Username: Password: Remember Me
Or would you like to register?
Screenshot of acerbus
Author:Jonathan G. aka SalaCious Crumb/H8 bReEDEr
Title:Acerbus
Download:acerbus.zip (66fffa5238181a1b593e771cd420f7f2)
Filesize:687 Kilobytes
Release date:13.10.1997
Homepage:
Additional Links: erc's Underdog
Type:Single BSP File(s)
BSP: ✔ • PAK: ✘ • PROGS.DAT: ✘ • Custom Models/Sounds: ✘

Files in the ZIP archive:
File Size Date
acerbus.txt2 KB13.10.1997
acerbus.bsp1562 KB13.10.1997

acerbus.zip - Acerbus

Smallish Metal level.

Tags: small, metal, runic, oldschool

Editor's Rating: Average
User Rating: 3.3/5 with 12 ratings
You can NOT add ratings if you are not logged in.
ArrrCee Registered, rated this a 4 13 March 2014, 3:39

This one was pretty challenging for me, and I guess I missed a good portion of the enemies in it. Watch me play it here: Acerbus - The Quake Grave

JellyGal Registered, rated this a 4 13 August 2014, 0:32

Yeah, I missed more than half the monsters as well for some reason... maybe somewhere in a secret you're barraged with them. Anyway, of what I played it was a very good level. I liked the interconnectivity of it. The visuals were decent. The fights were pretty good as well. The one thing I didn't like was the ridiculous crusher traps, those were just annoying. Worth a play, though.

Pritchard Registered, rated this a 2 16 September 2016, 10:52

Unfair traps, poor health/ammo balance and uninspired architecture combine to make this map rather uninteresting and disappointing to play.

I have to admit, I found the map more enjoyable up until the point where I passed the silver key door. The reason can be seen in ArrrCee's video as well, as he encounters the same issue I did. Still, large, boxy rooms and strange enemy placement make this a rather low-quality release in my eyes.

JMP Registered, rated this a 3 20 November 2016, 1:28

This map is weird and, despite a few interesting ideas, not very fun. As previous commenters wrote, the crusher trap and arbitrary enemy placement are frustrating. The secrets are frustrating too: one includes a death trap, another can't be reached without running across a lava pool, and a couple require shooting random sections of the wall/ceiling, including one that can't be reached without walking along the top edge of the map.

I got 62/81 kills. There are a ton of rotfish under the walkway that leads to the room with the gold key. It's easy to knock most of them out by lobbing a grenade down at them. I have no idea how to get to full kills.

Repus Guest 10 December 2017, 19:12

This level feels unfinished. It starts allright, and there's that silly hole in the floor that acts as the exit, but the action in between is missing, probably because of the mapper's skill and lack of experience.

Perhaps the later level might show us some progress.

Post a Comment

Your comment will be parsed with Markdown!
Keep the comments on topic and do not post nonsense.
Did you read the file's readme?

Name
Quake was released in