Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of 4fiffy2
Author:George J. Fiffy II
Title:REoL TOUGH: Fortress!
Download:4fiffy2.zip (caea3171e15d3229ea1c36e127fd265d)
Filesize:445 Kilobytes
Release date:24.02.1997
Homepage:http://members.aol.com/georgef551
Additional Links: Crash'sGeniac's Playlist
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
!!READ!!.BAT16 KB24.02.1997
DEMO1.DEM706 KB24.02.1997
FIFFY2.BSP742 KB23.02.1997
FILE_ID.DIZ1 KB24.02.1997

4fiffy2.zip - REoL TOUGH: Fortress!

Medium sized, partly cramped Wizard map.

Tags: medium, wizard, metal, dm

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3/5 with 17 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
12345
AnthonyS Guest, rated this a 3 23 May 2017, 15:06

Average map again, but has some interesting components and enemy placements throughout. Still fun nevertheless.

3/5 stars.

Cocerello Registered, rated this a 4 5 October 2017, 15:21

Played on skill 2.

Not as good as the first, as has cramped sections and some badly placed enemies, the layout gets a bit better but the first encounter is very good and real tough, and if all has been calculated is a great feat. The text is a plus for these maps as usual.

4-

AnthonyS Registered, rated this a 3 14 November 2017, 3:02

Average map again, but has some interesting components and enemy placements throughout. Still fun nevertheless.

3/5 stars

JMP Registered, rated this a 3 28 January 2018, 17:26

The combat is so consistently unfair that I found this borderline unplayable, and sunk costs fallacy was the only thing that motivated me to finish this. Maybe I shouldn't penalize a map for difficulty when its very name advertises how tough it is, but the combat just killed any enjoyment I might have had playing this.

The secrets are also "reol tough" to the point of being unfair. The two that I found would be considered challenging or deliberately obscure in a typical map, but here they're the relatively easy ones.

Desetler Registered, rated this a 4 9 February 2018, 0:51

JMP, i finished it with only 1hp throughout the whole game on nightmare skill, so it rather possible but may be not from the very first time. I added demo if somebody wants to see this. I did it cuz from my first try i didn't find any secrets, and it was rather tough)) Lately i will upload demo with 100% walkthrough. So my rating for this map is 2.7=3+1=4 tough Shamblers out of 5.

MikeTaylor Registered, rated this a 3 9 February 2018, 15:10

Finished, rather anticlimactically, with all 59 kills but no secrets. I thought the highpoint was the very first room: a genuine challenge, and one that -- despite the fact that this map is over 20 years old -- I have not really encountered before. Worth playing for that alone.

Desetler Registered, rated this a 4 12 February 2018, 9:04

MikeTaylor, Unfortunetly i coudn't upload the demo. It reports an error if you send it in a zip-file. Man if only you saw all these dude secrets! I showed it all in my demo, but i will try to re-upload it next time.

pmk Guest 31 December 2018, 14:50

I feel the level designer's first map real tough: demise was a better map than real tough: fortress . The level design in this map feels too cramped and enemy encounters are clumped together making them easy to kill off. This is an average map that i would give only a three out of rating too and would recommend playing his first release instead as it is a superior map.

brunomiwa Registered, rated this a 4 2 January 2019, 22:45

Liked the map. It's 2018 so every trick on the book should be known. The first room was definitely the hardest, but it was manageable after you kill the first ogre.

The first secret was an accident. That lead to the second secret which was very cool. Found 4 secrets... The lava one was kind of impossible, so some secrets are non sense.

Overall, cool map. From 1997? WOW.

Lane Powell Registered, rated this a 3 3 January 2019, 6:54

Played this map after reading the comments mentioning the first encounter as a standout. Yup, it's a good one.

The rest of the map was made considerably easier after finding the RL secret, which cost me one life, though admittedly my health was in the red for most of the proceedings, and I died a couple times.

Not bad overall.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in