Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of smejjam
Author:Fix, MargSabl, Mazu, Myki, NewHouse, omni, Pinchy, riktoi, VuRkka, wiedo, zigi
Title:SMEJ Jam
Download:smejjam.zip (fd845984e8ff92ebab1999d4beb7d478)
Filesize:130655 Kilobytes
Release date:29.09.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
smejjam/SMEJJAM.png1447 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx.wad173 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/complete.lmp5 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/conback.lmp63 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2honey/smej2honey_bk.tga508 KB25.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2honey/smej2honey_dn.tga428 KB25.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2honey/smej2honey_ft.tga723 KB25.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2honey/smej2honey_lf.tga444 KB25.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2honey/smej2honey_rt.tga292 KB25.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2honey/smej2honey_up.tga567 KB25.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2honeybk.tga508 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2honeydn.tga428 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2honeyft.tga723 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2honeylf.tga444 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2honeyrt.tga292 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2honeyup.tga567 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2knavebk.tga797 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2knavedn.tga470 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2knaveft.tga391 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2knavelf.tga467 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2knavert.tga959 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smej2knaveup.tga951 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smejjam_mykibk.tga370 KB18.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smejjam_mykidn.tga304 KB18.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smejjam_mykift.tga531 KB18.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smejjam_mykilf.tga321 KB18.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smejjam_mykirt.tga191 KB18.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/env/smejjam_mykiup.tga420 KB18.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/finale.lmp7 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/help0.lmp63 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/help1.lmp63 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/help2.lmp63 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/help3.lmp63 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/help4.lmp63 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/help5.lmp63 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/loading.lmp4 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/p_load.lmp5 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/p_multi.lmp5 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/p_option.lmp4 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/p_save.lmp5 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/pause.lmp4 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/qplaque.lmp5 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/ranking.lmp4 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/ttl_cstm.lmp5 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/ttl_main.lmp5 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/ttl_sgl.lmp3 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/gfx/vidmodes.lmp5 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/maps/b_batt0.bsp6 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/maps/b_batt1.bsp6 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/maps/b_bh10.bsp6 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/maps/b_bh100.bsp15 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/maps/b_bh25.bsp11 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/maps/b_nail0.bsp6 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/maps/b_nail1.bsp6 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/maps/b_rock0.bsp9 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/maps/b_rock1.bsp9 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/maps/b_shell0.bsp6 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/maps/b_shell1.bsp6 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_fix.bsp1047 KB26.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_hcm.bsp11095 KB26.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_hcm.lit4565 KB26.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_margsabl.bsp4123 KB28.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_margsabl.lit1498 KB28.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_myki.bsp1701 KB27.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_myki.lit430 KB27.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_newhouse.bsp5721 KB29.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_newhouse.lit1976 KB29.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_omni.bsp18787 KB26.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_omni.lit1999 KB26.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_pinchy.bsp4958 KB29.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_pinchy.lit1950 KB29.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_riktoi.bsp4747 KB27.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_riktoi.lit2556 KB27.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_wiedo.bsp1672 KB24.09.2021
smejjam/maps/smejjam_wiedo.lit453 KB24.09.2021
smejjam/maps/start.bsp8181 KB29.09.2021
smejjam/maps/start.lit2007 KB29.09.2021
smejjam/music/track02.ogg3821 KB17.08.2021
smejjam/music/track03.ogg3731 KB17.08.2021
smejjam/music/track04.ogg6924 KB17.08.2021
smejjam/music/track05.ogg13036 KB06.08.2019
smejjam/music/track06.ogg21669 KB16.12.2019
smejjam/music/track11.ogg14184 KB19.12.2019
smejjam/music/track16.ogg3652 KB17.08.2021
smejjam/music/track98.ogg15346 KB04.08.2019
smejjam/poster.jpg663 KB29.09.2021
smejjam/progs.dat589 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/progs/backpack.mdl71 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/bolt.mdl12 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/c_spike.mdl2 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/progs/candle1.mdl20 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/candle2.mdl20 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/candle3.mdl20 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/cent.mdl217 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/progs/conback.lmp63 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/progs/devastator.mdl578 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/progs/fish.mdl80 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/g_shotgn.mdl25 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/h_cent.mdl12 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/progs/h_devastator.mdl13 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/progs/h_knight.mdl23 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/h_spectre.mdl7 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/progs/invis.mdl9 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/invul.mdl24 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/knight.mdl243 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/lavaball.mdl17 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/m_cells1.mdl4 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/m_cells2.mdl5 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/m_h100.mdl18 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/m_h15.mdl4 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/m_h25.mdl15 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/m_key.mdl35 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/m_nails1.mdl4 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/m_nails2.mdl5 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/m_rock1.mdl4 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/m_rock2.mdl5 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/m_shell1.mdl4 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/m_shell2.mdl5 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/misc_smoke.mdl32 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/progs/nuljaska.mdl234 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/progs/quaddama.mdl10 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/r_key.mdl131 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/rottmauler.mdl685 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/progs/s_explo2.spr14 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/shalrath.mdl86 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/progs/spectre.mdl453 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/progs/spike.mdl5 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/v_axe.mdl70 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/progs/v_axe2.mdl70 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/progs/w_ball.mdl14 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/smejjam.fgd49 KB31.12.2020
