Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of 100b4
Author:Artistical, DelusionalBear, Digs, dumptruck_ds, ionous, JCR, Newhouse, Redfield, Roman, Shamblernaut, Shotro, Spipper, Spud, ww
Title:100 Brush Competition #4
Download:100b4.zip (a90a75a2903fd846edc3dc8a7a3e0418)
Filesize:46606 Kilobytes
Release date:10.06.2018
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Partial conversion
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✔
Dependencies:quoth2pt2full

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
100b4_readme.txt2 KB09.06.2018
100b4_results.txt25 KB09.06.2018
dmptrk/progs/fixture1.mdl6 KB10.05.2018
dmptrk/progs/gen2.mdl73 KB12.05.2018
dmptrk/progs/hunter.mdl738 KB10.05.2018
dmptrk/progs/light6redf.mdl80 KB25.05.2018
docs/100b4_Artistical_01_Readme.txt2 KB27.05.2018
docs/100b4_Artistical_02_Readme.txt2 KB27.05.2018
docs/100b4_Artistical_03_Readme.txt2 KB27.05.2018
docs/100b4_DelusionalBear_readme.txt3 KB27.05.2018
docs/100b4_dumptruck_readme.txt5 KB27.05.2018
docs/100b4_ionio.txt3 KB26.05.2018
docs/100b4_redfieldREADME.txt6 KB29.05.2018
docs/100b4_roman_readme.txt2 KB26.05.2018
docs/100b4_shamblernaut.txt3 KB18.05.2018
docs/100b4_shotro.txt3 KB29.05.2018
docs/100b4_spipper.txt2 KB28.05.2018
docs/100b4_spud.txt4 KB28.05.2018
docs/100b4_ww.txt1 KB01.06.2018
gfx/env/alps_bk.tga672 KB30.04.2018
gfx/env/alps_dn.tga771 KB30.04.2018
gfx/env/alps_ft.tga738 KB30.04.2018
gfx/env/alps_lf.tga680 KB30.04.2018
gfx/env/alps_rt.tga725 KB30.04.2018
gfx/env/alps_up.tga598 KB30.04.2018
gfx/env/cloudtop2bk.tga769 KB23.05.2018
gfx/env/cloudtop2dn.tga769 KB23.05.2018
gfx/env/cloudtop2ft.tga769 KB23.05.2018
gfx/env/cloudtop2lf.tga769 KB23.05.2018
gfx/env/cloudtop2rt.tga769 KB23.05.2018
gfx/env/cloudtop2up.tga769 KB23.05.2018
gfx/env/l_swampn_bk.tga3073 KB18.03.2018
gfx/env/l_swampn_dn.tga3073 KB18.03.2018
gfx/env/l_swampn_ft.tga3073 KB18.03.2018
gfx/env/l_swampn_lf.tga3073 KB18.03.2018
gfx/env/l_swampn_rt.tga3073 KB18.03.2018
gfx/env/l_swampn_up.tga3073 KB18.03.2018
gfx/env/labyrinthus_bk.tga769 KB04.11.2002
gfx/env/labyrinthus_dn.tga769 KB04.11.2002
gfx/env/labyrinthus_ft.tga769 KB04.11.2002
gfx/env/labyrinthus_lf.tga769 KB04.11.2002
gfx/env/labyrinthus_rt.tga769 KB04.11.2002
gfx/env/labyrinthus_up.tga769 KB04.11.2002
gfx/env/mensae_bk.tga769 KB02.11.2002
gfx/env/mensae_dn.tga769 KB02.11.2002
gfx/env/mensae_ft.tga769 KB02.11.2002
gfx/env/mensae_lf.tga769 KB02.11.2002
gfx/env/mensae_rt.tga769 KB02.11.2002
gfx/env/mensae_up.tga769 KB02.11.2002
gfx/env/moonhigh_bk.tga1025 KB19.03.2014
gfx/env/moonhigh_dn.tga1025 KB19.03.2014
gfx/env/moonhigh_ft.tga1025 KB19.03.2014
gfx/env/moonhigh_lf.tga1025 KB19.03.2014
gfx/env/moonhigh_rt.tga1025 KB19.03.2014
gfx/env/moonhigh_up.tga1025 KB28.10.2015
gfx/env/snowmoon_bk.tga692 KB17.12.2002
gfx/env/snowmoon_dn.tga738 KB17.12.2002
gfx/env/snowmoon_ft.tga616 KB17.12.2002
gfx/env/snowmoon_lf.tga656 KB17.12.2002
gfx/env/snowmoon_rt.tga622 KB17.12.2002
gfx/env/snowmoon_up.tga401 KB17.12.2002
gfx/env/starfrost_bk.tga408 KB20.08.2003
gfx/env/starfrost_dn.tga639 KB20.08.2003
gfx/env/starfrost_ft.tga585 KB20.08.2003
gfx/env/starfrost_lf.tga405 KB20.08.2003
gfx/env/starfrost_rt.tga423 KB20.08.2003
gfx/env/starfrost_up.tga183 KB20.08.2003
gfx/env/stormydays_bk.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/stormydays_dn.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/stormydays_ft.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/stormydays_lf.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/stormydays_rt.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
gfx/env/stormydays_up.tga3073 KB26.08.2005
maps/100b4_Artistical01.bsp351 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_Artistical01.lit162 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_Artistical_02.bsp1079 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_Artistical_03.bsp1222 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_Artistical_03.lit776 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_DelusionalBear.bsp623 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_DelusionalBear.lit219 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_digs.bsp872 KB24.05.2018
maps/100b4_dumptruck.bsp867 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_dumptruck.lit219 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_ionfrost.bsp2683 KB24.05.2018
maps/100b4_ionfrost.lit1809 KB24.05.2018
maps/100b4_ionio.bsp2299 KB26.05.2018
maps/100b4_ionio.lit1610 KB26.05.2018
