Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of lb_fall
Author:raven33 / Lilybug33
Title:Dare to Dream
Download:lb_fall.zip (13412dbb831ed2ee2ad42e928a0ebf36)
Filesize:13365 Kilobytes
Release date:25.06.2022
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
lb_fall01Hard17m47sEsrael9992022-07-24
Blind hard run, one demo for each map, 100 %, commentary

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
lb_fall/gfx/env/mak_nebularteal_bk.tga3073 KB14.05.2022
lb_fall/gfx/env/mak_nebularteal_dn.tga3073 KB14.05.2022
lb_fall/gfx/env/mak_nebularteal_ft.tga3073 KB14.05.2022
lb_fall/gfx/env/mak_nebularteal_lf.tga3073 KB14.05.2022
lb_fall/gfx/env/mak_nebularteal_rt.tga3073 KB14.05.2022
lb_fall/gfx/env/mak_nebularteal_up.tga3073 KB14.05.2022
lb_fall/gfx/env/stratosphere_bk.tga370 KB14.05.2022
lb_fall/gfx/env/stratosphere_dn.tga765 KB14.05.2022
lb_fall/gfx/env/stratosphere_ft.tga558 KB14.05.2022
lb_fall/gfx/env/stratosphere_lf.tga399 KB14.05.2022
lb_fall/gfx/env/stratosphere_rt.tga402 KB14.05.2022
lb_fall/gfx/env/stratosphere_up.tga368 KB14.05.2022
lb_fall/lb_README.txt2 KB25.06.2022
lb_fall/maps/lb_fall01.bsp2269 KB25.06.2022
lb_fall/maps/lb_fall01.lit422 KB25.06.2022
lb_fall/maps/lb_fall01.map828 KB25.06.2022
lb_fall/maps/lb_fall02.bsp3266 KB25.06.2022
lb_fall/maps/lb_fall02.lit1260 KB25.06.2022
lb_fall/maps/lb_fall02.map1493 KB25.06.2022
lb_fall/music/track33.mp31661 KB14.05.2022
lb_fall/music/track34.mp32456 KB15.06.2022

lb_fall.zip

Dare to Dream

Two small maps, a classic-style base themed intro and a castle themed conclusion. Uses custom music by Angryfrogs, custom skyboxes by Makkon / Sock, and some id1 and mg1 textures.

No custom start map or difficulty select is included, so use the console to load ("map lb_fall01") and configure (e.g. "skill 0" is Easy).

Note: map source files are included.


Tags: small, base, castle, medieval, id1, mg1, source, water, chapel, skybox, music

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
3.7/5 with 30 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








ostx Registered 1 July 2022, 12:21

Short but sweet. I liked both designs. In the first map if you jump from the big crate where you shoot the button down behind the two smaller crates, you'll get stuck. Had to use noclip to get out of it.

The_Pirate Registered 1 July 2022, 17:17

Very nice!

Especially the second map brings memories of the original ID castle maps. But both are well-designed, competent brushwork with lights and local sounds used to good effect. The rather understated music underlines the mood nicely.

Small maps, but they don't feel easy - nor too short! My compliments!

I hope to see more from this mapper. Thanks for sharing!

EddWardG Registered 1 July 2022, 18:57

Really enjoyed the first map :)

Vasya shkolnik Guest 2 July 2022, 16:24

Very beautiful skybox

Jehannum Registered 3 July 2022, 23:05

Very nice and enjoyable mini-episode.

Definitely want to see more from this author! Thank you for sharing with us.

Cpt.Gonzo Registered 4 July 2022, 18:32

Enjoyed both maps very much. Found them a little easy on skill 2. Loved the music of the second map. Thank you very much.

Mistawright Registered 5 July 2022, 0:14

What do the .lit files do?

And do I put them into maps/Lits or just maps?

RickyT23 Registered 9 July 2022, 2:05

Mistawright in maps with the bsp - in an engine that supports it, it will enable coloured lighting

j_jam Registered 10 July 2022, 4:33

It's a great maps! Small but Stacked. Every room is interesting and going from a Base to a courtyard lookin area is great in map 1. The second map was great as well and the visuals at the end of the it (that portal to nowhere and its cracked walkway) really stuck with me!

The music really tied it all together as well

Mistawright Registered 10 July 2022, 20:29

RickyT23 tysm bro (or sis)

Esrael Registered 24 July 2022, 9:21

Quite an enjoyable little map pack. Aside from a couple of misaligned textures I spotted, the aesthetics are proficient in terms of brushwork, texturing and lighting, quite id-like. Enjoyable spaces to explore, overall. If I'd have to choose between the two levels, I think the first one would have to take the cake. I like the moody lighting and the fairly intricate brushwork. I also preferred the music track of the first level. The second track was also nice, but the cheap midi-sounding brass instrument was a little bit distracting.

In terms of gameplay it was alright but could've used some more balancing. I played on hard, and it was rather easy. It was quite trivial for the player to retreat from an ambush and then take out the monsters one by one. Some care could've been taken to push/pull the player into the fight. And even if I had decided to stay in the middle of the arenas, the opposition was on the lighter side, especially considering the equipment I was given. For hard difficulty at least, I think all the yellow armors could've easily been replaced with green armor, for example.

Besides the combat balancing, there were a couple of issues with monsters telefragging each other, and on one secret it looks like it's possible to grab the item without triggering the secret. Other than that, I didn't spot any technical issues.

All in all, a pretty solid map pack, and with both architecture and gameplay weighed together, I think I'd rate it somewhere between 3,5 and 3,75. I'd definitely like to see more from the author.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in