Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of perish
Author:muk0r & Greenwood
Title:Perish the Thoth
Download:perish.zip (47ef8a40aa09031ba436885276a4af19)
Filesize:2048 Kilobytes
Release date:13.07.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_MsgboardScreenshots
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘



Walkthrough demos:
DownloadSkillLengthPlayerProtocolDate
perishNightmare0h06m23sArcaneFiend6662021-08-22
Full completion of the map.

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
perish.bsp3764 KB13.07.2021
perish.lit2679 KB13.07.2021
perish.txt2 KB13.07.2021

perish.zip

Perish the Thoth

Large underground Egyptian vault.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: large, egypt, vault, dungeon, textures, limits

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
4.4/5 with 29 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Ninja Registered 24 August 2021, 20:33

The map is real fun to play, old kind of id map, smile on my face playing it, played on skill 3, not hard, but not easy either.

The_Pirate Registered 28 August 2021, 17:14

Old hands at work. 'Nuff said! ;)

Thanks for a nice map!

Blazewasbored Registered 6 September 2021, 18:52

This is a really fun map, the larger scale fights were fun, and the arenas had a great feel to them. The main issue with the map was the brightness in my opinion. Darkness for atmosphere is fine, but the enemies are literally invisible in shadows on the base brightness. I had to crank the brightness up to 12 before I could comfortably play. Great map, just make things brighter in the future.

Jehannum Registered 8 September 2021, 2:26

I enjoyed this one from start to finish. Great job on a fun, and well-balanced map (skill 2). Great flow is one of its strong points to be sure!

Thanks for a great level!

The Silent Registered 29 October 2021, 11:38

Great map. Great flow and balance. Keeps you on your toes even with a slew of quads.

MikeTaylor Registered 15 December 2021, 11:02

Like quite a few Egyptian-style maps, this suffers slightly from areas looking rather too similar, so that's not always easy to tell where you are. However, that easy to forgive as the map is just so darned much fun. It's one of the best I've ever come across for difficulty balancing: playing on hard, I only actually died once (the triple-shambler ambush) but was very rarely on 100 health: I was always having to be careful in order to stay alive. Really enjoyable challenge.

zaratzara Registered 28 March 2022, 18:48

I loved the extended use of the motif of the coveted item slipping up / down as you make to grab it. Yes, environment is simple and repetitive, but that accentuates the mechanism IMO. I'm surprised people found this so fun, I found the environments dull and the combat irritating — you can just skirt past all confrontations. Intriguing use of ambushing Enforcers; found them very surprising in context.

Andrew Registered 29 March 2022, 21:36

When passing a level of normal difficulty (skill 1), when clicking on a column with a scarab, "enforcers" appear. When killing them, it turns out that one monster is missing and the door does not open. Only the "noclip" code helps. But in general, the map is good. But in the map you need to correct the error of opening the door.

Greenwood Registered 30 May 2022, 17:23

@Andrew,

You must be playing it with a mod and/or an odd engine, because the map plays flawlessly. It is a coauthored map, so it went through 2 hands, as well as multiple playtesters, & on various skill settings. I even gave it yet another 100% run just now (and I typically play on skill 1) and experienced zero problems.

It evens plays just fine in the Kex engine on normal, as demonstrated by this YouTube video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ETMb-qUrKNw&list=PLRd0LiLiwQvdExWo1ONI0wOowchhuh_to&index=4

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in