Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of the_journey
Author:Paul Keefner
Title:The Journey
Download:the_journey.zip (cf0fd862ccc7615aa5c9299e09b9a6a7)
Filesize:3760 Kilobytes
Release date:14.09.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
03.jpg227 KB06.09.2021
06.jpg169 KB06.09.2021
07.jpg156 KB06.09.2021
10.jpg147 KB06.09.2021
17.jpg190 KB06.09.2021
the_journey.bsp6506 KB14.09.2021
the_journey.map2584 KB14.09.2021
the_journey.txt2 KB14.09.2021

the_journey.zip

The Journey

Large medieval lava castle map in a classic style; the author's first release. Difficulty settings aren't implemented (they're all the same). Map source is included.

Note: probably requires a source port / modern engine with increased limits.


Tags: large, medieval, lava, castle, source, base

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating:
2.2/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings
if you are not logged in.
12345








Ninja Registered 24 February 2022, 21:35

Huge map, odd layout. Last thew rooms, complicated and hard. Enemy are to well spaced apart, so no real problems killing them without loss of any health,good fun map,worth a blast.

fairweather Registered 25 February 2022, 10:08

Poor texturing, and the level design is quite wacky... but I can't say I didn't enjoy it. It was fun at a bunch of points, feels like a Doom map. For the author- I'd say play some of the more contemporary maps (Arcane Dimensions, SMEJ) and try and base your scale off of those maps. A lot of places are too big or too small, but very interesting at their core.

jammer210 Registered 4 March 2022, 23:10

Thanks for reviewing, any criticism is welcome so I can improve.

MikeTaylor Registered 4 August 2022, 13:34

After the spaceship thing dumps you in a featureless room, how are you supposed to get out?

MikeTaylor Registered 4 August 2022, 13:35

... or is it supposed to carry you down through the floor into the area below where the ship itself finishes up?

MikeTaylor Registered 4 August 2022, 18:24

Impatient, I just noclipped down to the spaceship base and continued from there to the end.,

Can I say this is a good map? I cannot. But can I say i didn't enjoy it? No, I can't say that, either. It was 274 kills of uncomplicated fun (or 268 in my case, I evidently missed half a dozen monsters), and that counts for something. But sometimes less really is more, and The Journey could really have done with being half the length and twice the quality.

I see this is Paul Keefner's first published map, and that he already has two more in the database. I'll be interested to see how he progresses.

c0j Registered 4 August 2022, 18:34

big ass map

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in