Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of tfl
Author:Anders "Backspace" Persson
Title:The Forgotten Level
Download:tfl.zip (931c3eb94ed29d5126bee6cc79de19b6)
Filesize:721 Kilobytes
Release date:18.04.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: Crash'serc's QualityTEAMShamblerUnderworldfan's
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
TFL.TXT3 KB18.04.1997
TFL.BSP1613 KB17.04.1997

tfl.zip - The Forgotten Level

Medium sized Wizard map. OK.

Tags: wizard, medium, traps

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 19 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Spirit Registered, rated this a 5 13 December 2013, 23:21

Wow, this is a perfect example of "Quake the way id did". I love it! Now on the rest of the tfl maps.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 14 December 2013, 17:29

Yes, it's not outstanding in any way, but just very. very nice. 4/5.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 5 April 2014, 5:02

I thought this map was great, it's just my speed! You can watch me play it here: The Forgotten Level on The Quake Grave

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 4 1 July 2015, 15:06

Odd that when I replayed this, I remembered almost none of it.

JMP Registered, rated this a 4 18 January 2017, 2:50

Very nice. The only (minor) criticisms I can make are that there's no armor--at least in nightmare--and the final secret is essentially useless. Apart from that it's a well-crafted map with monsters, health, etc. spread out in such a way that the gameplay is consistently entertaining. The combat toward the end is very tough, but there's a well-placed secret that can mitigate it.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 16 September 2017, 18:43

It is a solid map here, entertaining and with some extras like those windows. While the text file says that this is hard and to be careful it doesn't feel that way, maybe even the opposite, except for the last fight.

On the less possitive side, while not being bad at all the enemy placement felt nothing special and there were several times where the enemy is placed below the player where it can be sniped at leisure or when the ogre's grenades can't reach the player.

4+

Repus Guest 6 December 2017, 19:40

That was tremendously fun to play!

Since I enjoy monsters infighting I made the most of it. Ogres with grenades, fiends with huge claws, knights with their sparks - they all happily fought each other. At the very end shamblers just fought everybody else, I and kinda ran past all those enemies. Is there a secret below the platform with two ogres (and a button)? If there is, it's pretty useless, 'cause it is located near the very last room.

I agree that some armour would spice this level up. I found one secret (the ring of shadows), and it's pretty useless, I think.

Other than that, this is one of the levels you should definitely check out!!!

Shambug Guest 2 November 2018, 23:05

I found a bug here. In the final room, if you wait a while, the shambler opens the door himself. If you then drag him out of the room and kill him there, the metal bars close and you can't enter the final room again.

Shambug Guest 2 November 2018, 23:08

I forgot to point out that you have to be out of the room yourself when the shambler comes out for the bug to show. Otherwise the bars will close and you'll be trapped in the final room, which is what is supposed to happen. The bug is that the bars close when you're out.

pmk Guest 26 January 2019, 5:04

Very fun and exciting debut level from this level designer with great well balanced combat and intricate level design that makes the level exciting to explore. Only negative aspect is the texture work of the level is kinda of mundane and could of been more varied. Overall i would highly recommend downloading this map as i would give it a four out of five rating.

Esrael Registered, rated this a 4 2 March 2019, 8:35

I think it's an excellent level that feels a lot like E1M2 and E1M3. It flows really nicely, has fun combat and is just the right length. Using Ogre marksmen instead of regular ogres was a good choice, since they fight less predictably in nightmare difficulty.

The author followed the design code of the originals faithfully, although the rooms feel a bit more spacey in general. The extra space provides the player with a good amount of room to maneuver, but sometimes the rooms stick out just a smidgen too simple in my eye.

Besides a couple of criticisms (see paragraphs below), I don't have much to complain about the map. I think it's still worthy of a playthrough nowadays. I think I'd rate the map maaaybe somewhere in between 4,25 and 4,5 out of 5.

Slight spoilerish content:

The secrets were kind of easy to find. They could've been just a little bit more difficult and more evenly spaced out throughout the level.

Depending on the player's situation the final arena leaves a little bit something to be desired too, namely more corners to hide behind.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in