smejjam/smejjam_readme.txt2 KB29.09.2021
smejjam/sound/ambience/deep.wav392 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/ambience/lava1.wav818 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/ambience/machlp2.wav70 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/ambience/underw1.wav204 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/ambience/wdribble.wav40 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/ambience/wpool.wav295 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/blob/idle.wav64 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/boss2/sight.wav142 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/doors/locked4.wav15 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/enforcer/sight1.wav14 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/enforcer/sight2.wav8 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/enforcer/sight3.wav11 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/enforcer/sight4.wav10 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/forcefield.wav67 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/items/pack.wav18 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/items/patch.wav20 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/klaxon2.wav96 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/mine/mine_idle.wav739 KB16.04.2018
smejjam/sound/mine/mine_screams.wav173 KB03.08.2019
smejjam/sound/misc/null.wav3 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/misc/sav.wav17 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/misc/w_under.wav39 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/misc/w_under2.wav71 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/nuljaska/death1.wav25 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/nuljaska/hit1.wav10 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/nuljaska/idle.wav16 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/nuljaska/land1.wav9 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/nuljaska/sattack1.wav9 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/nuljaska/sattck1.wav8 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/nuljaska/sboom.wav24 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/nuljaska/sight1.wav9 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/null.wav3 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/player/q3fall.wav177 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/player/splat1.wav37 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/rottmauler/dattack1.wav14 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/rottmauler/ddeath.wav30 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/rottmauler/dpain1.wav6 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/rottmauler/dsight.wav57 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/rottmauler/idle.wav9 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/10_0.wav327 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/butn2.wav25 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/dr1_end.wav44 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/dr1_strt.wav26 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/forcefield.wav67 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/incoming.wav45 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/klaxon2.wav96 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/pumpexposed.wav74 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/ranger-punch.wav14 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/siika1.wav16 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/siika2.wav18 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/siika3.wav69 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/spark5.wav12 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/spawn1.wav32 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2end/ventsys.wav95 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m1/forcefield.wav67 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m1/reactor7.wav102 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m2/cymbal.pipe.1.wav9 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m2/cymbal.pipe.2.wav9 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m2/cymbal.pipe.3.wav10 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m2/forcefield.wav67 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m2/morsecode.wav5165 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m2/tmnt.jingle.wav24 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m4/burp.wav14 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m4/crow.wav57 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m4/drip1.wav13 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m4/fire4.wav37 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m4/fire7.wav84 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m4/gulp.wav8 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m4/tom_floor.wav43 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m4/tom_high.wav44 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m4/tom_mid.wav41 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/smej2m4/waterfall1.wav646 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/spectre/idle1.wav51 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/spectre/idle2.wav81 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/spectre/smash.wav4 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/spectre/swrath1.wav6 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/spectre/swrath2.wav4 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/spectre/watt.wav22 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/spectre/wdthc.wav11 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/spectre/wpain.wav18 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/spectre/wsee.wav11 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/start/dr_short.wav162 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/start/forcefield.wav67 KB09.09.2021
smejjam/sound/w1m3/laugh02.wav30 KB22.07.2019
smejjam/sound/w1m3/laugh03.wav42 KB27.07.2019
smejjam/sound/weapons/axhit1.wav15 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/weapons/axhit2.wav13 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/weapons/lavabal1.wav26 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/weapons/lavabal2.wav26 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/weapons/lavabal3.wav26 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/weapons/lavabal4.wav26 KB22.09.2021
smejjam/sound/wiedo/credits.txt1 KB17.01.2020
smejjam/sound/wiedo/distantfootsteps1.wav320 KB16.01.2020
smejjam/sound/wiedo/dronehum1.wav154 KB16.01.2020
smejjam/sound/wiedo/stingwhisper1.wav133 KB20.09.2021
smejjam/sound/wiedo/stingwhisper3.wav152 KB20.09.2021
smejjam/source/smejjam-wiedo.map711 KB24.09.2021
smejjam/source/smejjam_fix.map306 KB26.09.2021
smejjam/source/smejjam_hcm.map6358 KB26.09.2021
smejjam/source/smejjam_margsabl.map3425 KB28.09.2021
smejjam/source/smejjam_myki.map1667 KB27.09.2021
smejjam/source/smejjam_newhouse.map2672 KB29.09.2021
smejjam/source/smejjam_omni.map2032 KB26.09.2021
smejjam/source/smejjam_pinchy.map3406 KB29.09.2021
smejjam/source/smejjam_riktoi.map4880 KB27.09.2021
smejjam/source/smejjamstart.map3349 KB29.09.2021
smejjam/text/smejjam_fix.txt2 KB26.09.2021
smejjam/text/smejjam_hcm.txt3 KB26.09.2021
smejjam/text/smejjam_margsabl.txt2 KB23.09.2021
smejjam/text/smejjam_myki.txt2 KB27.09.2021
smejjam/text/smejjam_omni.txt1 KB26.09.2021
smejjam/text/smejjam_pinchy.txt3 KB29.09.2021
smejjam/text/smejjam_riktoi.log2 KB27.09.2021
smejjam/text/smejjam_wiedo.txt3 KB24.09.2021

