Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sm218
Author:alexUnder, Chris Holden, DariusGi, Greenwood, Mazu, ish, iYago, Newhouse, riktoi, Yoder, VuRkka, zigi
Title:Speedmapping pack 218 - Episode 4
Download:sm218.zip (71cdb2cb34089508936f02af43bebb74)
Filesize:13071 Kilobytes
Release date:23.05.2022
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard thread
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sm218/docs/sm218_alexunder_readme.txt1 KB22.05.2022
sm218/docs/sm218_chrisholden.txt2 KB21.05.2022
sm218/docs/sm218_greenwood.txt2 KB22.05.2022
sm218/docs/sm218_hcm.txt3 KB22.05.2022
sm218/docs/sm218_ish.txt2 KB22.05.2022
sm218/docs/sm218_iyago.txt3 KB22.05.2022
sm218/docs/sm218_riktoi_readme.txt1 KB22.05.2022
sm218/docs/sm218_start.txt2 KB23.05.2022
sm218/docs/sm218_yoder.txt2 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_alexunder.bsp1758 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_alexunder.lit926 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_chrisholden.bsp1147 KB21.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_dariusgi.bsp1800 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_dariusgi.lit508 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_greenwood.bsp1654 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_greenwood.lit1181 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_hcm.bsp1379 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_hcm.lit615 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_ish.bsp1101 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_ish.lit592 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_iyago.bsp1350 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_newhouse.bsp3240 KB23.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_newhouse.lit1443 KB23.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_riktoi.bsp725 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_riktoi.lit233 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_yoder.bsp3646 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_yoder.lit1001 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_zigi.bsp1622 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/sm218_zigi.lit383 KB22.05.2022
sm218/maps/start.bsp826 KB23.05.2022
sm218/sm218poster.jpg767 KB23.05.2022
sm218/sm218readme.txt2 KB23.05.2022
sm218/source/sm218_alexunder.map3835 KB22.05.2022
sm218/source/sm218_chrisholden.map685 KB21.05.2022
sm218/source/sm218_greenwood.map844 KB22.05.2022
sm218/source/sm218_hcm.map1050 KB22.05.2022
sm218/source/sm218_ish.map586 KB22.05.2022
sm218/source/sm218_iyago.map816 KB22.05.2022
sm218/source/sm218_newhouse.map1861 KB23.05.2022
sm218/source/sm218_riktoi.map445 KB22.05.2022
sm218/source/sm218_yoder.map2500 KB22.05.2022

sm218.zip

Speedmapping pack 218 - Episode 4

Eleven small classic-style / vanilla maps made in 48 hours, all themed after Quake episode 4 - The Elder World.

Custom start map is included, as well as map source.

Note: some maps may require a modern engine / source port with increased limits.


Tags: small, elder, jam, speedmap, classic, vanilla, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.3/5 with 25 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
whatisquake Registered 26 May 2022, 21:22

Mazu's map is full of nasty surprises - actually, several maps have tough combat. The speed map packs are so good lately!

The_Pirate Registered 27 May 2022, 12:53

This is amazing; this quality - and from a set of maps created in such a short time!

As always, there is quality differences in a map pack, but in general, i am envious of this gang of mappers for:

  • their creativity

  • their abillity to use the map editor fast and efficient

  • their ability to work structured towards a goal.

Well done, everyone! And thanks for sharing!

Spirit Registered 27 May 2022, 22:01

alexUnder: Got lost and bored in the pipes :( Chris Holden: Nice homage to e4m5! DariusGI: Really liked it! Greenwood: Lots of fun! Mazu: Partially awesome (loved the blue atrium), partially nasty (spawns...).

RandomQuaker Guest 28 May 2022, 14:57

Played on Nightmare w/ Copper. No saves, aims for 100% completion.

  • alexUnder: decent albeit the first part underwater wasn't too great (3/5)

  • Chris Holden: a way smaller e4m5, without the frantic action (3/5)

  • DariusGi: some kind of castle with some nice fights. good stuff (4/5)

  • Greenwood: gameplay-wise it's alright but the map is bland visually (3/5)

  • Mazu: small-ish but SADISTIC map with loads of spawn and tough fights (4/5)

  • ish: hardly no ammo and heaps of high-tier foes. had to run for my life (2/5)

  • iYago: quite nice map visually, gameplay is pretty much average tho (3/5)

  • Newhouse: based on e4m8, a "big" speedmap full of nasty fights and traps (4/5)

  • riktoi: really tiny map. fights are meh and visually it's not good really (2/5)

  • Yoder: the most beautiful map of the set but not very ep4. nice map tho (4/5)

  • Vurkka: the start map. not the prettiest but quick and does the job (3/5)

  • zigi: mashup of e4m2 and e4m4. a solid map and the best one of the set imo (4/5)

Overall: 4/5 because those are speedmaps and I enjoyed most of it. Would recommend.

aoanla Guest 28 May 2022, 19:40

alexUnder: not sure if I'm awful at jumping or if there's supposed to be another way to get to the outer ring from the central platform in the stairway room. (I ended up noclipping.) The underwater bit was... okay.

Chris Holden: actually pretty nice (definitely e4m5 vibes), and the difficulty scaling at skill 0 and 1 was good.

aoanla Guest 28 May 2022, 22:23

Mazu: scales nicely on skill 0, 1. Liked some of the jump triggers in particular, and the atmosphere. I think this is the Mazu map I've most enjoyed out of all your stuff.

ish: super ambush heavy, which I suspect is going to be divisive. (Personally, even on skill 0, I think it's very slightly too low on ammo, so I imagine on skill 1 it will be sparse for most people). Also: I got in a situation in a room with rocket ammo which I have no idea how I'm supposed to get out of?

aoanla Guest 29 May 2022, 13:07

Yoder: I really liked this (apart from the timing/jumping element), although I agree with RandomQuaker that it's not a very "Ep4 feeling" map.

zigi: I don't think I enjoyed this quite as much as some did - I prefer Yoder's overall - but it's a really nice episode 4 themed map, and probably my second favourite.

Spirit Registered 29 May 2022, 15:38

ish: Very very hard and unfair but fun with lots of reloading.

iyago: Very nice! Loved the lighting.

Newhouse: Absolutely charming after I was frustrated with a slow elevator for a moment. Lots of good Doom memories, good gameplay, lovely architecture and overall just fun progression and gameplay. Really enjoyed this one!

Alex Ros Registered 30 May 2022, 13:00

I don't know why, maybe something is wrong with me, but when I read "underwater tunnels were confusing" it makes me wanna do more & more confusing for real. Like "oh u think THAT was confusing? I'll show u confusion!" :D

qazzaq Registered 30 May 2022, 13:22

Elder Mechanys by Ish is my favorite of the pack. I like challenge with limited resources. Mazu's map has similar mechanics, but incredible hard as usually. It reminds me playing at game console '80-'90. It's crazy finger dancing!

I Like Quake Registered 2 June 2022, 16:37

Playing this pack is... well... E4-ic!!!

You guys sure are an inexhaustible source of creativity and beauty.

Thank you for pushing SM every one release further.

The SM series is my favorite due to its retro-ness, richness, and, not least, longevity. Among the first custom content I played were some SM maps and they have stayed with me ever since.

I'm stuck on Mazu's map, which is beautifully difficult. Somehow, I don't tire of trying over and over again (I am obstinate to not save or lower the difficulty). I saw Mazu's playthrough and, let me say, it is as impressive in effortlessness as the map is in "E4-ness"... Moving like that is a skill I never could master and I feel admiration for those that did.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in