maps/100b4_jcr.bsp851 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_jcr.lit270 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_jcr2.bsp1254 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_jcr2.lit455 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_newhouse.bsp749 KB26.05.2018
maps/100b4_newhouse.lit364 KB26.05.2018
maps/100b4_newhouse2.bsp630 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_newhouse2.lit139 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_redfield.bsp2137 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_redfield.lit128 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_roman.bsp4067 KB25.05.2018
maps/100b4_roman.lit963 KB25.05.2018
maps/100b4_shamblernaut.bsp1340 KB18.05.2018
maps/100b4_shotro.bsp1490 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_shotro.lit718 KB27.05.2018
maps/100b4_spipper.bsp1484 KB28.05.2018
maps/100b4_spipper.lit767 KB28.05.2018
maps/100b4_spud.bsp1960 KB29.05.2018
maps/100b4_spud.lit760 KB29.05.2018
maps/100b4_ww.bsp3755 KB01.06.2018
maps/100b4_ww.lit3096 KB01.06.2018
maps/start.bsp1609 KB09.06.2018
maps/start.lit1120 KB09.06.2018
music/track26.mp34692 KB26.05.2018
music/track99.mp34978 KB16.05.2018
music/track99.ogg2902 KB16.05.2018
progs/alice.mdl256 KB30.04.2018
progs/autumntree.mdl266 KB22.05.2018
progs/bubble.mdl10 KB21.05.2018
progs/butterfly.mdl12 KB11.05.2018
progs/cable.mdl57 KB29.09.2013
progs/flowers.mdl135 KB20.05.2018
progs/gear.mdl140 KB20.05.2018
progs/highheel.mdl68 KB21.05.2018
progs/king.mdl98 KB05.05.2018
progs/plate.mdl216 KB15.05.2018
progs/queen.mdl100 KB05.05.2018
progs/raven.mdl361 KB26.05.2018
progs/redshrooms.mdl13 KB20.05.2018
progs/smoke.mdl32 KB15.09.2013
progs/teacup.mdl25 KB08.05.2018
progs/teapot.mdl244 KB08.05.2018
progs/vine.mdl21 KB26.05.2018
progs/vine.txt2 KB26.05.2018
progs/watch.mdl240 KB13.05.2018
sound/100b4/alice_quote.wav161 KB16.05.2018
sound/100b4/card.wav22 KB15.05.2018
sound/100b4/ravencall.wav43 KB26.05.2018
sound/100b4/waterfall_loop.wav388 KB19.05.2017
sound/ambient/growl1.wav163 KB25.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/06_01.wav15 KB26.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/comp1.wav62 KB26.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial10.wav65 KB24.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial11.wav74 KB24.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial12.wav78 KB24.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial13.wav220 KB17.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial14.wav79 KB24.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial15.wav93 KB24.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial16.wav43 KB24.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial17.wav121 KB24.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial18.wav121 KB26.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial19.wav70 KB24.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial1short.wav103 KB26.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial2.wav222 KB17.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial3.wav150 KB17.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial4.wav214 KB17.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial5.wav157 KB26.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial6.wav151 KB26.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial7.wav113 KB17.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial8.wav117 KB17.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/dial9.wav79 KB24.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/door4.wav86 KB26.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/itembk2.wav15 KB26.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/slipoff.wav43 KB26.05.2018
sound/dmptrk/slipon.wav43 KB26.05.2018
source/100b4_Artistical01.map69 KB27.05.2018
source/100b4_Artistical_02.map155 KB27.05.2018
source/100b4_Artistical_03.map98 KB27.05.2018
source/100b4_digs.map166 KB24.05.2018
source/100b4_digs.wad43 KB14.05.2018
source/100b4_dumptruck.map105 KB27.05.2018
source/100b4_ionfrost.map297 KB24.05.2018
source/100b4_ionio.map238 KB26.05.2018
source/100b4_jcr.map133 KB27.05.2018
source/100b4_jcr2.map161 KB27.05.2018
source/100b4_newhouse.map90 KB26.05.2018
source/100b4_newhouse2.map95 KB27.05.2018
source/100b4_redfield.map132 KB27.05.2018
source/100b4_roman.map90 KB25.05.2018
source/100b4_shamblernaut.map312 KB18.05.2018
source/100b4_shotro.map110 KB27.05.2018
source/100b4_spipper.map200 KB08.06.2018
source/100b4_spud.map819 KB29.05.2018
source/100b4_start.map285 KB09.06.2018
source/100b4_ww.map477 KB01.06.2018
source/db100b4_DelusionalBear.map94 KB27.05.2018

