Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of rgdeep_v3
Author:Daniel Remar
Title:Deepest Oblivion v3
Download:rgdeep_v3.zip (3c76ed3d75b4127201b8a66509ae2c8a)
Filesize:736 Kilobytes
Release date:11.12.2022
Homepage:http://www.remar.se/daniel
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
rgdeep.bsp1495 KB06.12.2022
rgdeep.map1068 KB06.12.2022
rgdeep.txt3 KB11.12.2022

rgdeep_v3.zip

Deepest Oblivion v3

Small dark wizard-themed level in a classic id1 style with some puzzle elements for vanilla Quake. An update of Deepest Oblivion (2019). Map source is included.

"Originally released in 2019, this was my first Quake level in 19 years. While making it I experimented with various setpieces, and while looking up the details of the Quake engine I learned about a bunch of tricks that mappers have used in the past. I may have put a few too many gimmicks in there.

I'm not very satisfied with how the level ends, but the original boss I had planned didn't work out in practice. Maybe next time.

Due to the logic and special effects used, this level will have some small issues with mods like Copper that change the behaviour of the game."


Tags: small, wizard, underground, classic, vanilla, id1, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
4.2/5 with 20 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








72ithink Registered 21 December 2022, 23:47

A very fun casual level, decided to play one nightmare and it took me around 15 minutes getting all kills and 3/4 of the secrets. The claustrophobic arenas were very fun to fight in, but I am not a big fan of the lighting here. Still very good. Speedrunning wise it is a long level to speedrun. I managed to get a run of 4m 2s 893ms, demo for for proof; https://www.dropbox.com/s/gvx7ffj4jlq09c7/speedrundeep.dem?dl=0

The_Pirate Registered 22 December 2022, 22:09

A nice little level, about average.

I'm not fond of these 'remakes' - let the past lie. IMHO it would be far better to try all the new tricks in a entirely new map: show us your creativity, show us how you have grown...

Thanks for sharing.

Ewigkind Registered 23 December 2022, 5:33

Nice, but scary Castle Map! Almost claustrophobic, and one jumpscare after another, whilst I'm personally most afraid of being underwater. The riddles were fun, and not to hard solve. I did manage to find any 8/8 Secrets on skill 2 within 28 minutes playtime. I did wonder if the Shamblers being on steroids?! xD I did Enjoy it, thanks! A solid 5/5 for me!

Chaser Registered 1 January 2023, 23:16

It was scary, it was retro, like :D

chomorkuz Registered 19 January 2023, 1:46

pretty spooky, i really liked the underwater section!!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in