Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of plowing_through
Author:BassLexa
Title:Plowing Through
Download:plowing_through.zip (965b543e6a39293b3d8a3fe88adff0a7)
Filesize:8133 Kilobytes
Release date:27.07.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
plowing_through/plow_bass.bsp33121 KB27.07.2021
plowing_through/plow_bass.lit4374 KB27.07.2021
plowing_through/plow_bass.map4645 KB27.07.2021
plowing_through/plow_bass_basslexa.txt2 KB27.07.2021

plowing_through.zip

Plowing Through

Large, spacious base map with industrial machinery. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.
[Cannot be run through the Quake Injector]


Tags: large, base, basedebris, industrial, machine, pipes, source, limits, bsp2

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 19 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Chaser Registered, rated this a 5 22 August 2021, 12:56

5/5 map right here.

From the first room with SS and GL I knew I was in for a ride, but this map exceeded my expectations. It has perfect balance between fun exploration and hardcore fighting.

It has also propably the best usage of secrets I've seen in a while - with weapons and big chunks of map.

If that wasnt enough it has guite a lot of original geometry and mechanics including switches, the "pyramid" in the thumbnail and lots of other stuff.

To my taste some parts of the map felt a little empty, but when thought about it some more, maybe it gave this map even more "personality"

If thats BassLexa's first Quake 1 map than I just cant imagine what will he do next.

metalliqaz Registered, rated this a 5 23 August 2021, 21:12

Wow what a fun map. I'm really happy I downloaded this one. I love all the functional switches and nested secrets in this map.

I played it on Skill 2 and was missing something like 20-30 kills when I finished the map, so I didn't manage all the exploration. It was perhaps a little easy. I finished without using any of the quads.

Well done. Very impressive first map! And the "attempt to show a more practical depiction of a Quake base map with it's own infrastructure and a sense of place" was very much a success in my opinion.

metalliqaz Registered, rated this a 5 23 August 2021, 21:17

Edit: oops, I just realized I played on skill 1, not skill 2. Will replay it on hard like I intended.

Johnny Law Registered, rated this a 4 24 August 2021, 2:01

I enjoyed this a bunch. Glad it got captured on Quaddicted because I didn't see it announced anywhere else.

It's not quite polished-to-within-an-inch-of-its-life, either in visuals or "flow". But! It's still pretty good in those respects, and a thing it really has going for it is an energy where it wants to show you a lot of cool ideas and little setpieces.

Also the effort put into some of the secrets is a lot more fun than just "door opens, have some armor".

Ammo seems a bit tight on skill 2 if you don't find the LG secret. I suppose liberal use of rockets/grenades on non-shamblers will help save shells/nails for everyone else. Anyway, it worked out in the end!

The_Pirate Registered, rated this a 5 30 August 2021, 19:09

This is very good! Truly an explorers map!

Very good brushwork, nice take on base/industrial, good monster placement, 'realistic' feel... The realism is perhaps unwound a bit by the beam-in monsters.

Is this really a first map? Or has the author tried mapping for other games first? Just curious...

Very good, and thank You. Can't wait to see more!

BassLexa Registered 30 August 2021, 19:57

Thanks for the feedback, I'm glad that you had fun playing my map. No, this is my first map ever, no experience in other games. Maybe I just had a strong vision for this one :)

btw next map is coming very soon.

Jehannum Registered, rated this a 4 12 September 2021, 19:36

This is just a fantastic first map for so many reasons. The brushwork is very good and makes for interesting visuals. The secrets were fun to look for and added to the overall fun of playing the level. It's definitely worth playing again. I got 13 of the 14 secrets, and I know where the last one is, I just couldn't figure out how to get to it (;

I'm pretty certain of a bug in one area, however. I played it with QS and also QSS 0.93.2 with the same results. In the room where there is water that has to be drained via pushing a level which also opens a trap door to access the area below, when you drain the water, 2 health kits fall below the floor with the water. Also, the water is a solid, which may be part of the problem. I can blow the explosives, kill the scrags, shalrath, and shambler and the partially open door remains intact. I could see the health boxes below the floor through the grate, so I noclipped through the floor and also discovered a rottweiler and a spawn. After I killed those, the door became fragmented enough to pass through to the LG and teleporter in the pipe. I tried it several times with the same result.

It would be nice, IMO to have skill settings implemented.

Regardless, congratulations on a first level to be proud of, and thank you for sharing! I'll be on the lookout for more!

whatisquake Registered, rated this a 3 14 September 2021, 10:16

Really cool creative geometry, but the combat didn't do it for me.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 1 December 2021, 18:02

Very enjoyable, and pleasantly generous with the secrets (I got something like 12 of the 14). I like the sense of going deeper into the base, though I didn't like that there was no way to backtrack after taking the lift down to the bottom half (is there?)

Falls short of the full five stars because of the rather dated visuals, the lack of really meaty combats, and the decent-but-not-huge size. But what an excellent debut!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in