100b4.zip - 100 Brush Competition #4

Results of the fourth 100b contest (=maps made using <100 brushes): 19 singleplayer levels by various authors, and a start hub to select each of them. Some of the maps come with additional content such as models, sounds, and skyboxes. The map sources are included.

Final results:

1. Deflan'Ka by ww
2. Ioian Shorelines by ionous
3. Immortal Reach by Spipper
4. The Di[g]stortion by Digs
5. Frostbitten by ionous
6. With Apologies to Insomniac by Spud
7. The Vale of Dream by Redfield
8. (tie) The Teleportation Complex by Newhouse
8. (tie) Beyond and Within by Artistical
8. (tie) Between Dimensions by JCR
11. (tie) Locus Genus by Artistical
11. (tie) Pyro's Barbecue by Newhouse
11. (tie) The Forgotten Station by Artistical
14. (tie) Cerebral Edema by Shotro
14. (tie) The Engineering Department by JCR
16. The Tutorial by dumptruck_ds
17. N-Titties by Shamblernaut
18. Unwarranted Phlebotomy by DelusionalBear
19. Ela-V8 by Roman

Note: These maps require Quoth 2.2 and in parts a source port with increased limits.


Tags: small, 100b, contest, episode, quoth, base, medieval, metal, temple, terrain, abstract, alice, trickjump, snow, canyon, industrial, models, sounds, skybox, limits, source

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.7/5 with 6 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
MikeTaylor Registered 11 July 2018, 11:00

I've not really played any of these yes, but I wanted to give a shout-out to DelusionalBear, whose map title Unwarranted Phlebotomy made me chuckle out loud.

MikeTaylor Registered 11 July 2018, 12:12

So, taking the maps in reverse order ...

Ela-V8 (100b4_roman) is kind of pretty, but not remotely my idea of fun. I didn't even make a serious attempt at solving its slope-jumping puzzles, because why would I?

Unwarranted Phlebotomy (100b4_DelusionalBear) is much better: a small but perfectly adequate base map with a nice escalating combat to finish. Yes, it's rough around the edges: things like buttons that you can press again after they've been activated, only for them to do nothing. But this doesn't spoil things in a major way. If this truly is only the 18th best map in the pack, I have a lot of fun awaiting me.

