Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of markiesm1v2
Author:Markie
Title:Slip Tripping
Download:markiesm1v2.zip (e5ea3628ff87207cd96036c7920baa79)
Filesize:1696 Kilobytes
Release date:02.04.2022
Homepage:https://www.youtube.com/c/markiemusic
Additional Links: Quaketastic download mirrorFunc_msgboard thread
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
completeNightmare0h04m46sArcaneFiend6662022-05-05
Full completion of the map.

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
markiesm1.bsp4107 KB02.04.2022
markiesm1.map2459 KB02.04.2022
markiesm1.txt2 KB02.04.2022

markiesm1v2.zip

Slip Tripping

Retro style speedmap about dimension traversal for vanilla Quake. This is v2, which fixes a softlock in the original version. Map source is included.

"The plot of the map has you jumping back and forth between tech base and medieval lovecraft!"


Tags: base, tech, medieval, wizard, slipgate, speedmap, retro, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
4.7/5 with 40 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Alex Ros Registered 4 April 2022, 2:42

Very cool map. Loved e1m1 secret allusion - start from inside of that secret. Loved your own secrets and it was a pleasure to find them all. Especially loved medieval windy area, how it all interconnectes and all those floors-levels. Especially loved how medieval area ended right where it started, I didn't expect that - it was wow-effect for sure. All in all I loved everything and I just wanted more. THANKS

Alex Ros Registered 4 April 2022, 2:42

Very cool map. Loved e1m1 secret allusion - start from inside of that secret. Loved your own secrets and it was a pleasure to find them all. Especially loved medieval windy area, how it all interconnectes and all those floors-levels. Especially loved how medieval area ended right where it started, I didn't expect that - it was wow-effect for sure. All in all I loved everything and I just wanted more. THANKS

MittensForKittens Registered 4 April 2022, 2:46

This is just good, classic Quake fun. Very tightly designed with appropriate challenge for the tested skill level (Nightmare). The use of the slipgate was very clever, and aesthetically this incorporated the traditional base/wizard themes very adeptly. Architecture is clean and lighting is immaculate. Markie is always an automatic download for me, but this is actually one of my favorite maps so far in 2022.

If you are looking for a modern map that could easily fit into the Quake canon, pick this up immediately.

Visuals - 5/5 Atmosphere - 5/5 Gameplay - 5/5 Difficulty - 5/5 MittensForKittens Rating - 5/5

Andrew Registered 4 April 2022, 6:12

Hi guys! The Spirit made the right remark to me, and I redirect my message here. About the "markiesm1v2" map.

I liked this map so much that I couldn't resist and slightly modified the environment in it: I added a "*.ent" file with a small green mist, attached a creepy soundtrack that I use in my modification, and added the sky in the style of "AD". All original map files and description are attached and untouched.

My rating for this map is 5/5. Amazing!

Download link with add-ons: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1tndYs2 … sp=sharing

Andrew Registered 4 April 2022, 6:15

I'm sorry, I copied the link address incorrectly. Here is the new address: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1tndYs2oSkLOphghpjjSLhwDyAHCP3KQP/view?usp=sharing

Alex Ros Registered 4 April 2022, 9:16

@Andrew I am not sure of course but I think you should have asked the author of he's fine with someone remixing his maps. I think he's fine. But etiquette you know

Andrew Registered 4 April 2022, 13:59

To Alex Ros: I haven't changed anything in this map. Just added fog and a soundtrack for atmosphere. To be honest, I don't know how to contact the author.

The_Pirate Registered 4 April 2022, 17:16

I second MittensForKittens !

Very nice! Thanks for sharing! :)

@Andrew: https://www.markiemusic.com/contact ...I haven't tried your mod yet...

Jehannum Registered 4 April 2022, 22:02

Another fun vanilla map. I really enjoy playing maps made for the various mods, but there's just nothing like a good old vanilla Quake level. Especially one that's properly done as this one is.

I especially enjoyed the use of the slipgates to shuttle back and forth across dimensions! 5-star for me, and thank you for sharing your talent with us once again!

Johnny Law Registered 5 April 2022, 0:23

This is super good. The central conceit of hopping back and forth between two (very original-campaign-reminiscent) environments is sweet. Ammo metering on skill 2 was good & encouraged grenade use. Several combat setups that give you a moment of "whoa" without being ball-busting: e.g. having to push through a few zombies before you get the GL, or instinctively backing away down an inclined tunnel when surprised by ogres and having their grenades chase you wayyyy down.

The final fight was set up nicely. Fun little diorama to look at, and it starts some wheels turning for anticipation/planning. Although in this case I did wish it had sprung one last surprise ... it was a little too much of a cakewalk.

Just great stuff for a small and quickly-made map. Or really, just great stuff, screw the qualifiers.

rchavp Registered 5 April 2022, 17:54

Brilliant map, everywhere I look. Please do more of these, I had a blast playing through it!!

RickyT23 Registered 8 April 2022, 18:43

Make a Terra style episode please! <3

darkfader Registered 11 April 2022, 4:00

Excellent. I enjoyed the lighting and adherence to the legacy Quake.

ComfyByTheFire Registered 11 April 2022, 4:06

This was great! I love it when maps fluidly move between base and otherworld settings, and all the nods to the id levels were very cozy. I even somehow managed to find some secrets.

Cpt.Gonzo Registered 21 May 2022, 11:05

What a Masterpiece. One of the best maps i have ever played.

I Like Quake Registered 8 June 2022, 4:28

35 minutes of pure Quake.

Loved the mix between Base and Necropolis. The GL area with the Zombies reminded me of E2M10, a.k.a. DMC1M7 -- Lost Entrance To The Dismal Oubliette. Really nice vibes.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in