smejjam.zip

SMEJ Jam

Community map pack inspired by SMEJ and SMEJ2: nine small to large levels plus a start/hub map in varying themes, mostly set in snowy Finnish landscapes. It is based on the SMEJ2 mod (included) and features new enemies, models, custom textures, skyboxes and music tracks. The map sources are included.

Note: These maps require a source port with increased limits; Mazu's map additionally requires BSP2 support.


Tags: small, medium, large, base, metal, runic, snow, mountain, textures, monsters, models, skybox, music, limits, bsp2, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.2/5 with 16 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Gioyo3aa Registered 9 October 2021, 18:13

Mazu's maps have been favourites of mine for a while now, so I naturally began exploring this pack with his entry. I should have known better: it was such a demanding experience that right now I don't feel like exploring the other maps in this pack for fear of finding them unfairly dull in comparison. I guess I'll wait a bit before trying them out, to let memories fade away and experience them in a fairer way.

The same pattern as his map in SMEJ2 emerges for me: "cool, tons of enemies" -> "hey, and tons of secrets!" -> "hm, that's hard" -> "hm... that's VERY hard" -> "forget it, no way I'm finishing this insane map" -> "FINALLY made it, can't wait to start again and score all secrets". Oh, and remember this pack is based on copper, so Nightmare will be very difficult (I downgraded to Hard when I realised it and restarted the map).

This is not my favourite Mazu map so far, but I'd rate it somewhere between 4 and 5 anyway. There are many insane moments, but if you look carefully for secrets or workarounds, you'll find that it's manageable. If you've been a fan thus far, you know what to expect, and you'll probably enjoy it too.

More on the rest of the pack as soon as possible.

Ninja Registered, rated this a 5 9 October 2021, 22:32

Veriloyly map 890 kills, jes and the map on skill 3 is hard as F--k,save every 5 seconds lol all maps 5 star, got to be played.

aoanla Guest 10 October 2021, 22:29

I have kind of precisely the opposite final reaction to Mazu's maps as Gioyo3aa does - I find them so exhaustingly hard and overlong that they're usually one of the few maps in a pack I give up on ever finishing.

