Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of war_church
Author:BassLexa
Title:War Church
Download:war_church.zip (05451de8ebb3b795c4f251e8415ec567)
Filesize:15549 Kilobytes
Release date:25.08.2021
Homepage:
Additional Links:
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive
Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
War Church/war_church.bsp111110 KB25.08.2021
War Church/war_church.lit6198 KB25.08.2021
War Church/war_church.map13020 KB25.08.2021
War Church/war_church_basslexa.txt2 KB25.08.2021

war_church.zip

War Church

Large, spacious military base/stronghold fortifying an old church. The map source is included.

Note: This map requires a source port with increased limits + BSP2 support.
[Cannot be run through the Quake Injector]


Tags: large, base, realism, turrets, industrial, limits, bsp2, source

Editor's Rating: no rating (yet)
User Rating: 4.1/5 with 14 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
erc Registered, rated this a 4 4 September 2021, 21:59

After playing (and highly enjoying) Plowing Through just yesterday, seeing the second map by BassLexa uploaded here earlier today was a nice surprise. War Church keeps the author's take on the base theme, spacious and varied, with lots of authentic brushwork, fine detailing and moody lighting: though the flow is more streamlined, the gunplay is a bit relaxed and the running time is shorter compared to the first one. Was expecting lots of secrets (they were great in Plowing Through) but felt a bit let-down when I realized there were only two. Nevertheless, another familiar-yet-unique map from the author that is definitely worth playing.

First run demo - recorded with QSS x64 build 21-07-08 while playing through Copper 1.16 (18 mins):

quaketastic.com/files/demos/warchurcherc.7z

vodkins Registered, rated this a 4 5 September 2021, 2:31

Really nice map, but i can't play it via quakespasm port i use, because map radically drops in FPS after going upon some items/triggers/spawns (including silver key).

metalliqaz Registered 6 September 2021, 4:57

Another very entertaining map. Amazing that BassLexa is a new mapper and this is so soon after the last one. This has lots more of that detailed brushwork he will undoubtedly now be known for. Definitely feels like a real base.

Great quad run. Exploration is rewarded. My first run through on Skill 2 was appropriately difficult. I finished with many unkilled enemies and only 1 secret. Guess I have to give it another go.

I think this level might have a soft lock, not sure. At the end, I activated the last rocket switch before finishing the four button sequence. It didn't let me on the rocket.

The Silent Registered, rated this a 3 6 September 2021, 19:37

I did the same. There's a way, not immediately obvious, though. Look for a blinking light.

Jehannum Registered, rated this a 4 15 September 2021, 2:27

I played this using QSS 0.93.2 with no issues detected.

What a lot of fun this was! This was the second BassLexa map I've played this week and it's really pretty amazing that this is the author's second map. Very nice in a lot of different areas. What I like the most aside from the large, uncramped areas, is that it's obvious that the author spent a lot of time creating mechanical gagets and other really cool furniture to fit in with the base/ industrial theme. That church was beautiful, and kinda creepy at the same time with all the pews ripped out of the center and some stacked up to block a door as though to try to keep the evil out.

Great job and keep them coming!

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in