Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of tonswsp1
Author:Tonhao
Title:Somewhere
Download:tonswsp1.zip (b478b66b5ac2e30f149b5a492e96eb60)
Filesize:6795 Kilobytes
Release date:17.11.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
docs/somewhere read-me.txt2 KB17.11.2021
docs/t_end.txt1 KB16.11.2021
docs/t_map01.txt1 KB16.11.2021
docs/t_map02.txt1 KB16.11.2021
docs/t_map03.txt1 KB16.11.2021
docs/t_map04.txt1 KB16.11.2021
docs/t_start.txt1 KB16.11.2021
maps/t_end.bsp4399 KB17.11.2021
maps/t_map01.bsp1368 KB17.11.2021
maps/t_map02.bsp1456 KB17.11.2021
maps/t_map03.bsp2868 KB17.11.2021
maps/t_map04.bsp2299 KB17.11.2021
maps/t_start.bsp821 KB17.11.2021
somewhere.png2035 KB17.11.2021

tonswsp1.zip

Somewhere

Episode with six medium-sized levels including a start map and a boss map. Each level follows an individual textures theme/style: a base, a metal/runic sewer, an Ebon castle, a stone/brick fortress, and a void map.

Tags: episode, medium, start, end, boss, base, metal, runic, ebon, castle, fortress, bricks, void, space

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.4/5 with 17 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
I Like Quake Registered, rated this a 5 21 November 2021, 10:28

Five Stars.

Some of you guys have been asking for an episodic release; well you got your wish.

Tonhão brings forth a great, challenging episode that feels like a mesh of the original episodes of Quake. It's retro, it's hard but fair, it's well-thought-out, it doesn't have any crazy traps, and it has spawns (yay!).

I love it when the start map has the difficulty selection corridors reflective of the skill level: here to Easy you just walk on ground, to Normal you walk a bumpy terrain surrounded by acid, and to Hard you have to hop a few lava sunken rock slabs.

If you wanna survive this in a single run (on Hard at least), take your time, proceed with caution, look for the secrets, and try to avoid taking too much damage as there is not much health lying around. There are no crazy traps, but it does tend to lock you into mini arena-style fights. If you rush it, you will most likely die.

It is patent that a lot of thought went into the disposition of monsters and the coreography of the fights.

Amazing work (even more so for a first-time release) that really ticks all of the boxes for me.

Definitely a keeper.

I Like Quake Registered, rated this a 5 21 November 2021, 10:54

《mash》

The_Pirate Registered, rated this a 4 21 November 2021, 13:01

Very nice little old-school set of maps!

....Interesting to see that in spite of the likeness to the old ID maps, the texture alignment is much better! :)

First published map? Very good. I expect to see some very nice maps from T. in the future!

NoNameUser Registered 22 November 2021, 0:40

Slooowly making my way through the second map, there are fucking Spawns hiding here and there. shuddders

death112 Registered, rated this a 4 23 November 2021, 14:18

needs a bit of balancing for nightmare difficulty, otherwhise great stuff

Jehannum Registered, rated this a 5 24 November 2021, 1:12

Excellent episode. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute. This is definitely going on my replay list.

Thanks for sharing with us and can't wait for your next release!

Custom Longplay Registered, rated this a 5 24 November 2021, 20:00

If you leave the start map out of it, I was presented with very solid maps. You always had the feeling that you weren't overwhelmed and I was accordingly motivated to play through all the maps. Even though the final map was not too difficult, I particularly enjoyed it. I hope we will see more from the author. 5 stars from me.

Here is the link to the Youtube playlist. I only used my Footstep and Light Mod, Reshade and HD textures for the maps!

Somewhere

Michael Guest 25 November 2021, 21:25

I liked it. Found most of the secrets and played on skill 3. My game didn't send to end though, so I just quit. I was playing on copper on the enhanced quake thing

Chaser Registered, rated this a 4 26 November 2021, 17:57

Very retro and polished. Felt like its 97 again ;)

Alex Ros Registered, rated this a 5 1 December 2021, 11:09

Loved it. Maybe a bit too retro for my personal tastes. But it's subjective. In general I played thru with pleasure and that's objective

Some design decisions are perhaps controversial. For example on the 1st base map it's confusing in a bad way that some of those diamond-shaped things are doors, while some are just decorative walls. imo it should be always clear where are doors/plats. In general I did like and a lot what u ve done with all those base textures - extruded their parts and turned into proper non-flat parts of environment. That I liked a lot

Lighting was maybe a bit too bland. Flat. More contrast and shadows/lights could be appreciated. But! I do understand that the way it is now is closer to vanilla. So not a real complaint but a personal wish - I love modern lighting options with all those -boune, -extra, -soft, -dirt, etc

Anyway 5 stars!

whatisquake Registered, rated this a 5 2 December 2021, 1:41

succulent gameplay

Scythe Registered, rated this a 4 2 December 2021, 4:32

Really enjoyable episode! Short enough to get through in one sitting, yet still a decent chunk of gameplay. I felt like the maps got better as the episode went along, and I really enjoyed the creepy presentation of the final boss level. Cool moving walkways!

The base map was the only weak one for me, with relatively bland architecture and lighting, and somewhat repetitive combat situations. Push through it, and the episode is a treat. Nice to see some classic styled smaller maps instead of the sprawling, 400 hundred enemy horde maps we get so often nowadays.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in