Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of snklib
Author:Spiked_
Title:Sunken Library
Download:snklib.zip (220e089eea6a135452a7cf8aadefcce1)
Filesize:3786 Kilobytes
Release date:14.11.2022
Homepage:
Additional Links: Slipseer page
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘
Dependencies:copper_v1_19

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
snklib.bsp8171 KB14.11.2022
snklib.map5376 KB14.11.2022
snklib.txt4 KB14.11.2022

snklib.zip

Sunken Library

Large medieval library level in a classic id1 style, requires Copper v1.19+ (NOT included). Map source is included. The author's first public release.

"I started making the map with the unusual combination of water + library theme, but then it kind of became a library map built around a partially flooded main cavern. First map I'm uploading publically so feedback would be much appreciated."

Note: probably requires a modern engine / source port with increased limits.


Tags: large, medieval, library, water, copper, source, limits, debut

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
3.7/5 with 17 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Solomoriah Registered 29 November 2022, 15:59

Just started on this, and overall I like the style. However, I don't care for the ladders that are just set dressing but can't be climbed... what's up with that?

Jehannum Registered 29 November 2022, 17:35

Nice map especially for a novice, with enjoyable gameplay and secrets.

IMO, the author could have done more with the level in terms of exploration using some climbable ladders. The only other nit I have to pick is with the lighting. It was too bright and harsh in most places and could have been more atmospheric.

Well worth playing and my guess is we're going to see some great things from this author in the future! Thank you for sharing with us!

ludicrous Registered 29 November 2022, 18:22

I couldn't find any bookshelf secrets and IMHO at least one bookshelf secret is a must-have for a library map. So I think they are there and I just hadn't found ...

I agree with with comments about ladders.

A first map? Really good. Classic. I like it.

Thanx, as always.

ludicrous

The_Pirate Registered 29 November 2022, 18:59

Nice for a first map, but... those bl*ddy ladders! AFAIK there is a ladder function in Copper, so why not use it?

Apart from that, nice for a first map. Lots of creativity and fun ideas everywhere. Another new mapper from which i expect some interesting maps in the future....

Thanks for your efforts; thanks for sharing! ;)

whatisquake Registered 30 November 2022, 8:07

I love your mapping and texturing style! Like id1 with a little extra. Nicely done.

Greenwood Registered 1 December 2022, 3:09

NOTE: if you play on "normal," then make sure that you use the latest version of Copper (1.2), that came out November 2022. I was having a soft-lock issue with the 1.19 version suggested in the post (the early drop down area with the fiend).

Cool map, especially for a new mapper. Look forward to seeing what else Spiked_ makes in the future. :)

radiatoryang Registered 1 December 2022, 4:05

Ah, Copper v1.2 wasn't out when this was submitted... I'll update this whenever it gets added to Quaddicted. (or someone remind me if I forget)

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in