Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of suzywarm
Author:Suzanne 'Trashbang' Will
Title:The Warmest Body In The Room
Download:suzywarm.zip (a3c25a86f6709412f5d5fcb250a3ef07)
Filesize:1324 Kilobytes
Release date:02.10.2022
Homepage:http://binarypartitioned.space/
Additional Links: Slipseer page
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
suzywarm.bsp2428 KB02.10.2022
suzywarm.lit1767 KB02.10.2022
suzywarm.map2180 KB02.10.2022
suzywarm.txt2 KB02.10.2022

suzywarm.zip

The Warmest Body In The Room

Small dark semi-linear single-player map with minimalist brushwork and texturing. Map source is included.

"Tried to make something look alright with as few textures as possible. Yes it's dark."

NOTE: requires a modern engine / source port with increased limits and colored lighting.


Tags: small, dark, vanilla, source, minimalist

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
3.7/5 with 20 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








c0j Registered 6 October 2022, 6:33

very unique i like the aesthetic but yeah it was kinda dark and that made path finding kinda annoying but yeah i like this

The_Pirate Registered 6 October 2022, 19:06

Few textures? Check.

Dark? Check.

Blocky? Check.

Bad lighting? Check.

Strange fights? Check.

Unique? Bloody check twice over.

...And somehow it comes out as absolutely scary, quintessential Quake!

Trashbang, i don't know how you managed to pull this one off. But this... it somehow just works. It really should stink on ice, but it works!

Well done - again! In yet another style!

Thanks for your efforts, and thanks for sharing! I really wonder what you'll shake out of your sleeve next time...

Ninja Registered 10 October 2022, 1:55

Had no idea where i was going, or why i was going there, walls moving all the time, with no time to get pass them, sooooooooooooo dark, and ledges so thin, when enemy shooting at you, so many corridors with metal spikes raised up, no way threw, im probley thick, but i gave up, no way a fun map to play, its terrible.

I Like Quake Registered 10 October 2022, 20:04

Really unique monochromatic release.

The architecture and the lighting reminded me a lot of the Cube (it's like the action is taking place somewhere on the outside of the structure). Playing in a pitch-dark room, with the right settings, can evoke a lot of that atmosphere.

The author nailed two crucial choices in my opinion:

• The low number of monsters placed in various parts of the map (not counting the final part) — most adequate, given the low-lighting conditions;

• Having the player be teleported back up if they fall in the dark abyss below — the preferable choice to being crushed, because it not only allows the player to take advantage of it while fighting, but otherwise the map could easily turn into an exercise in frustration.

Recommended. I feel that this monochrome beaut' isn't a map that is likely to fade away into the fog of memories of those who play it.

Colossus Registered 11 October 2022, 18:31

Couldn't see even with gamma turned up, cant really comment on the rest as it's hard to see.

Agentflit Registered 11 October 2022, 22:44

LOVED this map! The visual theme reminds of those black-background levels from commander keen 1 with the lights hanging from the ceiling.

here's a screenshot of what I mean: https://i.imgur.com/Xw3gXVG.png

I suspect this one requires your monitor to be calibrated properly :). Again, thanks for the fun map.

QW Guest 13 October 2022, 4:36

Loved it! such an unique map with reconfiguring rooms/mazes and attacks. no idea where the other 10 enemies are 53/63 kills

DMXneon Registered 15 October 2022, 5:54

I really enjoyed this! I have some quibbles - it seems too dark at times, the scrags at the beginning can easily kill you before you find heath, some platforming was frustrating. But overall I was really taken with the aesthetics and the clever ideas present. My favorite part was the maze with the moving red columns.

Good work!

Jehannum Registered 1 November 2022, 20:00

I enjoyed this map. I guess I'm a bit twisted myself, but I do get a charge from the unexpected. It was dark but not too dark, and I was really surprised that I didn't have trouble navigating and finding my way.

Thanks for sharing with us. I'm really starting to look forward to your offerings!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in