30 mins / Omni 30 mins / Ish 60 mins / GW_X9 60 mins / Mazu 75 mins / Juzley 90 mins. My personal favs are Mazu's, Juzley's & DragonsForLunch's. Subjectively! All in all this jam goes for 5000 out of 5. Really cool one. Recommended to all

No One Guest 21 February 2022, 18:09

Crap, I don't think I can play anything without Copper anymore. Bummer.

Gioyo3aa Registered 22 February 2022, 11:39

I only played Mazu's map so far, thrilling as expected. It is way more reasonable than his SMEJ Jam monstrosity. Secrets are claimed to be mandatory in Hard / Nightmare, but I only found 15/37 of them and I'm about a hundred kills short, so I expect large hidden areas remain to be found.

It's nice to read that this jam features many large maps, I'll get to them following Alex Ros' suggestions.

Vasya shkolnik Guest 22 February 2022, 23:28

Ish skill selection map looks incomplete - after high lift there is a strfnge ledge without anything. And there is a very high jump to skill3 terminal. Looks like there must be second boots after lift?

Gioyo3aa Registered 23 February 2022, 15:08

Juzley's map is brilliant. But I can't find that damn 50th board...

Johnny Law Registered 12 March 2022, 19:42

Some maps in here that I love, some that I don't get on with at all, some that are nice little debuts.

I'll just post a few comments about some of my favorites as I go through... this doesn't imply that I'm necessarily "subtweeting" all the ones I don't mention as being bad. :-)

I think DragonForLunch's map was the first I played. It strongly reminded me how much Alkaline can be used to create a great coherent atmosphere that is a blend of the best bits of Quake and Quake 2. A solid chunky basemap construction with well-considered touches of color.

I loved the progression in this one, the music, the use of NPCs... and DFL shows a good feel for just how to best use the boots for some mild platforming challenges, combat variety, and exploration. It sets a pretty high bar for the rest of the pack!

Johnny Law Registered 12 March 2022, 19:54

I got stuck on GW_X9's map pretty early. A hint from Greenwood got me moving again -- it required a "precision" jumpy thing which I would characterize more as a barely-functional janky move... hmmm. Turns out it was not the last instance of progress being blocked like that.

But after finishing the map I'd say it's fantastic in a lot of ways. I loved the feeling of mastering the place, and there's good pacing with alternation of exploration and frantic fights. Neat tableaus and setpieces too.

I think it suffers from being a jam map in a few ways:

  • Some of the progress-blockers need more polish and playtesting. In some cases even just better lighting would help see what to do. But I think it's a particular issue when you have to do a kinda janky barely-successful thing to progress: first it can be difficult to tell if that's actually the intended way, and then if it turns out to work you start thinking that you should try other janky moves in the future -- which can cause frustration when 90% of those turn out to be not the thing needed.

  • The experience on this map really benefits from a certain patient mindset to poke at and revisit everything. When you're in the middle of rampaging through a bunch of jam maps it can be hard to "put on the brakes" to do that.

  • The last fight on skill 2 was just packed too full of big baddies. The only strategy that presents itself IMO is to cheese it with some hiding/sniping, so I did, but that didn't feel great for the climax of the map.

But it's impressive that this map was cranked out so quickly. And is this a debut map too? I'd love to see what GW_X9 could do with a non-jam-map project.

Johnny Law Registered 12 March 2022, 19:58

Juzley's grand collect-a-thon is a trip. Great execution of a scavenger hunt: interesting areas to uncover, good player-leading, just enough backtracking on getting new jump-boot levels. Something like this could easily have been an aimless and frustrating exercise in re-rinsing previously visited areas, but (for me) it wasn't! It all flowed very nicely.

The pickup messages for the macguffins are some perfect low-key comedy writing too.

I admit I didn't choose to go look for the last 5 boards I was missing to unlock the last bonus/secret thingy, but that's fine. :-)

Johnny Law Registered 21 March 2022, 22:21

Great execution of a Giger-esque theme from Omni. Seems like it could be difficult to make a map like this be readable and navigable, but Omni mostly pulls it off. Nice use of escalation in jumpboot levels too.

Paul Lawitzki's series of jump challenges was a neat thing to have in the pack! I did this on skill 2 BTW although I don't know if that affected the challenges. Lots of fail-and-instantly-restart-while-gradually-getting-better fun. (The setups and signage reminded me a little of the movement tutorial challenges in Quake Live.)

Mateyy Registered 27 March 2022, 17:00

Love the alkaline mod, and some super great maps here as well. However since I'm not big on platforming, some of these maps that rely heavily on it like yellow line, the shadow and the flame or ternate sufferance have been quite frustrating. I like to kill monsters, find secrets and get a flow going, but if you like jumping around, this is the pack for you for sure! Favorite by far, early bird, 2nd favorite murder ball. Use more scuba divers guys, they're fun :)

rchavp Registered 18 April 2022, 3:47

Too much platforming and some maps, like Toxic Point, are under balanced when it comes to ammo in hard skill. This makes some of the maps feel not Quake like but more like TombRaider like.

Don't get me wrong, the deign and architecture of these levels is superb, but like I said, so much platforming and lack of ammo rendered some of these not that fun to play. As a Quake enthusiast that is.

ludicrous Registered 7 May 2022, 19:06

Is it really possible to make the jump at the beginning of jjj2_plaw with the three jump boots findable until then ? or is it another way ? I can't make the jump. Cheers! ludicrous

ludicrous Registered 14 May 2022, 12:29

Maybe I'll play jjj2_juzley again this weekend. For me the best of all these maps. But: was anyone here able to locate Fromitz 50? Cheers! ludicrous

Gioyo3aa Registered 14 May 2022, 14:30

ludicrous: yes, I was finally able to do it. Unfortunately it's hard to explain where to find all the boards. It was a fun surprise, but I wouldn't recommend spending too much time on it. You are not going to find yourself in some brand new huge area to explore as I had hoped.

ludicrous Registered 14 May 2022, 19:36

Thank You, Gioyo3aa. But: that's it, with these secrets. The way is the goal ;-) I played the map again, until I got the double jump boots. But it's the same as before: I can't make a rule with these little round floating structures in the outer area. Not possible to get the second pair of jump boots, the one that's farther away ... I think it's a matter of time I spend. Cheers! ludicrous

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in