Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of quakedvm
Author:Luigiman2020
Title:Quake DVM
Download:quakedvm.zip (ebb60a66c244b099397d25abce8ee8a0)
Filesize:4835 Kilobytes
Release date:03.03.2022
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
quakeDVM.txt1 KB03.03.2022
quakedvm.bsp10791 KB01.03.2022
quakedvm.lit8866 KB01.03.2022

quakedvm.zip

Quake DVM

Small map based on a real-life location, possibly a school. Contains some custom textures, including a very specific stucco wall and carpet.

Tags: small, school, realism

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 2.3/5 with 12 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
chainsaw Guest 7 March 2022, 4:54

"possibly a school" tags: school

Are you trying to get the feds sent to your house?

Ninja Registered 7 March 2022, 11:50

I thought map had good ideas, school or no school, its a great shoot out, nice idea for maybe bigger better buildings maps.

The_Pirate Registered 7 March 2022, 12:11

Hm. I can't really comment on this one; an attempt to run it end with: "*** buffer overflow detected ***: quakespasm terminated (SIGABRT)" Hm again. Quite an accomplishment in a map this small... :)

Ninja Registered 7 March 2022, 20:21

I ran it on quakespasm 94.3 ok no problems, just 94.3 not a spiked version.

Sardine Guest 9 March 2022, 0:33

Works OK in Quakespasm 0.93.2, but not in 0.93.1.

The_Pirate Registered 9 March 2022, 20:48

There we are then... i use 0.93.1 on a Debian Linux...

Greenwood Registered 9 March 2022, 22:41

Instead of a "school," I bet it's the author's Quake interpretation of the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles). Most folks would equate their experiences there as miniature slices of Hell. :)

4LT Registered 9 March 2022, 23:56

@Greenwood I think Kafka's The Trial would have been the more appropriate dystopian novel, rather than Orwell's 1984.

radiatoryang Registered 10 March 2022, 1:27

I don't think it's a DMV. There's all these similar-feeling big rooms full of tables and chairs (many chairs to a table, not office desks) and these rooms all join a main corridor. The custom carpet texture is also drab in the way a school is. So I still think it's either a school, or some kind of prison-restaurant. Which is maybe what schools are, I guess.

(related: I'm a self proclaimed expert on school maps. https://www.blog.radiator.debacle.us/2017/02/on-csppc-school-maps-and-politics-of.html )

Markie Registered 17 March 2022, 18:00

This is sus as fuck

Spirit Registered 17 March 2022, 21:32

Watch your language, this site isn't some toxic boys' club.

Markie Registered 17 March 2022, 22:49

@spirit

https://www.quaddicted.com/reviews/jamie.html

please fix

Markie Registered 17 March 2022, 22:56

@spirit

Also search google for "quaddicted f-word" and you'll find countless reviews of people using that word with no editing. Also you personally on the Quaddicted twitter account saying "f-word kotaku"

https://twitter.com/quaddicted/status/829311870100262915

Spirit Registered 20 March 2022, 16:19

For context: I had censored Markie's "fuck" in the comment above and after discussion in https://www.quaddicted.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=1223 reverted it now.

Sorry!

Fornax83 Registered 21 March 2022, 9:41

A disturbing submission that hits too close to home. I know that carpet from William Rainey Harper College in Palatine, Illinois, USA. Maybe that's a standard pattern found across the region. Or maybe not. Either way, the thinly-veiled threat is too much to ignore.

Never forget that other people are conscious beings just like yourself. It's easy to lose sight of the fact that their emotions are as real & vivid as your own.

One's actions (and reactions) are remembered for a very, very long time and strongly influence how others treat you, which in turn affects your quality of life.

So, as strange as it sounds, our speech, mannerisms, and interactions from weeks/months/years in the past are the foundation upon which we perceive the present.

Avoiding harm to others, intentionally or unintentionally, physically or verbally, is a goal worthy of your time and effort. It requires being on constant alert, and is a difficult habit to develop after adolescence. But it is possible. Hope you see this Luigiman2020.

chainsaw Guest 21 March 2022, 21:56

@Markie 'sus' Oh no, not you too!

Wabbit Guest 26 March 2022, 2:44

I did not play this map nor do I plan on it, but lets not forget the controversy around the Doom maps they found on the Columbine kid's computer. Not saying this has any relation to anything in real life and it very well might had just been an attempt at making a "real space" in Quake. But we don't need to be bringing anymore "video games cause violence" fodder to the table.

I Like Quake Registered 26 March 2022, 10:10

Guys, it's just a map. It has a few generic rooms, a few neat posters, and a very nice carpet.

But inferring anything suspicious, disturbing, or threatening from this map is analogous to inferring, for example, that Quake itself is threatening to real-life dogs, given that the canine monster is real-life inspired.

Also, the map doesn't feature helpless students and teachers running around, but Quake monsters. This is more inline with the school (if one insists on seeing it as a school) having been evacuated after being overrun by monsters. This, not taking into consideration the lava pit, 'cause, ya know, every school has one. :)

I Like Quake Registered 26 March 2022, 10:41

<<in line with>>

SharpEyeJoe Registered 31 March 2022, 16:39

@I Like Quake Your rationality feels like a blow of fresh air after reading through the comments above.

JMP Registered 22 April 2022, 22:14

I get the same impression as I Like Quake. The map uses several Doom textures, and the overall design reminds me of Doom 2's city maps (but much cruder). I think this is supposed to be a real-world place that monsters have overrun, not a homicidal fantasy.

Looking beyond the author's motives and at the map itself... it's respectable for a debut, but many aspects of the design could be improved: the rooms and hallways are over-scaled, there are fullbrights, and the combat is far too easy IMO.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in