Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of oms_unmentionables
Author:ORL
Title:Laboratory X & Neighboring Alcazar's
Download:oms_unmentionables.zip (3f4b4b86ba4989558a45c29ee955ccf5)
Filesize:4534 Kilobytes
Release date:13.10.2012
Homepage:http://qrf.servequake.com/~orl/
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
oms24.bsp5308 KB19.04.2007
oms25.bsp5437 KB26.05.2008
oms_unmentionables.txt2 KB15.10.2012

oms_unmentionables.zip - Laboratory X & Neighboring Alcazar's

Two old maps released for archival purposes: Laboratory X (oms24), a huge underground base with strange comic-style custom textures, and Neighboring Alcazar's (oms25), a medium-sized orange medieval fortress inside a canyon, which follows the same theme as Conflagrant Rodent.

Tags: large, medium, base, medieval, textures, canyon, hard, outdoor

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.4/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 25 December 2012, 20:00
Laboratory X: an interesting map which highlights are the layout, sometimes the architecture, and some cuestionable textures. Fun to play. The secrets and the rune were very enjoyable.

Neighboring Alcazar's: an interesting layout and horde combat in mostly open areas, the architecture isn't something special, but it's the way it's used what shines. The monsters are well placed, and the amount of ammo/armor/health is decent, dificulty is a bit higher than ID maps. But what i liked the most is the way i'ts done the canyon and the cave, it's simple, but works very well, and gives a unique feeling. The tree in there and it's surroundings were a very nice addition too.

So 3/5 for Laboratory X and 4/5 for Neighboring Alcazar's
Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 3 12 September 2016, 13:43

Lab-X is different to say the least as I felt I was entering some sort of cartoon operation. The textures clash and things are a bit jarring but it seems this may have been the intention?

Alcazar is a more familiar map. Interesting trap gimmicks and a nice slightly open area to play around in. I felt there was too much ogre population which led to a lot of far away snipping and spam fire. Ammo was a mild issue as well.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 18 September 2016, 17:03

I found Laboratory X reasonably enjoyable, except that too much of the challenge came from not having any ammo. At least, not enough that I could use: shells and nails. I actually accumulated the full complement of 100 rockets before realising -- D'oh! -- that I"d had the grenade launcher since early in the game, and could have been expoding all my enemies.

In the end, I found the exit through a silver-key door with only 151/162. I never found the gold key or discovered what was beyond the gold-key door: presumably the other eleven bad guys.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 19 September 2016, 19:59

Neighboring Alcazar's is a lot better: a blast in open areas in and around a couple of castles, with well-judged difficulty. The unexpected coda, with the very last monster, caught me totally by surprise, and rather satisfyingly I was able to finish it off with 1 health left at the end of the level!

bfg666 Registered 17 October 2016, 3:15

Is there any difference between this Laboratory X and the standalone version found here: https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/omlabx.html?

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 17 October 2016, 8:40

Bizarrely, yes -- it's a different map.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in