In this pack that's also a trait shared by riktoi's offering - both Mazu and Riktoi seem to be doing some interesting things with their maps, but, I'm sorry both of you, even at skill 0, I'm just not good enough to be able keep caring long enough to finish them!

Meanwhile, I did finish all of the other maps in the jam. In fact, my note for MargSabl's is mostly that I felt that it was perhaps even a little easy on skill 0. Omni's map has some nice subtle environmental hints about how the map works - geometry that's repeated near certain items, and lights that light up. Pinchy's map has some secrets I enjoyed and a nice "split structure" and final door. Fix's map I think l liked the slightly "experimental" ending on; and wiedo's map has some interesting "escalating progression", although it got a bit much for me at the end. Myki's is great almost up to the end, where it relies on a repeated trick a few too many times for my taste.

(And Newhouse's is a slight remix of a map from the first Smej - unfortunately, I think I prefer the original....

... which brings me to my other critique of the maps in general. One of the jam requirements was to showcase at least some of a set of new monsters that were part of Smej 2. Some of these monsters are fine. One of them is not fine. Guess which one too many of the maps use too many times?)

Guest Registered 11 October 2021, 18:37

Back again with another report of Exploding Boxes that crash to console. No idea what is going on or how to fix, but just as in SMEJ2, they're solid_bsp with a non BSP model. By my guess, they're entities stuck in the ground/walls. Touching them, firing any weapon in line of sight of them, aggravating any entities near them all crash to console. Sometimes even just waiting at the level start crashes to console.

Guest Registered 11 October 2021, 18:38

Newhouse's map btw.

Amblershambler Guest 12 October 2021, 18:39

Maps are beautiful, painstakingly and very creatively put together and very impressive for that fact but as 50% of everything on this site (and with increasing frequency), it just about playable but not fun. Hard should be hard, not nightmare, not hell but hard. That's why it's called hard. I have no problem with there being a hell mode to cater to people who like being bored but I don't like being sold that as hard. Quake is not some dumb macho challenge, but something to enjoy. It totally strips the game of any sense of fun. Yes, you can take down five Shamblers locked in a small room with a shotgun but its really REALLY boring. The violence should have a poetic flow to it and hiding behind a corner or pillar to pop off about 40 snipe shots in a row or replaying an unpredictable ambush when 20 fiends spawn behind you randomly is stripping the game of fun. If the mappers put half the effort into making it look beautiful and double the effort in making the gameplay work properly and at a difficutly level in keeping with other maps rather than trying to redefine them, then, for no extra effort the quality of content on this site would increase by an order of magnitude.

Gitty McGuddingson Guest 12 October 2021, 19:20

@Amblershambler If you're having too much trouble, try a lower difficulty setting. It's not the map pack's fault you're bad at the game. Having a hard time on hard and then complaining about it is hilariously daft. What's the point of difficulty settings if people don't use them?

aoanla Guest 12 October 2021, 20:13

@Gitty
I've seen you comment on other people decrying uneven difficulty in maps and map packs, and every time there's the insults, the "it's not their fault if you're bad".

As AmblerShambler notes, the point of difficulty settings is that they represent a particular, consistent, level of challenge. If one map's "easy" is another map's "hard", then you undermine the point of difficulty systems themselves, by making it impossible to tell what challenge each indicator represents.

(Also: as someone who plays on skill 0 a lot of the time, some of the maps in this pack are too difficult at the lowest difficulty. So, "what's the point of difficulty settings if you can't use them, because they don't go low enough anymore?")

riktoi Guest 12 October 2021, 21:38

I ran out of time balancing my map unfortunately. Given the quite limited timeframe of 2 weeks it was tough to balance it for all difficulties, causing easy and hard to be harder than they were supposed to be. It's just something you have to deal with jam projects. Maps will never be perfect unless too much time is given to finetune them, which obviously goes against the idea of jams.

Thank you for playing!

