Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of vr1_00.2
Author:Anonymous users, Coffee Achiever, DiamondBlack, Streaky
Title:Violent Rumble 1.00
Download:vr1_00.2.zip (4e83eda506f277d02021c8d741cd8b76)
Filesize:237689 Kilobytes
Release date:05.12.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links: ModDB
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✔ • PROGS.DAT: ✔ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
vr/MAP MANIFEST.txt2 KB04.12.2021
vr/Violent Rumble Readme.txt6 KB05.12.2021
vr/map readmes/ShubsWagerREADME.txt1 KB01.12.2021
vr/map readmes/ct.txt1 KB03.12.2021
vr/map readmes/miasma readme.txt1 KB28.10.2021
vr/map readmes/nbabs_readme.txt1 KB05.11.2021
vr/map readmes/rastr_readme.txt1 KB02.11.2021
vr/map readmes/rbbREADME.txt1 KB05.10.2021
vr/map readmes/uc.txt2 KB19.10.2021
vr/pak0.pak408493 KB05.12.2021
vr/progs_dump-devkit-readme.txt6 KB21.04.2021
vr/quake.rc1 KB04.12.2021
vr/textures/#lava_large.tga174 KB05.12.2021
vr/textures/#lava_large2.tga160 KB05.12.2021
vr/textures/#lava_large3.tga109 KB05.12.2021
vr/textures/#lava_large4.tga86 KB05.12.2021
vr/textures/rockface_large.tga183 KB05.12.2021
vr/textures/rockside_large.tga691 KB05.12.2021
vr/textures/rocktop_large.tga652 KB05.12.2021

vr1_00.2.zip

Violent Rumble 1.00

Community mapping event organized at 4chan's retro videogame board: 11 large levels including a start map and a secret map, following a variety of styles and texture themes. They run on a custom mod that combines enemies, weapons, items and assets from both official mission packs, Quoth, Arcane Dimensions, RMQ and Progs_dump. As such, it comes with many new models, sounds as well as skyboxes and custom music tracks.

Note: These maps require a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.


Tags: large, episode, start, secret, textures, realism, church, cathedral, base, construction, factory, industrial, city, arena, cave, shub, monsters, weapons, quoth, ad, arcanedimensions, rmq, hipnotic, rogue, progs_dump, items, models, skybox, music, limits, bsp2, void

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 3.9/5 with 16 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
qazzaq Registered, rated this a 4 30 December 2021, 11:01

Five stars for Coffee Achiever's maps.

Alex Ros Registered, rated this a 5 31 December 2021, 15:16

Extremely inconsistent. Some maps are awesome gorgeously pretty crazy cool while others are... hm, well not bad but mediocre. Very strange pack. I mean usualy packs tend to be somewhat of unified style & quality but not this one. As for maps my absolute favourite is "Escape from the Miasma District". One of the best maps available on QD ever made to date. Very impressive & inspiring map. THANKS to all authors anyway

The_Pirate Registered, rated this a 4 1 January 2022, 14:44

For me, this is 'only' a 4.

As above stated; extremely inconsistent. There is some truly beautiful mapping here, as well as some...not. Some maps are inventive, all of them have good, some times brilliant ideas. And some crap. This is pretty much the standard for community packs.

But somehow, this pack manages to annoy the sit out of me. There is somehow... too much. They have tried to include just about everything that ID ever made, plus the community conversions. The results are - in some cases - maps that try to do *everything and just end up as gimmick-filled messes.

I'll replay this, but not all the maps.

It is very pleasing to see a number of mappers that we don't usually see here; i hope to see more from you. And i thank you all for your efforts! Happy New Year!

HazzaTheFox Guest 4 January 2022, 11:32

Two things.

1 The mod itself is absolutely FANTASTIC. -Doom shotgun modifier is so awesome I won't be able to use the old versions anymore (and yay hitscan! unlike AD) -Great new monsters like cyber-shambler, upgunned grunts and grey nail ogres are crazy fun. -My favourite old monsters- Multi-grenade ogres, beam Nightgaunts and those Axe-throwers from Unforgiven- are BACK! -Best part is, the modifier that allows enemies to fire volleys or rapid-fire; especially sweet for Death Knights and Ogres, making them a far greater threat.

2 I do however agree about the level design; mostly basic geometry; they don't give much direction to what you're supposed to do or where to go; andthey aren't really optimized for combat, enemy types, weapon discovery or ammo provisions (usually just big arenas with teleporting enemies)- as if these were more of an afterthought, expecting randomizer modifiers anyway. I real pity.

HazzaTheFox Guest 5 January 2022, 13:35

Update, I suggest for the most fun, 1- toggle on the Doom Shotgun + enemy volley modifiers (probably also the enemy randomizer). Put on a hard difficulty level. 2- get behind the start slipgate in the hub map and jump into the test map. Grab the OG + Armagon guns, the Grappling Hook and the 2nd most powerful jump boots. 3- Jump into the original Quake maps, with new enemies and powerups incorporated (just avoid touching any jump boots as they will permanently remove your double jumps)!

Ninja Registered, rated this a 2 18 January 2022, 0:59

Played on skill 3. I have more chance of living by throwing myself off a 500ft cliff with a rocky bottom. Maps are to insane. Just gave up on some of them. I Know others will say drop the skill number, but im to dumb to do that lol.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in