MikeTaylor Registered 11 July 2018, 12:14

BTW., only three of the maps have less than 100 brushes, and some of the others go as high as 338 or even 758! Why did these maps not attract penalties?

digs Registered 11 July 2018, 12:23

MikeTaylor "However, both trigger brushes and clip brushes DO NOT count towards the total. "

MikeTaylor Registered 12 July 2018, 12:26

Thanks, @digs. I don't see that statement in either 100b4_readme.txt or 100b4_results.txt, but I believe you anyway :-)

MikeTaylor Registered 12 July 2018, 12:28

N-Titties (100b4_shamblernaut) is biggish but largely empty and featureless -- which is one way to use 100 brushes, but not my favourite way. It feels like a big of a hack to work one's way through a succession of dark, cavernous rooms, taking out base enemies with low-powered weapons, but at least the multi-level nature of most of those rooms provides a bit of relief. Not enormous fun for me.

MikeTaylor Registered 12 July 2018, 14:21

In The Tutorial (100b4_dumptruck), I can't figure out how to get past the room where the two big robots spam you with grenades. I see that an earlier explosion exposed a teleport texture, but I can't see a way to get up to it -- and when I used fly to reach it, it didn't activate anyway. What am i missing?

MikeTaylor Registered 13 July 2018, 12:38

The Engineering Department (100b4_jcr) is rather jolly, a blast-fest that is intentionally somewhat low on shells and nails, and withholds the SNG an LG, to force you to rely somewhat on grenades. The architecture is a tad primitive, but it works well as a framework to hang the game on: lots of the combats involve fighting enemies on a different level from you, which is an interesting challenge especially when grenades are involved. Good stuff.

MikeTaylor Registered 13 July 2018, 16:11

Cerebral Edema (100b4_shotro) was perfectly OK -- if a bit ugly -- right up to the point where four vermises appeared, the odd shambler turned up, and an endless supply of vorelings started spawning in. Could I have beaten it? Maybe. Could I be bothered? Reader, I could not. All in all, I didn't have a great time with this map because, for me, Quake is 90% about exploration, and there was none. Other people's mileage will vary.

MikeTaylor Registered 17 July 2018, 13:01

The Forgotten Station (100b4_Artistical01) is not a bad experience for a small map, though its name is particularly bizarre: there's nothing remotely resembling a station in the map, and it is of course not forgotten being full of monsters. Much more substantively, though, the map suffers from being stupidly dark -- dark enough that the ambushes just feel like straight-up cheats.

MikeTaylor Registered 18 July 2018, 11:19

Pyro's Barbeque (100b4_newhouse) is enjoyably convoluted, but suffers from the tendency in many of these maps to feel a bit random, and also cramped. It feels like a map from the 1990s (apart from the use of Quoth monsters, of course) and it seems to me that it wastes a lot of brushes of features that add nothing to either the gameplay or the aesthetics. Far short of Newhouse's best work.

MikeTaylor Registered 31 July 2018, 15:51

I've given Locus Genus (100b4_Artistical_03) a fair crack, despite finding its early stages not particularly enjoyable. But now I've grown too bored to trying to figure out what the heck to do next after killing the gaunts. I'm moving on. Oh well.

MikeTaylor Registered 31 July 2018, 16:37

Between Dimensions (100b4_jcr2), while technically unsophisticated, is much more fun -- an escalating base-into-arcane map with interesting combats and some fun mechanisms to play with along the way. Among my favourites so far.

MikeTaylor Registered 2 August 2018, 10:52

Beyond and Within (100b4_Artistical_02) is OK, but the non-orthogonal walls, floors and ceilings get to be drag after a while. And this is probably just personal preference, but I found fighting a few very strong enemies less satisfying than the more usual situation of many weaker enemies. That said, it was very pleasing to finish the level with no ammunition of any kind, zero armour and a single health point.

MikeTaylor Registered 17 August 2018, 12:07

The Teleportation Complex (100b4_newhouse2) is very neatly done, and fun to play. But it falls foul of my dislike of teleporters. For me, a big part of what I enjoy about a good Quake level is figuring out how it all fits together, and the way teleporters break up the geography always feel like a cheat to me, somehow. Anyway, I can't fault it for execution.

Vasya shkolnik Guest 25 August 2018, 19:22

I have a problem at the start of Deflan - I apper in black piramide and cant go out. I tried to shoot walls by axe, but it has no effect.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in