The Silent Registered, rated this a 4 12 October 2021, 21:56

Aw, pretty awesome pack. Mazu's and Riktoi's are obviously standouts, but all maps have a very high standard. Riktoi's ridiculously and sometimes unnecessary hard(and he explained why, that's part of the deal, I get it), Mazu's I hated the first three minutes, then enjoied immensely the remaining 148 or so minutes of my first playthrough. I usually play everything on normal, but this time, coming off a skill 3 binge on Alkaline and AlkJam I decided to keep at it and it's definitely something not for everyone's taste. AmblerShambler has a point, but then time limitations and stuff... Gittyboy's gotta have a tiny tiny weenie.

wiedo Guest 14 October 2021, 12:24

I definitely made my map harder than I originally would because it was in the style of Smej. However I think easy is definitely easy especially if you found all secrets. There’s a red armor and a mega health pretty early on and with the quad in the end you’ll definitely will have a smooth experience clearing my map. It’s probably still harder than vanilla skill levels though.

I can see the difficulty of the pack could be offputting and there’s probably a lot of save scumming needed, but difficulty balancing is really time consuming and one of the last things you’ll do, so I can see it’ll be off in maps created in just two weeks. Also some mappers are more skilled than others in actually playing. Mappers with insane Quake skills probably like to make difficult levels too.

I Like Quake Guest 14 October 2021, 13:28

Well, smej1 and smej2 are very though themselves (as I've experienced them on Hard), and this is smejjam so, as per its name, it is to be expected to be on par.

But why not add a difficulty rating? That way everybody can have an idea of what they're getting themselves into.

Oh, and thank you to the creators. These last few months have seen a cornucopia of releases.

I Like Quake Guest 14 October 2021, 13:45

《tough》

Amblershambler Guest 14 October 2021, 18:49

@Gitty McGuddingson

If you're having too much trouble, try a lower difficulty setting.

I'm not having too much trouble. I can complete the game in nightmare. I don't want to as it's no fun, I really don't see how taking out five shamblers in a row with a shotgun is fun. It's like being told the same joke twice. You misunderstand my point, which was meant to be constructive btw. which is that the game needs to be designed to be fun. Here the mappers have put a HUGE effort in making the game look beautiful, kudo and much less in making the game work. If smej is meant to be hard, then I would suggest scrapping easy (as in zerstorer - the way he did it is brilliant) and scrapping normal for that matter and simply calling 0 hard, 1 nightmare, 2 hell and 3, well something else. It's not just semantics. I usually don't play nightmare as I don't find the dynamics enjoyable. Quake is at its most fun when the gameplay flows and smej (and copper for that matter) just mess that up too much.

It's not the map pack's fault you're bad at the game.

It's not my fault that you're petty and insecure enough to want to insult a complete stranger for nothing really.

Spirit Registered 14 October 2021, 20:53

Comments on this site are open to guest accounts under the assumption that everyone is able to behave like they cherish the idea of community. Whatever aggressive negative and flamebaiting culture might be acceptable elsewhere, this is not the place for it.

Assume a curious mindset about other people's experiences. Don't be snarky, don't sneer, be nice.

dwere Registered 14 October 2021, 23:34

Renaming skills or trying to make them play exactly like vanilla sounds like a bit of a mess. With a completely new game, you have no idea what kind of experience you're gonna have with any skill setting, and it's not that different for mods.

Not worth it, IMO.

aoanla Guest 15 October 2021, 21:19

I think it depends a lot on how much divergence you have, to be honest. For this map pack, the majority of the maps actually do lie close-ish to where you might hope skills 0 to 3 would lie (if at the high ends). It's just one or two which are much higher.

(and I appreciate that mapping jams give you less time to balance difficulty - which is why in my comments, I mostly mentioned the one mapper who always puts their difficulty 1 or more skill levels higher than "the usual", jam or not.)

I have a vested interest in the next bit, given I play at skill 0 a lot, but I'd argue that the one thing Gitty up there was right about is that if you can step down to a lower skill, there's less problem with higher skill levels being "much harder". The issue is with skill 0 being inflated so there's no way to ever get a less hard experience. (Especially as, as AmblerShambler notes, "very hard" combat challenges in Quake can easily just become... tedious and drawn out. Or a boring horde of millions of foes.)

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in