Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of 24h_jam
Author:mukor, Naitelveni, NewHouse
Title:24h Jam - Base theme
Download:24h_jam.zip (fb034f051e9f9f3a7c82362c6c2c3bcc)
Filesize:5115 Kilobytes
Release date:11.01.2017
Homepage:
Additional Links: Func_Msgboard
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
24h_jam/24h_mukor-compile.map480 KB11.01.2017
24h_jam/24h_mukor.lit359 KB11.01.2017
24h_jam/24h_mukor.txt1 KB11.01.2017
24h_jam/24h_naitelveni.bsp1386 KB11.01.2017
24h_jam/24h_naitelveni.lit791 KB11.01.2017
24h_jam/24h_naitelveni.map421 KB11.01.2017
24h_jam/24h_newhouse.bsp585 KB11.01.2017
24h_jam/24h_newhouse.lit340 KB11.01.2017
24h_jam/24h_newhouse.map196 KB11.01.2017
24h_jam/24hjam.png1065 KB11.01.2017
24h_jam/24hrs_mukor.bsp1357 KB11.01.2017
24h_jam/env/moonhigh_bk.tga1025 KB16.11.2016
24h_jam/env/moonhigh_dn.tga1025 KB16.11.2016
24h_jam/env/moonhigh_ft.tga1025 KB16.11.2016
24h_jam/env/moonhigh_lf.tga1025 KB16.11.2016
24h_jam/env/moonhigh_rt.tga1025 KB16.11.2016
24h_jam/env/moonhigh_up.tga1025 KB16.11.2016

24h_jam.zip - 24h Jam - Base theme

Result of a 24-hour map jam following a Base theme: three small maps in different base settings. The map sources are included.

Note: Due to improper packaging these maps cannot be run from the Quake Injector.


Tags: small, base, ikbase, source, speedmap, sm178, wrongly named

Editor's Rating: Nice
User Rating: 3.6/5 with 11 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
Bloughsburgh Registered, rated this a 3 13 February 2017, 11:58

Quite a challenge to get a fully functional map in this little of time. All of the levels show a lot of work was put in them so a 3 is merited. I reviewed these more in-depth on func.

onetruepurple Registered 13 February 2017, 16:03

Why was SM178 renamed to "24h jam"?

negke Registered 14 February 2017, 11:23

It was called 24h jam from the beginning. Only at some later point someone mentioned SM178 and then the release thread was titled like that.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 14 February 2017, 20:43

Mukor's map is small, but perfectly formed. It's fun, but -- inevitably -- over quickly.

Naitelveni's is much longer and more adventurous. It's very arbitrary, and smell much more like Doom than like Quake, but it's a lot of fun. (I always enjoy hordes.) The lowlight is definitely the long, slow process of taking out four shamblers with only the RANG and an inadequate supply of shells. I would much rather than area had features (say) a dozen ogres. The level is further marred by an anticlimactic ending, with two transitions following after the last enemies have been killed. But for all that, it's enjoyable enough that I've played through it twice.

Newhouse's map is nicely constructed but tiny -- basically just one room with a couple of atriums -- and it's all over in a couple of minutes. Worth playing, but maybe not worth returning to.

All in all, an interesting enough pack, with Naitelveni's map the clear winner for my money, despite its having the least impressive build quality of the three.

NewHouse Guest 16 February 2017, 4:54

Thanks Mike*

Next time I should actually use more than 6 hours for these maps. I am by no mean fast mapper, and this map was more like demonstrating use of extending platforms. Thanks to this map I made couple more polished platform prefabs which are going to be used in future industrial/idbase map. There is no replay value tbh.

I greatly liked Naitelveni's map. But don't forget mukor's attention to flow and details, combat felt a bit more thought out in my opinion.

ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 7 March 2017, 20:54

Speed Map Pack 178 on The Quake Grave

Pretty cool pack of maps here! One feels like Quake 2, one features a cool little trap for the enemies and one is a super polished base map. Watch for more. Nice work everyone!

The video has the name SM178 from before it was on Quaddicted, so if there is any issue with that in the future... well, you know why.

AAS Registered, rated this a 4 5 May 2017, 9:33

Bad packing. lit, bsp, map files should be in 24h_jam/maps directory.

AnthonyS Guest, rated this a 4 23 May 2017, 5:04

These maps were created in 24h? Pretty impressive. Had a good time playing these maps, interesting level designs. Left me wanting some more.

4/5 stars

AnthonyS Registered, rated this a 4 14 November 2017, 3:10

These maps were created in 24h? Pretty impressive. Had a good time playing these maps, interesting level designs. Left me wanting some more.

4/5 stars

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 4 17 January 2018, 15:03

I think 24hs to map is a very short time, but I truly can't say. Ranked it a 4, considering the short time they had.

Naitelveni seemed the most completed one. Although I found strange the start (4 shamblers, a shotgun), but after killing 2 and legging it, realised I was suppose to avoid. Cool map, although it lacked a punch at the end.

Newhouse was cool, the secrets we're interesting, I played twice after realising the high damaging acid and the chance to dump the starting enemies on them. Short but fun.

Mukor was ok, I don't like the pressing a button to a door when the button is two steps away. And at the end, I could hear the vore, scrag and grunts, but they didn't teleport for the finale.

mukor Registered 22 January 2018, 19:38

The door having a button was to stop the player or other monsters from opening the door inadvertently.

I think the teleporting is broken on skill 2+. I believes its that i didnt set ambush flags on some monsters, so they walked off the trigger_teleports.

Thanks for playing!

dumptruck_ds Registered, rated this a 4 30 January 2018, 8:37

All three of these were fun in their own way with Muk0r's being a real standout. I'm starting to really like shorter maps. My free time is limited so these bite sized levels are a treat.

death112 Registered, rated this a 3 11 March 2018, 19:55

Nothing to crazy, just some fast fun maps

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in