Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of putrid
Author:Bonn
Title:The Putrid Pumps
Download:putrid.zip (813c48683928e1e36a993689e64e7343)
Filesize:6820 Kilobytes
Release date:02.08.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links: Updated version
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
putrid.bsp13017 KB02.08.2021
putrid.lit4017 KB02.08.2021
putrid.map7384 KB02.08.2021
putrid.pts139 KB12.06.2021
putrid.txt.txt1 KB02.08.2021

putrid.zip

The Putrid Pumps

Large metal/runic industrial slime temple. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.
An updated (fullvis) version is available here.


Tags: large, metal, runic, slime, industrial, pipes, source, unvised, limits, bsp2

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.5/5 with 22 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
emprosthotonos Registered, rated this a 4 25 August 2021, 19:13

The concept, architecture and gameplay are definitely there, but the lighting can improve A LOT, it's simply too dark. I had a lot of fun playing it except when I couldn't see the way ahead or see where the monsters were. If this is the first map by the author it's kinda understandable, I just hope it wasn't intentional.

BassLexa Registered, rated this a 4 26 August 2021, 4:41

I think that death knight out of darkness on the staircase was very intentional and worked very well. By the way I love the architecture, especially the slimy second part.

Mazu Registered, rated this a 5 28 August 2021, 17:16

I liked this map a lot. It is just a bit too easy on hard difficulty. Tons of excess ammo. Map looks very clean and darkness wasn't a big problem.

erc Registered, rated this a 4 3 September 2021, 16:17

Played both of Bonn's maps today and I think he already has a pretty good grasp of what makes Quake maps 'click'. This one's more on the atmospheric side and features a good sense of place. Hope to see more from him!

Jehannum Registered, rated this a 4 12 September 2021, 23:00

This was a fun romp to be sure! The brushwork and texturing was first-rate and the game flow smooth and logical.

I did feel like there was too much ammo, health, and armor lying around. It is fun to just walk into a room and hose everyone down with the SNG, but it tends to make me sloppy.

Thanks to the author for sharing, and I'm looking forward to your next map!

Text_Fish Registered, rated this a 3 23 September 2021, 13:15

An enjoyable vanilla blast. Episode 3 visual style with Episode 4 gameplay. I always like it when I'm given a choice of paths, although I think the concept can be taken further, and the following bridge section kind of dampened any "reward" as it was a bit confusing (I ended up going the wrong way after teleporting out of the slime, because there weren't any strong visual queues to distinguish which way I was facing). There was also an odd moment near the end, where I travelled up a platform and had to jump down in to an area with a health pack and a runic button to escape the area -- but had I simply not jumped in to this area I would have been able to proceed to the exit unhindered, so it seemed a little pointless. Maybe I broke a trigger somewhere along the way that would have made this route necessary?

I like the darkness of the level, although I can see why some don't like it. The dark stairwell with the deathknight basically requires the player to stumble around in the blind hope that there's something to find, which would have been frustrating if you didn't find the route on your first try and then spent ages looking around previous areas for something you've missed. A little minlight can also pick out nice environmental details.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in