Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of sr_dark
Author:Sergey Rupasov
Title:Into the Dark
Download:sr_dark.zip (ac6720bb8c4b2a928e9162fb724645f8)
Filesize:1888 Kilobytes
Release date:16.09.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
sr_dark.bsp3924 KB16.09.2021
sr_dark.map2375 KB16.09.2021
sr_dark.txt2 KB16.09.2021

sr_dark.zip

Into the Dark

Large blue, somewhat E2M5ish fortress with several outside areas and a dark platforming section. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits.


Tags: large, blue, wizard, fortress, slime, limits, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.3/5 with 18 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
NoNameUser Registered 9 October 2021, 22:05

This looks a lot like The Ebon Fortress.

h4724 Registered, rated this a 5 10 October 2021, 2:44

This is a great map with a very cool layout and challenging combat. There were numerous high-tension moments throughout. The style is very reminiscent of John Romero's maps, both in gameplay and visuals, which I like a lot. Seriously, I would've believed it if I were told that this was a new Romero map. Please don't skip this one!

The length and pacing were also good. I maybe would've liked a higher secret count, but the id maps never had many secrets either. The weapon progression is fairly nonstandard, which I can appreciate, although I would still like to have a grenade launcher somewhere in there.

I played initially on hard in vanilla, and later on nightmare wtih Copper. Resources are very tight on hard, even more so in Copper, which I still thought was fun but others might have a problem with it. Scale is also tight, so you have to be careful not to get trapped by monsters, but it seemed good to me and just added to the challenge.

I would definitely like to play more maps from this author.

alekswithak Registered, rated this a 3 12 October 2021, 17:19

blockout was neat, but player is too underpowered for much of the map on hard - not enough nails and not GL means a lot of thunking away at spongey enemies with the SSG, which brings the pace of play to a crawl.

fairweather Registered, rated this a 5 12 October 2021, 19:30

I loved this. Felt like something that Romero or Timmy would make today if given all of the modern tools to do so. Pacing is exceptional, combat feels very solid at times leaning into the difficulty quite a bit, and the setpieces are fantastic. High recommend from me.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 5 13 October 2021, 19:20

Great id+ (maybe id++) level. Just like Sergey Rupasov's previous map, it pays homage to a specific id1 level but with a unique layout and integrating very striking new ideas. I still recall specific areas of Rupasov's first map, even though I played it ~3 years ago around when it came out, and this one feels at least as memorable.

Michael Guest 3 November 2021, 23:45

Played this one through a few times on skill 3, great fun.

Johnny Law Registered, rated this a 4 14 November 2021, 6:57

For most of the map you get a very well-done Ebon Fortress style, good use of mechanisms and of multi-level paths going back through rooms. Some really fun and sometimes tricky fights (skill 2) using only a modest number of enemies. Maybe a little too much wall detail to get hung up on when running around backwards/sideways, but that's a nit.

The end gets pretty weird then, in a good way! Unfortunately IMO the room with the hardest fights is also pitch-black dark when played at id-normal brightness. Otherwise an excellent way to tie up the map.

Johnny Law Registered, rated this a 4 14 November 2021, 6:58

Oh also, having the rocket launcher kinda-sorta hidden near the start of the map is a little odd in that anyone who misses it won't have as much fun in here, especially with no GL (that I found).

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in